It may not be intentional but please don't call us "Southern" Ireland. Check any Atlas. I find it insulting.Originally Posted by steveyg2004
fair play for your honestyOriginally Posted by steveyg2004
if ye keep going the way ye are ye wont be in itOriginally Posted by higgins
It may not be intentional but please don't call us "Southern" Ireland. Check any Atlas. I find it insulting.Originally Posted by steveyg2004
Oh for Christ sake, will you wise up, you pedantic arsewipe! How many f*cking times is it referred to as North V South in a sporting context. So what is your preference then, Eire, Southern Ireland, the South, the Republic of Ireland, or just 'Ireland'?Originally Posted by pete
I suddenly have a strong desire to see anyone, be it Shels or Derry, overhaul Cork's 11 point lead and ensure they are still trophyless since 1984 at the end of the season!![]()
Last edited by steveyg2004; 24/07/2005 at 2:17 PM.
If you want to continue posting here attack the post not the poster.Originally Posted by steveyg2004
Would you be offended if i said Glentoran were Champions of the Occupied Counties?
Can we just stick with the eL & IL?
Let's not be silly - The post wasn't being a pedantic arsewipe, you were.Originally Posted by pete
I simply can't believe someone could take issue with me saying 'Southern Ireland' - And if you said 'the occupied territories', I would know what country you were referring to. Let's not imply that it was I that brought a whiff of politics to this. Taking issue with 'Southern Ireland', well I bloody never!!!![]()
Last edited by steveyg2004; 24/07/2005 at 3:05 PM.
Do you want a Ban?Originally Posted by steveyg2004
ladies, ladies... calm down! it doesnt matter! Lets get back to posting about football and not petty political issue's...![]()
Are you capable of dishing out a ban, Mr. Pedantic?Originally Posted by pete
Fair enough, though I am still surprised anyone finds it offensive.....had to swallow quite hard while I posted the bit about Shels giving us a thrashing, didn't see the 'Southern Ireland' thing coming to be honest.Originally Posted by Conor74
Hay ho, back to the game as you say.......So Pete, fancy getting Liam Millar on loan?![]()
Kindergarten stuff Pete. Have to say, I'm surprised too. At this stage you'd think we were past that level of crap.Originally Posted by steveyg2004
Jesus wept. Are you living in a country called the 1950s?
I think people should cop on here. I for one welcome the posters here from the Irish league as they offer a bit of variety, a different view point and are a sign of the forging links between fans of our two leagues. We shouldn't be jumping on them for a slight slip of the tongue.
I have to admit I wouldn't normally refer to 'Southern Ireland', I only used the phrase by way of contrast between the Champions of the North, and Champions of the South. Boy, do I regret using it now!!Originally Posted by Poor Student
Certainly, the phrase that someone is from 'the North' or from 'the South' is still in regular use, and to my knowledge is always understood and by and large inoffensive to people. I think it's time to move on from this though.
By the way, since the development of the Setanta Cup there has been a massive influx of new posters from Eire on Irish League Forums. It's all good!![]()
Stevey it should probably be said in the spirit of things you probably shouldn't fly off the handle as quick as you did either. I think if there's one thing that's common on this island it's the sense for craic and a laugh, we should lighten up a bit.
All true!Originally Posted by Poor Student
Think I'm with SteveyG on this one. We regularly refer to the North, or Northern Ireland, doesn't that make us the South ? OK, it's not the official name of the country, but pleaseCould we lighten up a little. And remember it was Pete, not Stevie who brought the politics into it. Surely we want to encourage posters from the Irish League, not turn them away ?
I'm with SteveyG and TonyD on this oneOriginally Posted by TonyD
Still, I think a nice, cosy 'Friends' type response of "Could you be any more pedantic?" was more appropriate. A little too much anger in that post, apologies.Originally Posted by steveyg2004