Rovers "fans"

My God, don't think I've ever read a worse piece of writing in my life.

For those who can't open the file, the article claims that Rovers were "back to their old tricks" in leaving "a trail of havoc" in two pubs, the Tory Top and the Horse Shoe House. The article goes on to give, well, no evidence and no examples of any "havoc".

Maybe the author had proof but just ran out of space after he decided to go on the following rant:

"It looks as if Rovers, already deducted eight points, will be relegated at the end of the season and certainly clubs like Cork and Bohemians will rest easier if they are demoted. These morons who repeatedly cause trouble on their sojurns to Cork and elsewhere should be ashamed of themselves at a time when the very survival of their club is at risk".

I can't believe any journalist would editorialise a back page article to this degree. Bizarre, even by the standards of irrelevant bogger papers.

The Evening Echo have that article on file, they print it almost word for word every time Rovers are in town. The Echo is the embodiment of Cork's inferiority complex.

An incidentally, using the word "sojurns" doesn't make you the European capital of culture.

Quote Originally Posted by Pablo

seems if you point out to Rovers fans what they got uptp last night they dont like it......

fascism is alive and well on the Ultras Board!

i always thought Rovers fans were a decent bunch with a few bad apples but there was a load of them causing trouble around Turners Cross last night.

Considering the plight thet find themselves in you'd think people would try and do something.

and now they own the Club!!! god help us! I pity the first division clubs next year!

Quote Originally Posted by Passive
    The Echo is the embodiment of Cork's inferiority complex.
    A Corkman with an inferiority complex thinks he's only as good as everyone else! We are clearly the master race.

As for Rovers fans.........You'd think they'd concentrate on saving their club

The standard Rovers punchline of innocent women and children blah blah blah isn't in it !!! Whats going on

I know rovers fans try to act like big men but trying to pick fights with fellas no older than 14 last night what cowards, reminds me of what loyalists done to schoolgirls in the north a few years ago.

The Echo is the Cork version of the Herald. Not exactly noted for its journalism.

I've no idea what went on last night but the Echo doesn't specify anything. From that article can see 1 fan (unknown affiliation) being escorted from the ground. Damage in the pubs could be anything from 1 glass broken to total destruction.

Quote Originally Posted by Ringy
    reminds me of what loyalists done to schoolgirls in the north a few years ago.
    There used pipebombs as well last night ?? I knew it Kick Rovers out of the league before they have the know how to build a nuke. Its only a matter of time people !!

57 Posts
    Omfg!!!!!

Quick - Blame The gardaí!!!!!
    Kom Igen, FCK...

What I found hilarious was the way the Rovers fans were gesturing and throwing stuff at people in the St Annes end but didn't come near the Shed or the Corner boys!

There wasn't really any serious hassle at the match. That's just Spillane talking sh!t in the Echo as usual. The worst that happened is that a few bottles were thrown into the Rovers section from the St Annes end, Rovers fans then threw a few stuff back and for the rest of the game there was just a load of shapes being thrown by both sides.
    I think one Rovers fans was thrown out and I was told that 2 City fans were arrested.

I didn't see what happened in the pubs but heard that Rovers fans were fighting with each other in the Tory Top. There weren't any Rovers fans allowed in the Horseshoe so don't see how they could have caused trouble there.

All in all there was a good atmosphere at the game. It was the only decent away support we'd seen at the Cross this season, not as much as we bring to most of our away games but still more than anyone else has managed to bring to Cork recently.
    Champions!

Don't mind the Echo.
    I can't comment on anything that might have happened outside the ground, but I thought the fans were great within the ground.
    Biggest & Best away fans at the cross this season, they put every other club to shame, especially the big pub and their ludicrous claims about their travelling support. (The only other club to bring any decent fans are Derry, but their numbers are restricted by the distance)

Fair play to the team and Roddy as well, at least he puts out a team to try to get points and play football. You'd never fall asleep at a Rovers game.......

Fair play Rovers, I hope you stay up, because there are no games like Rovers game for atmosphere.

Beyond boredom with this nonsense. For the record, the row in the pub (The Tory Top, wher we're always made very welcome) was two young fans having a very brief encounter. I was standing at the bar at the time and it was over in less than five seconds, otherwise I'd have walloped both of them with my crutch and told them to cop-on.
    No doubt Spillane didn't hear about the group of Rovers fans who stopped and stood silently at the roadside outside the Tory Top in respect for a funeral cortege, and gave a round of applause when it had passed.
    We're not looking for medals, but the occasional ounce of truth would be a first, although patsh's post is good enough for me.

Quote Originally Posted by Pablo
    typical cork sh!te..

Quote Originally Posted by terry9
    typical cork sh!te..
    i thin we'd all appreciate if you did not equate noel spillane with Cork
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Lord
    stood silently at the roadside outside the Tory Top in respect for a funeral cortege, and gave a round of applause when it had passed.
    i agree with the post but this bit got me; is applauding herses a dublin thing?
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Quote Originally Posted by northside hoop
    Two teenagers were shaping up to each other in a standoff that lasted all of 2 seconds, hardly "wreaking havoc" or up to their old tricks. They didn't even raise their handbags.
    Yeah, I accept that. I'd take your word over Spillane's anyway!!
    Champions!

The fan in the picture is a cork fan.
    How can you tell that, or are you talking about the one who isnt being held by the cop?
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

Its a well known fact that Noel Spillane's word isn't worth ****. He bases his "stories" on hearsay and rumour, and its not the first time he's been found out. There's enough bad publicity in the league without this kind of thing going on- SRFC should demand an apology from the Echo.

Because he was sitting in the St Annes end throwing coins at us.
    Yer man was defo a Cork City fan, I was sitting up in the St. Annes and saw him being lead out, he didnt take to kindly to it either

Much a do about nothing really. Rovers fans came to the Cross in numbers that put everyone else to shame and unlike the Bohs fans at the last game actually made some noise. The only hassle started when City scored some brave City fans threw bottles at the Rovers fans. Some of the said bottles were returned with interest by equally brave Rovers fans. All over in 30 seconds.

As for Spillane I was at the Horseshoe and Torytop after the game and there was no scenes of destruction, no sign of old Spillage either.

I hope the Rovers fans complain about Spillage, City fans have complained for long enough about him
    Last edited by SÓC; 24/07/2005 at 9:26 PM.
    Oh no not them again

Quote Originally Posted by SÓC
    Yer man was defo a Cork fan, I was sitting up in the St. Annes and saw him being lead out, he didnt take to kindly to it either

Much a do about nothing really. Rovers fans came to the Cross in numbers that put everyone else to shame and unlike the Bohs fans at the last game actually made some noise. The only hassle started when City scored some brave City fans threw bottles at the Rovers fans. Some of the said bottles were returned with interest by equally brave Rovers fans. All over in 30 seconds.

As for Spillane I was at the Horseshoe and Torytop after the game and there was no scenes of destruction, no sign of old Spillage either.

I hope the Rovers fans complain about Spillage, City fans have complained for long enough about him
    Spillane should be hung out to dry for this. He keeps getting away with printing stuff that is borderline factual or based on rumour and hearsay- this time he's been nicked and I hope he pays for it.