Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Weekend games 1st to 5th April

355 Posts
    Played much better tonight and had enough chances to win but a combination of poor finishing and very good saves the Drogheda goalkeeper left us with only a point,if we can cut out silly mistakes at the back we’ll be ok….
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

The commentary on UCD v Derry was brutal.. well, at least one of the commentators was brutal

116 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Onapointoforder View Post
    The commentary on UCD v Derry was brutal.. well, at least one of the commentators was brutal
    It really was bizarre the two lads had no idea what was going on

142 Posts
    No point judging us off games against Derry in fairness.

But we could really do with a goal at this stage.
    well yeah but ye havent been in any way impressive or unlucky apart from bohs at home. the lack of goals shows no sign of being addressed. could see ye putting up some unwanted records especially if kerrigan goes.

Quote Originally Posted by Jd2793 View Post
    think thats all down to king behind him. cant get touches closer to goal with no service. ive seen a lot of young mccormack over the years with ireland and hes impressed in a few cameos for pats. clancy should have no fear of dropping him in. the boy has good ability now and will only improve with time imo.
    I'd love to see us play a three in midfield and get Forrester further up the pitch , no point in him being thirty yards from his own goal picking it up from the keeper.

145 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sulywaterfordfc View Post
    The board expected to win the league by with ease.

Morris was a questionable appointment, I wasn’t too happy about it at the time. On paper his Cv is great, but reality he won two leagues where anything other then winning the league was failure not to mention he’d Rennie who’s probably the best no2 in the country last year. The season he was relegated, Shels were expected to stay up too. If he continues with this horses**t we’ll be lucky to get into the top 5...
    I wouldn't write Morris' Waterford obituary just yet. Morris did not have particularly good starts with Shels in the first 6 to 8 games of both of the 2019 and 2021 First Division title winning seasons before Shels went up a gear becoming very difficult under him to take any points off often going on runs of winning games by the odd goal

But looking at the First Division this season Waterford definitely stiffer competition with full-time teams like Cork and Galway looking potential viable league winners. Morris' style of football while not terrible hoofball is definitely conservative quite unadventurous may not be compatible with alot of that Waterford squad
    The Leinster Senior League needs a strong Bohemians

233 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Glen Of Aherlow View Post
    I'd love to see us play a three in midfield and get Forrester further up the pitch , no point in him being thirty yards from his own goal picking it up from the keeper.
    He has plenty of licence to get forward as far as I can see. Don’t think it’s an issue. Nor do I think it’s a problem Forrestor coming deep to get the ball.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

3,267 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jd2793 View Post
    well yeah but ye havent been in any way impressive or unlucky apart from bohs at home. the lack of goals shows no sign of being addressed. could see ye putting up some unwanted records especially if kerrigan goes.
    Had apparently clear penalties not given v Shels and Harps as well; that'd make a bit difference to the table and a bit of early confidence.

But yeah, we need a win as well as a goal at this stage, and that's not a good mix.

I think our worst performance was the one where we scored twice, strangely (away to Drogheda)

67 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by total hoofball View Post
    I wouldn't write Morris' Waterford obituary just yet. Morris did not have particularly good starts with Shels in the first 6 to 8 games of both of the 2019 and 2021 First Division title winning seasons before Shels went up a gear becoming very difficult under him to take any points off often going on runs of winning games by the odd goal

But looking at the First Division this season Waterford definitely stiffer competition with full-time teams like Cork and Galway looking potential viable league winners. Morris' style of football while not terrible hoofball is definitely conservative quite unadventurous may not be compatible with alot of that Waterford squad
    That’s a large part of the problem, Morris is trying to implement a style with a squad suited to play football. It’s not just going to suddenly click. Not to mention there’s many players underperforming as Morris isn’t playing to there strengths. Wordsworth has been a huge disappointment so far but he’s been played in a defensive role. He should be playing higher up the pitch. Signing an attacking type midfielder to play a defensive role, one of the many odd decisions by Morris. Not to mention he’s probably on a big wage.

200 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ToberonaTornado View Post
    Looking forward to being there with our usual packed out away fans and a famous win as well.
    75% of your 'packed out' away end must’ve got lost on the way down tonight, great win for yous all the same
    Paaatrick's Agletic

176 Posts
    Rovers strolled through the game tonight against what I saw as the worst team we've played this season, but strolling through games has a habit of biting you on the arێ.
    Thankfully order was restored, albeit in the last minute.
    Rovers are very, very far from the finished article so far this season but assumptions are being made that we'll kick into gear eventually and just take control of the league-having quality like Danny and Watts coming off the bench certainly helps.
    Shels will finish 3rd bottom, if they're lucky.

194 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 2 Year Contract View Post
    75% of your 'packed out' away end must’ve got lost on the way down tonight, great win for yous all the same
    Tad disappointed with the Dundalk turnout for the game alright but nevertheless was great to be there for the return of "THE" O'Donnell. Great atmosphere in the ground,expected it be to more hostile tbh.
    As for the win comment?? That just you being bitter? or sarcastic?

200 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ToberonaTornado View Post
    Tad disappointed with the Dundalk turnout for the game alright but nevertheless was great to be there for the return of "THE" O'Donnell. Great atmosphere in the ground,expected it be to more hostile tbh.
    As for the win comment?? That just you being bitter? or sarcastic?
    No I just found your over confidence of a sell out away crowd and 3 points funny given yous haven’t won an away game this season
    Paaatrick's Agletic

76 Posts
    Some match winning goal from Aaron Greene. He's a player that's driven me mad before with his lack of finishing. There was some 5 yard sitter in Europe last year or the year before that summed him up for me. But the man knows how to hit a long-range worldie.
    Entertaining match in Richmond, St Pats really should have won, but Dundalk's keeper is something else. 2 De-gea like saves last night to give Dundalk a point they didn't really deserve. Great crowd there too, which looks so good on the telly. Definitely one of the better 0-0 stalemates I've seen recently, but Pat's lack of cutting edge was obvious enough at times, which it would be without Forrester.

Excited about Galways future again after years of nothing. Having the Comer Brothers as majority owner, knowing they more than likely will invest fairly substantially is great news. I can't see the situation ending up in the farce that was Nick Leeson's tenure. The PD needs a Galway team in it again. Should be a comfortable win this evening away to Wexford to help the push.
    Last edited by CorribsideSteve; 09/04/2022 at 10:45 AM.

194 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 2 Year Contract View Post
    No I just found your over confidence of a sell out away crowd and 3 points funny given yous haven’t won an away game this season
    reaches for ignore button.......

355 Posts
    Derry won at a canter,never got out of second gear,poor game overall…
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

25 Posts
    I thought we played alright but lacked cutting edge upfront.

2,359 Posts
    Toothless up front, Mahdy has been awful this season. Taking Hery off instead of Mahdy was a mistake from coaching staff.

Nice to see Derry fans continuing the same vein of being a shower of pr!cks too. Weird obsession with stealing flags, and several ejected from the ground by security

3,267 Posts
    Is that Joey Ndo on Sligo commentary? I like him

Will make things interesting if we can hang on to the win here.

3,267 Posts
    Well that lasted a predictably short period of time...

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123