Thread: City 3, Rovers Nil

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    When we were good we were outstanding!
    The best team football I've ever seen in this league.
    I've seen teams with some great players but so many City players played well last night, it truely was a brilliant display of what we are capable of.

While Greg had done well throughout, the introduction of Fenn gave us a real threat going forward. Gamble was brilliant when he had to be.
    Georgie did well but he is too good a player to lack such composure from the spot. He got under the ball and appeared to be leaning back.

The run from Dan Murray was class!
    It's easy for the league leaders to put on a "brilliant display" when beating the league's bottom side at home. If ever there was a home banker this season, Cork-Rovers was it. Yous have a tricky looking game at Pats next, which, depending on which Pats side turns up, may be a banana skin. Beating Rovers after all, is hardly an achievement these days. It's hardly worth getting excited about. Even Finn Harps do it!
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    It's easy for the league leaders to put on a "brilliant display" when beating the league's bottom side at home.
    I can't agree with that because they're the teams that are likely to put 10 men behind the ball and stifle your play. We've seen Longford do this and if Rovers were more aware of their perilous position, they may well have employed those very same tactics.
    I think you're just jealous, to be honest.

I don't see St. Pats as a threat to us since we've played our best football away from home, which is predominantly Dublin. (Incl. North County Dublin Drogs and South County Dublin Bray)

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    over 100, I'd say 150 at least.
    I think this is too generous.
    They took up the width of their section but were well spread out and no where near filled the section.
    50 to 60 from where I was sitting almost directly across from them.
    Last edited by Peadar; 26/07/2005 at 8:01 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    Have you been living in a cave for the past while or something?!
    It was a rhetorical question, intended to stimulate debate...

Lads - coudln't get to the game on Friday. did John Spillane play beforehand? Was he any good?
    Mick D. for Ireland!

81 Posts

I think this is too generous.
    They took up the width of their section but were well spread out and no where near filled the section.
    50 to 60 from where I was sitting almost directly across from them.
    Just short of 200 actually - and yes I did count.

I wouldn't worry about Pats, they're as bad as us. Cork should win the league easy as long as Rico doesn't get the yips.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers
    Just short of 200 actually - and yes I did count.
    Obviously you had more time on your hands than I did and went to the trouble of counting them but it just didn't look like that to me.
    Purely an observation though.

Well done on contributing to the atmosphere throughout.
    For the most part, you were a credit to the league.
    Just unfortunate that the bottle throwing incident almost ruined that.
    I hope you'll be satisfied that removing the culprit was appropriate and adequate? Like every club, we have the odd "supporter" who fails to behave responsibly but as you would have seen, we do our best to control these rare situations.
    When all the banter is said and done, I hope you survive because you would be a big loss to the league.

Feel free to comment on our performance.

81 Posts
    I'm a sad git Peadar and tend to do a rough count of our away support.
    It was our best turn-out in Cork for a long while, both in quantity and quality.

The stewards and cops handled the bottle-throwing incident very well and your performance was the best I've seen all season.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Quote Originally Posted by kingcolers
    It was a rhetorical question, intended to stimulate debate
    How can a rhetorical question stimulate debate if you're not supposed to be able to answer it?
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

Quote Originally Posted by Hecko
    Lads - coudln't get to the game on Friday. did John Spillane play beforehand? Was he any good?
    John Spillane plays on Thursday - before & at half-time for the UEFA Cup game.

Quote Originally Posted by Troy.McClure
    How can a rhetorical question stimulate debate if you're not supposed to be able to answer it?
    Because you don't have to answer the question directly...just comment on the opinion inferred. All I was saying that the team seems to be thriving despite Doyle's departure...happy days...

176 Posts
    I can't agree with that because they're the teams that are likely to put 10 men behind the ball and stifle your play. We've seen Longford do this and if Rovers were more aware of their perilous position, they may well have employed those very same tactics.
    Well, that was er, the game plan, but as we let one in after 3 minutes, it had to be abandoned. So of course, we made yous look like world-beaters. We made Finn Harps look world-beaters too at Dalymount, and they've celebrated that result by going on holiday, and losing 4 straight games since.

Anyone who's top of the table can put on a brilliant display when winning against the *table-proppers, at home.

*By default.

I don't see St. Pats as a threat to us since we've played our best football away from home, which is predominantly Dublin.
    Getting coc-ky now are ye?

You didn't see UCD, Bray and Longford as a threat at the Cross either did you? All three got a point there. You didn't see Waterford as a threat in the Munster derby, and they also got a point, their last for 6 weeks. Derry didn't see Pats as a threat either when they went to the North Pole, and yet Pats are one of only two sides to come away from there with a point so far. You scraped a win in Bray, and Drogheda. You won't win away all the time. Pats are scrapping for points near the bottom, and yous have a rough-looking game on paper, straight after winning a round in Europe. A long trip up to Dublin is hardly what you need after it. Pats will be fresher having had 9 days rest before the game, and may provide an unwelcome banana skin for yous.