Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Shels 6 - 2 Glens

Well done Reds

hard luck boys in Green . Dolan was right though prep for Europe was too slipshod. Too reminiscent of EL teams 15 years ago

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac
    oh number 2... change your "location" ShelsTim (top of the league)
    I clearly mean top of the Champions League, just give us a short while.

Great result ....well done (Glentoran team jersey looked like Goalkeepers)

Quote Originally Posted by ccfcgirl
    (Glentoran team jersey looked like Goalkeepers)
    apart from the fact that one was black and one was green

excellent performance by shels outplayed glens all over the park! even though the pitch looked like sh!t! fair play to the glens fans outside the ground they were a good laugh!!

Bring on bucharest!!

Smashing game again. Only word I can think of to describe Shelbourne's football = gorgeous.

Fabulous to watch. Congrats the Shels.

I've one question - what the fcuk happened to the pitch???? There seemed to be rugby league lines on it and I saw something recently that there was some students rugby league championship in Dublin - was that played in Tolka?? Surely the bobs that Shels would get from a student RL organisation wouldn't be great and certainly no compensation for the savaging the pitch got - it seemed to be cut up in places too. I couldn't believe that was the same pitch I saw only a few weeks ago in the Setanta. Anyone know anything about that????

71 Posts
    I was thinking the same thing Hamish. Seeing it on TV in the Setanta I thought it looked immaculate and then I turn up and see patches of grass missing and things. It wasn't horrendus but not as nice as it looked months ago. I have to ask Shels fans what the hell goes on at Tolka? I stupidly sat in the 2nd row of the Richmond Rd. end and I was constantly blocked by a stream of passers by. The same people over and over again? Do people just lap the ground or something?

On the positive side great performance by Shels. 2 wins and maximum coefficient points. I thought there was a very good crowd too. The Glens fans and the Brigoid Dearg created a good atmosphere of colour and noise. A satisfying experience to see an eL side demolish their opposition in Europe. Could and should have been 5 goals, not sure what Byrne was thinking with that tame shot when put through on goal.

Well done to Shels, classy finish...but what is up with the pitch, looked awful on tv
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

Heat wave anyone?
    God

Quote Originally Posted by DE TOWN
    apart from the fact that one was black and one was green
    I meant the style of the jersey.

Quote Originally Posted by EnDai
    Heat wave anyone?
    Seriusly EnDaI - I wasn't trying to take a cheap shot at Shels but wasn't there a wet period recently when that students competition was on which would have cut the sh!t out of the pitch.
    I know clubs need money from a variety of sources but to let a shower of mullockers on what was a fantastic pitch only a few weeks ago is a shame.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ShelsTim
    What's it like to be outplayed Glens? We can start stacking up all the quotes from Glens heads saying they were going to shock us all and win the tie, 6-2, looks like yous were a bit off eh? Bring on the Steaua.
    Shels, ever humble in victory......

I suppose after following Shels for a while you all end up taking on Ollie's character.

Aye, it did look bad But still, it seemingly played well!
    God

Jaysus,I don't even know what to say.....

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy
    Shels, ever humble in victory......

I suppose after following Shels for a while you all end up taking on Ollie's character.
    OLLIE BYRNE IS A LEGEND

Was there some students' RL competition on it though lads????????

I was shocked at the state of the pitch, went from the best in the league to absolute crap. There was obviously some event on there but I had heard nothing about it anyway. It didn't seem to concern us too much, mind.

This now makes Shelbourne Irelands most successful ever team in Europe as far as winning ties is concerned. Funny that, two years ago all you would hear is how shít we were in Europe

We beat Glentoran today because we played football, that's how we should have played all season. Hopefully, to quote the great man Houllier, a corner has been turned. Play passing football like that and we will get results. I'm more confident about the next round than I was when the draw was made. Yes glens were poor, but you can only beat what's in front of you and the way we did it was impressive. A few changes will probably be made for friday, that's what the squad is for, but the injuries are clearing and we're looking good. Byrne and Crowe are playing like a partnership now and that is the biggest positive from the past few weeks.

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    I was shocked at the state of the pitch, went from the best in the league to absolute crap. There was obviously some event on there but I had heard nothing about it anyway. It didn't seem to concern us too much, mind.

This now makes Shelbourne Irelands most successful ever team in Europe as far as winning ties is concerned. Funny that, two years ago all you would hear is how shít we were in Europe

We beat Glentoran today because we played football, that's how we should have played all season. Hopefully, to quote the great man Houllier, a corner has been turned. Play passing football like that and we will get results. I'm more confident about the next round than I was when the draw was made. Yes glens were poor, but you can only beat what's in front of you and the way we did it was impressive. A few changes will probably be made for friday, that's what the squad is for, but the injuries are clearing and we're looking good. Byrne and Crowe are playing like a partnership now and that is the biggest positive from the past few weeks.
    Jesus Slash/ED, you Shels fans must be gobsmacked at all the praise you're getting, given the slagging you usually get. Shels deserved every kudo going tbf as their football was brilliant to watch.
    No doubt about it, Footie is getting very nicey nicey these days.

Quote Originally Posted by sirhamish
    Jesus Slash/ED, you Shels fans must be gobsmacked at all the praise you're getting, given the slagging you usually get. Shels deserved every kudo going tbf as their football was brilliant to watch.
    I'm still speechless

Quote Originally Posted by sirhamish
    Yeah, we need a good old Éanna Olly rant to get his back to normality

Watching the tape of the match again though, I get the distinct impression Pat Dolan really, really wanted us to lose, so some things never change.

Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast