Promising Rovers star ordered for deportation

Sunday July 17th 2005

CHARLIE MALLON

EXCLUSIVE

SHAMROCK ROVERS football club, backed by a Fianna Fail TD, has launched a campaign to stop the deportation to Nigeria of one of its most promising footballers, the Sunday Independent can reveal.

Just days after putting together a rescue package for the struggling club, supporters, backed by the players and manager Roddy Collins, are trying to stop Justice Minister Michael McDowell sending midfielder Bernard Daniel back to Nigeria.

The 19-year-old, who played in Rovers' 2-0 defeat by Derry City in the Eircom League on Friday night, had recently finished his Leaving Certificate and had been promised "guaranteed employment" at Rovers.

But the player, known as Benny, has been told to report to the Garda Immigration Bureau on Wednesday.

The deportation decision has angered not only Rovers, but also college authorities, a church pastor, youth organisations and local Fianna Fail TD Charlie O'Connor.

Yesterday Benny was again on the football pitch, playing for Rovers reserves in Bray, and afterwards he told the Sunday Independent that he wished to stay here.

The player said he sought asylum in Ireland after being persecuted in his home country. He said: "I came here because of religious persecution by Muslim extremists in the north of my country. I got out with a fellow called JP who brought me here through France.

"I did not know what the process was and I did not know I was coming here. Now I really don't know what to do. I'm just counting on Mr O'Connor and the other people to help me.

"But I will have to turn up on Wednesday - and I don't know if I will be sent back then or later."

The teenager arrived in Ireland on November 3, 2003, and claimed asylum two days later. Rovers manager Mr Collins has given Benny his full backing in the player's fight to stay in his adopted homeland.

"He played schoolboy here at first and we processed his application and paperwork," Mr Collins said.

"I spotted his potential and played him a few times last year and he has been on the first team or reserves this season.

"He's a great kid. He has just finished his Leaving Cert and he has integrated well with everybody. We call him 'Paddy' because he is one of us and we thought he would get citizenship.

"He is guaranteed employment here. But he rang me in tears on Friday morning and said he was to be deported in five days."

The Rovers boss asked Benny if he wanted to be excused from the team that played Derry City last Friday night, but he wanted to play.

However, the manager decided that in the circumstances, Benny should be on the bench and brought him on for only the closing minutes of the team's 2-0 defeat.

Charlie O'Connor, Fianna Fail TD for Tallaght, said: "The Minister has made an order for his deportation and he is to report on Wednesday to the garda authorities.

"But I would make a special appeal to the Minister to allow him to remain here.

"I met the young lad last night with Roddy Collins and I can say this is a genuine case, a special case. Here is a young lad trying to make a new life for himself.

"I have had lots of calls supporting him and I have made representations to Minister McDowell through his private secretary and I hope to get some word back on Monday."

Mr O'Connor added that those who had given written support for Benny's bid to stay included the entire Shamrock Rovers team, including captain Trevor Molloy, the manager, the youth development officer, Dundrum College, Foroige, Pastor John Ofasan of a local Gospel Mission and the Staircase Hostel where he used to live.

© Irish Independent
    http://www.unison.ie/irish_independent/ & http://www.unison.ie/

Jaysus,things just go from bad to worse for Rovers

Its harsh but they are just enforcing the law. Can't have one law for some & one for others that have publicity behind them.

Irish people are extreme hypocrites as we vote in laws but will do u-turns the first sign of a hard luck story...

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    Its harsh but they are just enforcing the law. Can't have one law for some & one for others that have publicity behind them.

Irish people are extreme hypocrites as we vote in laws but will do u-turns the first sign of a hard luck story...
    I'm sure plenty of promising chefs etc have been deported, his job shouln't change the situation.Maybe Roddys friends in England or louis Copeland could help out

Quote Originally Posted by northside hoop
    You're right, his job shouldn't matter. No immigrants should be deported full stop.
    That would be great

He probably won't go. Remember that kid who was doing his Leaving but got deported before he could do it. The students made a big fuss and he was allowed back and did his Leaving.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

You're right, his job shouldn't matter. No immigrants should be deported full stop.
    And nothing should happen tax dodgers, fraudsters and liars, hold on a minute! Nothing does happen to them, well if they are from the Rovers anyway.

Its like the Referendum that majority of irish voted for but then change their mind when see bleeding heart story in the media.

I'm not saying either side or right but the law is the law.

I think he should be allowed to return home to Nigeria but would be allowed to apply for a work visa & should probably get as has job with Rovers lined up.

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    Its like the Referendum that majority of irish voted for but then change their mind when see bleeding heart story in the media.

I'm not saying either side or right but the law is the law.

I think he should be allowed to return home to Nigeria but would be allowed to apply for a work visa & should probably get as has job with Rovers lined up.
    There is something called Voluntary repatriation which is not the same as being deported as it is open to you to apply for a visa and return to Ireland at a future date.

No immigrants should be deported full stop.
    Yes, that makes total sense

Quote Originally Posted by sligoman
    Yes, that makes total sense
    Indeed it does, taken at face value. WE, Irish people, are still immigrating in vast numbers throughout the World as WE have been doing for hundreds of years, what if we started to get refused entry to America, Australia, Spain, France, England and wherever else we land ourselves? You would start the aul crying then about 'Poor Paddy'.

The yungfla is handy at playing Football, what odds where he is from? It's not like he is stealing a Job, fer gawds sake!!

Mebbe if Nigerians' started opening up Nigerian Pubs with all the Nigerian craic it would be more acceptable? Sure the World would love them then, bring all the Nigerians over, make the Nigerian Pubs as authentic as possible, stroppy Nigerians working for pish money as long as they get a Holiday.
    Last edited by EireBadBoy; 18/07/2005 at 2:10 AM.
    I'd rather die laughing than trying!

Irish people working in the EU or America is totally different to this situation. This man is claiming his life is in danger. He is entitled to claim asylum in the first country he land in. There are no direct flights to Ireland from Nigeria, so he obviously landed in another country first. His claims have been looked into & investigated and the authorities are unable to substantiate his claims. You can’t change the rules because he’s a football player.

Quote Originally Posted by Ringo
    Irish people working in the EU or America is totally different to this situation. This man is claiming his life is in danger. He is entitled to claim asylum in the first country he land in. There are no direct flights to Ireland from Nigeria, so he obviously landed in another country first. His claims have been looked into & investigated and the authorities are unable to substantiate his claims. You can’t change the rules because he’s a football player.
    How is it different? The only difference to the irish situation is the colour of his skin. This government is quite happy to go and argue for green cards for the Irish in the USA whilst at the same time proposing and enforcing racist laws in this country.

I dispair at the attitude of us as a nation to immigrants, considering that the thousands of ecomonic emigrants exported from these shores right up to the 90's.

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    How is it different? The only difference to the irish situation is the colour of his skin. This government is quite happy to go and argue for green cards for the Irish in the USA whilst at the same time proposing and enforcing racist laws in this country.

I dispair at the attitude of us as a nation to immigrants, considering that the thousands of ecomonic emigrants exported from these shores right up to the 90's.
    Oh yes we're all racist What has skin colour got to do with it. Eastern Europeans are being deported too. The laws aren't racist, that’s a ridiculous statement. How are they racist? Why isn’t the UN stepping in? Like any country we’re enforcing sensible laws.

But how is it different from the Irish in America or anywhere else? The only difference is it's "them" coming to live amongst "us".

Quote Originally Posted by Ringo
    Oh yes we're all racist What has skin colour got to do with it. Eastern Europeans are being deported too. The laws aren't racist, that’s a ridiculous statement. How are they racist? Why isn’t the UN stepping in? Like any country we’re enforcing sensible laws.
    Exactly, as soon as anything is said about Nigerians, or Africans in general, it's alway's brought up that your a racist. You cant just dislike them, it has to be cos your a racist

But how is it different from the Irish in America or anywhere else? The only difference is it's "them" coming to live amongst "us".
    It's different because when Irish people went to America, Australia etc. they worked and were willing to work. These people are happy to come over here and get a load of stuff handed to them without even thinking of getting a job

Quote Originally Posted by sligoman
    It's different because when Irish people went to America, Australia etc. they worked and were willing to work. These people are happy to come over here and get a load of stuff handed to them without even thinking of getting a job
    I'm not a racist, but.....

No no dont give me that ****e, I'm not racist, no but. It's the same to any other nation not just the ones where the majority are coloured. Dont try and call me racist cos I'm not .

If you `don't like' an entire nation, you are a racist!