Thread: Leicester v Celts live on Setanta tonight

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88
    Doesn't the "Grand Old Team" song containing your & Orchard Celt's quoted line "if you know your history" refer to there being a show imminent, to be attended by the Glasgow ******. Twice actually. I wouldn't get too hung up about it!
    You are right Stuttgart. However officially they are ****** alone from what I gather and therefore if you hear ****** alone you should be able to assume which club it is unless you're in the context of a Stalybridge ****** supporters meeting.

I wouldn't call Baldé a scumbag. He's actually a very mild mannered man. Just desperately embarrassingly clumsy. The keeper Artur Boruc was very impressive. Couldn't say the same for his 10 team mates.

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    I wouldn't call Baldé a scumbag. He's actually a very mild mannered man. Just desperately embarrassingly clumsy. The keeper Artur Boruc was very impressive. Couldn't say the same for his 10 team mates.
    Im convinced that the tackle was deliberate and it wasn't his first indiscretion on the night. It was on the same level as Harris or Stu Byrne's tackle on Bobby Ryan last season.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

71 Posts
    Fair enough Frank. You have your opinion. But from having watched him for year I noticed once he gets charging he can't control himself at all. I don't think it was deliberate as it doesn't seem in his character but it looked as it could have been. Not sure.

I have only seen photo's of it in a couple of rags over here. Looks bad alright but definately not in his nature at all. Still, who's to say he did or did not mean it..only he will know for sure.

My fellow workmate who is a season ticket holder at Ibrox watched it and had great delight in telling me how poor Celt!c were.

As I've always said, pre-season games mean nothing at all at the end of the day. So I'm not unduly worried at the moment.

71 Posts
    ****** have a habit of disappointing pre-seasons. I must say I don't like Strachan's approach to team selection. Sutton is wasted in central midfield, Petrov is wasted on the right wing. Classic Martin O'Neill mistakes. The midfield lacked any dynamism which is exactly what Petrov offers in the middle. Hartson seemed off the pace of the game and they could have done with Sutton up front. Zurawski looks lively and pacey but cannot work with his back to goal. Hopefully this new lad Virgo can offer something at right back, though ****** also have Agathe to come back. Also I hope they can sign Nakamura to offer that creativity and guile the midfield has lacked since the retirement of Lubo Moravcik. Baldé and Varga were awful. However I am thoroughly impressed by Boruc. I hope he will select him over Marshall.

Strachans signings so far don't exactly fill me with confidence especially when I hear the 'Tic linked with the likes of Paul Telfer at Southampton but of course I won't pre-judge and will give them every chance.

Virgo is a strange one alright. Got into the Scotland Future squad last year but that's nothing to write home about and I didn't see any other clubs clambering for his signature.

I'm afraid to say that on paper at least, Rangers looked to have done a lot better business over the summer.

3,501 Posts
    Agreed, but Aliadiere showed some nice touches last night, and could be something special.

I said before last season ended that Rangers would win this season, hope to God I'm wrong...

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979
    Agreed, but Aliadiere showed some nice touches last night, and could be something special.

Agreed, forgot about him.

2,796 Posts
    I know some of the Arsenal regulars here think Aliadiere is a great prospect but I have my doubts. I think he's very athletic but not sure he'll be that good a striker. Saturday's performance against Fulham only reinforced my opinion.

71 Posts
    I don't think playing alongside Hartson is doing either of the new strikers any favours. I think if Petrov is moved infield ****** will look a totally different prospect. One positive thing for ****** is they have an able left back in Camara. Nothing amazing but seems a solid enough defender and has good pace to get forward and support the attack. When Agathe comes back they'll have a very balanced defence. Perhaps Virgo could be first choice right back if he's any use. Or perhaps he could displace Varga in the middle. Also I really hope Kennedy is the same as he was when he comes back as he was ******'s best defender in my opinion.

Kennedy was looking like a fantastic player before he got injured and was Celt!cs best defender that season.

It would be good if he could recapture that form but he's got a long road ahead of him and I have my doubts, most players are never the same again after an injury like his. 3 major operations on his knee and a season and a half at least missed.

Here's hoping though...

71 Posts
    Seeming as centre of defence is primarily about instinct, reading, heading and all round strength hopefully this won't hurt his game as much as a striker or a winger. I was highly impressed by him, particularly against Barcelona in the UEFA Cup.

It was bad alright. Leicester have confirmed the lad has broken his leg!
    Extratime.ie

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank
    Saw the match last night cos they was nothing else to do. Bobo Balde is a scumbag. He could've broken your man's ankle and you could see that he wasnt going for the ball.
    Balde would not deliberately foul a Rangers player like that, never mind a Leicester player in a friendly. You shouldn't make accusations like that. Haven't seen Balde play like that in a while. He does have those kind of games though. I'm glad this one was in a friendly.

Quote Originally Posted by drinkfeckarse
    Strachans signings so far don't exactly fill me with confidence especially when I hear the 'Tic linked with the likes of Paul Telfer at Southampton but of course I won't pre-judge and will give them every chance.
    Zurawski - Poland's best player. 6 goals in his last 9 caps. Rated highly by every Pole I've read on the internet and has scored against every top team he played against with his club (Shalke, Parma, Real Madrid, Lazio and others I can't think of).

Boruc - No.2 to Dudek at Poland but thats because he was playing in the Polish league. If Scotland had a keeper playing first team football in Serie A and the CL for Inter Milan and another playing for Hibs. I think its guaranteed that the one getting his game for Inter would be the Scotland no.1. Boruc will get it before the World Cup if he can push Marshall out.

Aliadiere - Known to be highly rated by everyone at Arsenal. He even said Henry has become a bit of a ****** fan now that Ali has joined on loan and will watch their games.

Camara - Haven't a clue how highly rated he is but he looked superb against Fulham. He wasn't bad yesterday. Certainly looks to have a lot more potential at ****** left back than anyone else that played there in recent years.

Virgo - Spurs have bought a load of young defenders from the Championship. This lad has just as much potential as any of them. He'll fill in at right back when Agathe is unavailable and will probably be then trying to break in at centre half. Kennedy is back in January too so its not too bad. Still need an organiser in defence. *cough* Dellas.

Nakamura (hopefully) - Probably be the best signing since di Canio if he can settle. The likes of Larsson don't count as they made there name at ******. Nakamura has already ousted Nakata as the star man for Japan.

The 2 defenders (Virgo, Camara) are definitely risks but everyone else are excellent.

I don't see how you could think Rangers have done better this summer.
    Ian Murray from Hibs on a free. Doubt he's any better than Virgo.
    Fanfan on a free for PSG. Don't do research on Rangers signings but will probably be a decent signing.
    Hemdani on a free from Marseille. ****** had Algeria's best player on trial and he failed to get a contract. Hemdani is also Algerian.

Dontcha just love pre-season optimism?

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Quote Originally Posted by Plastic Paddy
    Dontcha just love pre-season optimism?

PP
    I'm not optimistic as long as the Varga-Balde partnership exists. Balde was player of the year when Mjallby was around. He needs an organisor beside him and he's top class. How much for Cunningham?

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by drinkfeckarse
    I have only seen photo's of it in a couple of rags over here. Looks bad alright but definately not in his nature at all. Still, who's to say he did or did not mean it..only he will know for sure.

My fellow workmate who is a season ticket holder at Ibrox watched it and had great delight in telling me how poor Celt!c were.

As I've always said, pre-season games mean nothing at all at the end of the day. So I'm not unduly worried at the moment.
    Sorry to be a pedant, but you should/could slaughter him for watchin as them v Ipswich was free to air one channel above the Celts game the other night and he watched the Celts? Strange, unless of course he was in a pub in Cork packed with Celts...
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

Quote Originally Posted by CLIFFORD
    Sorry to be a pedant, but you should/could slaughter him for watchin as them v Ipswich was free to air one channel above the Celts game the other night and he watched the Celts? Strange, unless of course he was in a pub in Cork packed with Celts...
    I know but his fiance is a ****** season ticket holder as are all her family and they watched it in her folks house!!

Knowing what he'd have to put up with after the last day of the season shambles was the only thing that made it a little more bearable for me

The fact of the matter is he broke the lads leg. The lads the same age as me FFS and now he's going to be out for a long time.
    Extratime.ie

3,501 Posts
    I don't share you enthusiasm Eirebhoy, the players that ****** have lost over the last 2 - 3 seasons have not been replaced, and I still think the loss of McNamara is going to be massive this season. Yes, Strachan has got the finger out and is bringing in players, but how long will it take for them to gel as a team?

Isn't the Algerian lad Rangers brought in the Algeria captain?