Thread: Games weekend 11th to 14th March

3,251 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    UCD vs Derry off.
    Surprised at that tbh. I think it's only the second time since the turn of the century we've had a game rained off. Last time was actually a live game when Rovers won the league; it was shown live the next evening instead. That was lashing rain as I recall; it's nowhere near as bad today.

Suits me though, strangely

2,352 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 2 Year Contract View Post
    Finn Park passed an 11:30 pitch inspection this morning. Fingers crossed it holds up for tonight
    Pitch in Finn park is fine and didn't even need a pitch inspection.

271 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Pitch in Finn park is fine and didn't even need a pitch inspection.
    Excellent news , on the long road up now.

389 Posts
    League said it passed an inspection at 11.30

Surprised at UCD. Didn’t think it had rained that much.

116 Posts
    How could Belfield be waterlogged? Weather been grand.

That being said possibly a blessing for Derry as our last two game weekend we were really leggy looking second half of the Monday game.

Quote Originally Posted by DCWA View Post
    How could Belfield be waterlogged? Weather been grand.
    Must be the sprinklers....

75 Posts
    Surprised at that tbh. I think it's only the second time since the turn of the century we've had a game rained off. Last time was actually a live game when Rovers won the league; it was shown live the next evening instead. That was lashing rain as I recall; it's nowhere near as bad today.

Suits me though, strangely
    Was sat in McCloskeys in Donnybrook that night with buckets on the floor collecting the rain coming through the ceiling when we heard that game was called-off. Rain nowhere near that level today but all DLR pitches are unplayable this weekend too FWIW.
    No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

3,251 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by LOI101 View Post
    Must be the sprinklers....
    Funnily enough, the sprinkler makes the front cover of the programme for the game! Must have been tempting fate too much...

I know online programmes are controversial, but one handy thing about them at least is that they've just saved us a few hundred quid.

271 Posts
    Funnily enough, the sprinkler makes the front cover of the programme for the game! Must have been tempting fate too much...

I know online programmes are controversial, but one handy thing about them at least is that they've just saved us a few hundred quid.
    Id say all clubs could go down that road eventually, we did a double printed for our first two home games. I don’t think the interest in programmes is a strong as it once was. I think
    a eight page team sheet with one or two articles would suffice these days.

879 Posts
    The Tolka pitch tends to get waterlogged or flooded, I havent seen any talk about a pitch inspection so it is unusual that UCD is unplayable and Tolka is grand. The printed Dundalk programme is still very popular on match nights and I think a digital version is available for free for expats though possibly the day after the game.

28 Posts
    Treaty v Longford called off less than an hour before kick off

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    585 Posts
    Difficult question time!

They may need to consider somewhere else until the pitch is fixed. And by that I basically mean Jackman. It's that or play away every game. Ridiculous situation.

1,081 Posts
    Decidedly crap first few weeks for us. One game played in four weeks. And that was 0-0.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    585 Posts
    Club had a FB post up around noon claiming the pitch had been partially resodded and "looks well". It might be the case that it just can't handle any bit of rain after it wasn't looked after properly over the winter.

Next home game is next Friday, 3pm against Cork. They'll be a lot of pressure for a firm green light on Thursday evening. A back up plan has to be formed.

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    425 Posts
    Dublin derby has been a strange one so far. Lacking any real intensity. Rovers on top for the most part without threatening too much. Talbot with a couple of dodgy moments representing the best chances and at least partially at fault for Rovers goal. Since they scored Rovers went down a level. Bohs probably should have had a penalty towards the end of the half but haven’t looked very dangerous otherwise.

107 Posts
    Some of the pitches in this league, jaysus.

232 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jack B View Post
    Some of the pitches in this league, jaysus.
    Indeed. Not a bad game in Finn park though, considering. Lots of chances now on both sides. Harps not out of it by any means.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

232 Posts
    Pats go two up. Somewhat fortunately it must be said. Harps have had their chances.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

3,251 Posts
    Are Harps going to struggle for goals this season? Finishing really let them down in the Bowl too. They've gone below us on goals scored now (with obviously most of the season left)

107 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TonyD View Post
    Indeed. Not a bad game in Finn park though, considering. Lots of chances now on both sides. Harps not out of it by any means.
    Yeah, the game improved as a spectacle for sure as both teams went for it more. Still remained an awfully scrappy game but you can't really blame either side for that one, not much they could do when the pitch is playing like that.

Quality of keepers have made the difference for me, might be harsh re: the second but I think McGinley's let himself down for both goals while Anang made one big save and has generally been great under crosses. He got written off ridiculously after one mistake against Rovers but has looked impressive ever since for me.

Special mention to Adam O'Reilly as well, been excellent since he's come in and made midfield look far less of an issue than it was before he got his chance.

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast