Thread: Duff v Milan

Duff v Milan

Just watching Chelsea v Milan here and Chelsea are all over them. Duff and Robben are running amoc. Last season Mourinho seemed to prefer Duff making the pass instead of beating his man but tonight he's doing superb whenever on the ball.

Its 1-0 after almost 40 minutes. Robben with the goal.

Good to see Duff allowed to play freely again.

*Edit - Half time. Duff, Robben and Gudjonhson (in midfield) were the best players of the first half. Duff and Robben gone off to be replaced by Cole and SWP. Rest assured, Duff and Robben will start the season as first choice on the wings after seeing them play tonight.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 25/07/2005 at 12:12 AM.

3,499 Posts
    Duff had a great shot saved too, would have been almost identical to Robben's goal.

If Chelsea sign Essien, I expect their first choice starting midfield to be Duff Essien Lampard Makele Robben, with Essien and Makele hanging back and spraying out passes to other 3 in attacking positions.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Is Wright Phillips going to get a look in with Duff and Robben on song? Hopefully not. Good news re Duffer.

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan
    Is Wright Phillips going to get a look in with Duff and Robben on song? Hopefully not. Good news re Duffer.
    The Socialist Workers Party won't be starting as many games as Robben or Duff but will prove to be better cover than Jole Cole. If the get Essien I can't see em not winning the league again.

If Duff and Keane continue to play like they are we have an excellent chance of progressing,so keep it up lads.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Duff on SWP: "It should make me better"
    http://www.soccerway.com/news/full/?...rea=1122298038

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts

Judging by Gudjohnsen's performance in central midfield last night they don't need Essien. Although, it does mean Lampard has to do a lot more defensive work so won't be scoring half as many. Since defensive work isn't recognised by those in the media (re Duff) they'll say Lampard is not at his best.

What channel was it on?Chelsea tv i pressume.

Im still depressed Crespo dint sign for AC.

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy
    Since defensive work isn't recognised by those in the media (re Duff) they'll say Lampard is not at his best.
    Too true.

2,796 Posts
    Duff scored for Chelsea in a 2-1 win in the US overnight, goal set up by SWP.

52 Posts
    Nice goal by Duffer. But the best part of the game which was shown here in the US on ESPN was midway during the second half after John Terry was substituted. A sideline reporter was interviewing Terry and right near the end someone shouted out which was caught for all the world to hear "Mourinho's a w*nker". Funny stuff. The commentator commented "well I guess that was maybe an Arsenal fan".
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

whoa that's up there with that lazio goal for me, he had a bit of time from the dozy dc defense but what a finish, the f*ckin angle of it! brilliant duff we love you

2,796 Posts
    Pity he couldn't score from 5 feet against Israel.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88
    Pity he couldn't score from 5 feet against Israel.
    or 5 inches

230 Posts
    I watched the game last night and I have to say that Duff got kicked all over the park. Nice goal though and thank God he was taken off at half time. Yer man that yelled into the mike during the John Terry interview had me in knots! Fair play to the US commentators for the quick retort. Was anyone impressed with the young US lad Freddie Adu? I thought he looked pretty good.
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tuff Paddy
    You mean Freddie "Much Adu About Nothing" Adu? If he is half as good as Americans keep saying why isn't he in Europe in a decent league?
    His mother wants him to stay in the US until he turns 18 and then his intentions are to head to Europe. Nothing wrong with that.
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tuff Paddy
    Has he even got a passport?
    I'm not sure where you are going with that

52 Posts
    I've watched Adu fairly closely since he has come on the scene in MLS last year. For 16 he is pretty good, scored some nice goals, has great close control and dribbling ability. The problem is that great 16 year olds don't neccessarily translate into having a star career. Also it is a little unfortunate that he is hyped up too much. He has mainly been used as a sub by DC United (aka Scum ). Some fans are clamoring for him to be included in the US Squad for the World Cup next year but I don't see that happening unless he starts to get more starts for da scum.
    Also on one question posted earlier, current rules don't allow kids under 18 to work overseas. Plus he is contracted to MLS for a few more years. I'm guessing if he keeps progressing, he might transfer to a Euro team after 2-3 years.
    And yes, he does have a passport as he has played for the US at underage level.
    He did pretty well when he came on as a sub last night, for a kid who just turned 16. Indeed, that Diarra guy for Chelsea was lucky not to receive a red card for his consistant fouling of Adu.
    Last edited by Metrostars; 29/07/2005 at 5:03 PM.
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.