Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Shels 6 - 2 Glens

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    They're moving to free up an extra 4,000 or so tickets.
    ah rite. how many glens are expected?

It's possible.

but you can't deny that we made a great noise in Glentoran.

and we usually sound much better when in a proper covered stand, like in Inchicore we make an alright noise.

If you have a look at ShelsWeb there are endless threads about us moving to the Riverside as the home stand on a permanent basis, for this reason.

Jesus, other teams take small enough support to the Riverside, less than we have in the Drumcondra End and sound brilliant.

I am NOT saying we have the best fans in the world or anything like at that, and I accept that times we look and sound dismal.

Quote Originally Posted by DE TOWN
    ah rite. how many glens are expected?
    They were given 2,000 tickets and sold 1,500 I think.

And the New stand v Riverside is an ongoing debate on shelsweb alright, this development could hopefully help the case for useing the Riverside, if not tonight (as it's very short notice) than down the line in the future.

Quote Originally Posted by seansouth
    but you can't deny that we made a great noise in Glentoran.
    no, ye were brilliant but glens are terrible at home, they were when we played them in the setanta but away from home they are fantastic

130 Posts
    I cant understand how any Irish football fan would not support shels tonight, and LFD and cork tomorrow. Come on shels, fancy them to win by 2/3. Were miles better in belfast.

My prediction for tonight is 2-1 to Shels

71 Posts
    Just gave Shels a call, they've opened the other stand and the lady on the phone said there's plenty of tickets. So don't shy away if you're thinking of heading down late.

Copied and pasted from shelsweb....

One ticket caravan located at the top of Richmond Road junction with Drumcondra Rd outside Prescotts Dry Cleaners.

One ticket caravan half-way down Richmond Rd outside The Panelling Centre.

71 Posts
    Is there student discount Slash?

I haven't a clue to be honest with you, but generally our prices are 6 for childen, 10 for students and 15 for adults, and as far as I know it's the same rates for today so there should be.

Quote Originally Posted by elroy
    I cant understand how any Irish football fan would not support shels tonight, and LFD and cork tomorrow. Come on shels, fancy them to win by 2/3. Were miles better in belfast.
    I have nothing against the Shels fans, all that I know (in the real world not on this site) are sound lads, but I can not stand Ollie Byrne (to put it mildly) or Pat Fenlon.
    Also, after their "success" last year they could afford to offer the likes of Glen Crowe money that we could not match (well we did, then they offered an even bigger contract unless of course you believe the Shels fans who claim he left for a pay-cut!) so obviously their success in Europe is detrimental to the club that I support, Bohemians. Also, I want Shelbourne's fan base to remain as crippled as it is now and not to swell as a result of success in Europe. If that wasn't enough, the disgracefull comments made by Ollie Byrne during last year's European campaign about fixture changes when he was lying through his rotten teeth, his comments about Bohs when Shels won the league, and Pat Felon's comments about our team during the close-season ended any chance of goodwill from the Bohemians support.

I don't begrudge Cork any success this year, I hope they do well. As for Longford, despite it being the most unwelcoming town in Ireland I still wouldn't mind seeing them doing well either.

I think that Shels will win 1 or 2-0 tonight. I can't remember what I predicted last week. I hope it's a tough, intense and gruelling game so they'll be knackered for Friday night!!! I want Shels to win though, and if they don't I'll be supporting Glens in the next round.

I thought the Uefa matches are a week from tomorrow seeing as there is only two qualifying rounds there's no need to rush the fixtures.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by superfrank
    I think that Shels will win 1 or 2-0 tonight. I can't remember what I predicted last week. I hope it's a tough, intense and gruelling game so they'll be knackered for Friday night!!! I want Shels to win though, and if they don't I'll be supporting Glens in the next round.

I thought the Uefa matches are a week from tomorrow seeing as there is only two qualifying rounds there's no need to rush the fixtures.
    The UEFA Cup is a week tomorrow
    Kom Igen, FCK...

Shels 6 - 2 Glens

What's it like to be outplayed Glens? We can start stacking up all the quotes from Glens heads saying they were going to shock us all and win the tie, 6-2, looks like yous were a bit off eh? Bring on the Steaua.

excellent, shelbourne doing what eL teams have never really done in the past: made european opponents look poor. watching glens shocking efforts was like watching City in Europe years ago, not up to the standard.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

oh, and Forza Glens: AMATEUR

oh number 2... change your "location" ShelsTim (top of the league)
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

101 Posts
    Well done tonight. Hopefully you can get a good result next week against Steaua to bring to Romania. Would be great for an Irish club to knock a former European Cup winner out. I watched the match on TV. Anyone else notice George Hamilton call Ritchie Baker "Dessie Baker" at least twice?

Doolin had nothing good to say about Glentoran.Too harsh.

Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong
    Anyone else notice George Hamilton call Ritchie Baker "Dessie Baker" at least twice?
    the whole game through. he'd always a few seconds later, not exactly to correct himself, but call him richie again... clearly someone whispering in his ear
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Quote Originally Posted by jorge
    Doolin had nothing good to say about Glentoran.Too harsh.
    Dolan? They were ****e. what good can you say about them? if that ould fella Walker is a "legend" then i truely feel for them.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast