Thread: More casual calumny

71 Posts
    Eh lads, he said the ground was spartan not sparsely attended. That would mean lacking facilities and comfort.

57 Posts
    Other referee appointments for Irish clubs last season:

Bohemians:
    vs. Levadia Tallinn - Away leg: Marijo Strahonja (Croatia), Home Leg: Robert Krajnc (Slovenia)

Shelbourne:
    vs. KR Reykjavik - Away Leg: Peter Vervecken (Belgium), Home Leg: Michael Svendsen (Denmark)

vs. Hadjuk Split - Away Leg: Viktor Kassai (Hungary), Home Leg: Stanislav Sukhina (Russia)

vs. Deportivo La Coruna - Away Leg: Alain Hamer (Luxembourg), Home Leg: Michal Benes (Czech Republic)

vs. Lille - Away Leg: Emil Bozinovski (Macedonia), Home Leg: Costas Kapitanis (Cyprus)

Longford Town:
    vs. FC Vaduz - Away Leg: Merab Malagouradze (Georgia), Home Leg: Ghenadie Orlic (Moldova)

Cork City:
    vs. Malmo FF - Away Leg: Alexander Gvardis (Russia), Home Leg: mario Strahonja (Croatia)
    vs. NEC Nijmegen - Away Leg: Damien Ledentu (France), Home Leg: Sergij Berezka (Ukraine)
    vs. Nantes - Away Leg: Joao Lopes Ferreira (Portugal), Home Leg: Uriah Rennie (England)

The only coloured referee among all those is Uriah Rennie
    Kom Igen, FCK...

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    Eh lads, he said the ground was spartan not sparsely attended. That would mean lacking facilities and comfort.
    Well, they have us a bit confused, what with all the diesel sucking lately.

3,488 Posts
    He also said the ground was smelly. Not a problem I've ever associated with wide open spaces before (Dublin city of a weekend morning excepting!)

He mentions about the referee being called a "refugee" which could mean that he was from Eastern Europe rather than being black.

Anyway whatever problems the league has (and there are a lot) thankfully racial abuse isn't prevalent at all.
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    certainly with the amount of people in his beloved OT I am sure a few people say things best unheard too.
    My mate was there for the Chelsea league game last season and he said the racist abuse directed towards Duff everytime he took a corner was disgusting. He supports Man Yoo.

I remember being there for their first CL game in defence of their title, against Croatia Zagreb. The away fans sang constantly before, during and after the game. All the Man Yoo chaps could do was throw stuff, shout racist abuse give the two finger salute.
    Pathetic!
    Boring 0-0 draw too.

Funny how he was the only person to hear this abuse out of every one of us who between us would have gone to every European game last season, and covers his tracks by not mentioning which team or which game.

for his sake I hope he never bothers going to a game in England anywhere, it would just shatter his illusions.

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    Goes back to the time when the game was first called Association Football, and the name soccer came from there.
    Or is this just another old story?
    rugby football=rugger
    association football=soccer
    both coined in england

It has been a long time since a racist chant has been heard in an eL ground. I don't see what a club can do about an individual shouting at an official as that is just mirrowing society.

I'd be amazed if an Indo journalist went to City game. There were over 8000 people at City Nantes & most people have a seat, all walking areas have tarmac or concrete...

He seems to be the epitomy of a bar stooler isolated from reality by Sky censors.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pete
    It has been a long time since a racist chant has been heard in an eL ground. I don't see what a club can do about an individual shouting at an official as that is just mirrowing society.
    Blame the gardaí?
    Kom Igen, FCK...

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    It has been a long time since a racist chant has been heard in an eL ground.
    Errrr - the Shels v Linfield Setanta game anyone......? (I think it was the final - audible monkey chants towards Ndo....)

Can everyone also stop with this 'coloured' nonsense as well please. It's effectively a rascist term itself - it's what the white South Africans used to negatively label everyone who was non-white. What's wrong with black, Asian, Oriental etc instead of 'coloured'.... ?

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    Errrr - the Shels v Linfield Setanta game anyone......? (I think it was the final - audible monkey chants towards Ndo....)
    Which as you know and surely should not have omitted was not an EL game, and did not come from EL supporters.

Exactly, how could you look down on the EL for fans from another league racially abusing one of our own players?

I've always called it football, more out of habit than anything else. Besides, it's no big deal, "football" or "footie" is often used by the Aussies for all their football sports so it's a general term used throughout the world, regardless of what type of football it is. I wonder do the Chinese, Japanese etc call soccer "football"??

Boh Diddley is doing us all a service by bringing us regular examples of the
    sh!te written in Irish 'papers about football/soccer. I think it's a great idea that we can try to email these plonkers with protests - maybe, just maybe, they'll take notice and cop on but I won't hold my breath on this happening.

I don't buy the Indo or Times 'cos of this attitude they have to footbal/soccer - the Star is probably the fairest. Ironic that a tabloid is more honest and fairer-minded than the broadsheets.

Boycott those fcukers - that's the only answer - even a drop of 5,000 in sales by EL fans would make a difference since many Irish 'papers are losing sales anyway and they can't afford to alienate anyone.

Who cares if it's soccer or football, once you know what the other fella is talking about. Jesus Christ, you'd think you had better things to be worried about.

And sirhamish, Irish papers aren't losing readers, every time anything is mentioned in them, they all have a big increase. Not only that, but Irish newspapers are the only in the world to have increased their readership.

As for e-mails I could only find this for general inquires to the Indo: info@unison.independent.ie and this feedback form for general inquiries on unison.ie: http://www.unison.ie/contact_us/open.php Enjoy.

Quote Originally Posted by ShelsTim
    Who cares if it's soccer or football, once you know what the other fella is talking about. Jesus Christ, you'd think you had better things to be worried about.

And sirhamish, Irish papers aren't losing readers, every time anything is mentioned in them, they all have a big increase. Not only that, but Irish newspapers are the only in the world to have increased their readership.

As for e-mails I could only find this for general inquires to the Indo: info@unison.independent.ie and this feedback form for general inquiries on unison.ie: http://www.unison.ie/contact_us/open.php Enjoy.
    Agree with your first paragraph ShelsTim. I'm not worried about it tbh, just interested in other's points of view.

Not too sure if you're right there about Irish papers not losing readers but I'm open to correction. I thought that Irish papers had lost a lot of sales to incoming UK papers and "Oirish" ones but maybe I'm wrong there and sure, everyone will grab a paper if there's a "big story", I guess. I make a deliberate effort not to buy in this case, especially if I hear that there's an anti EL article. I just wish others would do likewise.

Maybe I'm getting paranoid here but I've just heard/saw Colm Murray on 6.01 news on RTE referring to "Belfast side Glentoran". Doesn't seem much but surely most Irish sports people would know where Glentoran are from? Are RTE trying to give us the impression that their viewers know little about football/soccer/whateveryou'rehavingyourself on this island??? Maybe I'm just being paranoid and this post should be on the conspiracy thread LOL

Quote Originally Posted by ShelsTim

You're right Tim. Irish newspapers, unlike those almost anywhere else, are putting on readers, which is healthy. Now if we can only persuade them to give EL a fair run in their pages ... I'm not suggesting patronising favouritism; just decent coverage and an end to this by-now routine hostility towards EL.

As for whether the game is called soccer or football or both, I couldn't care less. But there is a silly notion currently that somehow you establish your football credentials by slagging off people who use the word 'soccer', and that having done so you get to pontificate about the game in the way we have seen in this article, without ever going to football matches. It's the posing I object to, not the language.

Quote Originally Posted by sirhamish
    Agree with your first paragraph ShelsTim. I'm not worried about it tbh, just interested in other's points of view.

Not too sure if you're right there about Irish papers not losing readers but I'm open to correction. I thought that Irish papers had lost a lot of sales to incoming UK papers and "Oirish" ones but maybe I'm wrong there and sure, everyone will grab a paper if there's a "big story", I guess. I make a deliberate effort not to buy in this case, especially if I hear that there's an anti EL article. I just wish others would do likewise.

Maybe I'm getting paranoid here but I've just heard/saw Colm Murray on 6.01 news on RTE referring to "Belfast side Glentoran". Doesn't seem much but surely most Irish sports people would know where Glentoran are from? Are RTE trying to give us the impression that their viewers know little about football/soccer/whateveryou'rehavingyourself on this island??? Maybe I'm just being paranoid and this post should be on the conspiracy thread LOL

TBH I think most people outside of EL fans in the Republic wouldn't have a clue what part of NI Glentoran are from. MOst wouldn't pay any attention to the Irish League except to see if Linfield were beaten.
    "I'd rather play in front of a full house than an empty crowd" Johnny Giles

Quote Originally Posted by Dotsy
    TBH I think most people outside of EL fans in the Republic wouldn't have a clue what part of NI Glentoran are from. MOst wouldn't pay any attention to the Irish League except to see if Linfield were beaten.
    Sorry. I'm confused. Glentoran are from Belfast.

Quote Originally Posted by BohDiddley
    Sorry. I'm confused. Glentoran are from Belfast.
    My point is that most people in the Republic with the exception of EL fans wouldn't know that Glentoran were from Belfast
    "I'd rather play in front of a full house than an empty crowd" Johnny Giles