Thread: McCourt to stay?

McCourt to stay?

Shamrock Rovers star Pat McCourt has committed himself to the club for the remainder of the Premier Division season, although he is virtually certain to return across the water during the January transfer window.

McCourt, who has scored seven Premier Division goals this season, had been targeted by a host of clubs across the water, including Scottish Premier League sides Livingston, Motherwell and Dundee and Coca-Cola League One outfit Bristol City.

However, the Northern Ireland under-21 international insists he had to finish the season at Rovers in an attempt to save the Hoops from the drop.

At the mid-point of the season, Rovers are two points adrift at the foot of the table, while financial problems meaning they have had to cut their playing staff in recent weeks – with Paul Caffrey, Brian McGovern, Cathal O’Connor and Keith O’Halloran among those either already departed or set to leave the club.

But McCourt’s decision to stay will be a major boost to the club’s survival hopes, although he is likely to head to either England or Scotland in the New Year.

He told the Irish Daily Mirror: “I couldn’t go now. It wouldn’t feel right. We have a good spirit here and I am enjoying life with the club.

“I’m close to Roddy [Collins] and to the rest of the lads. This was not the right time to leave. In any case, the fact is that I am still young enough to go back across the water. Hopefully the offers will still be there at the end of the season.”
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Taken from elevenaside.com

We'll see about whether he wants to stay if Roddy goes
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

175 Posts
    Of course, without the points deduction, Rovers wouldn't be bottom. The squad is capable of staying up, if they put their minds to it, and get a mini-run going. After this week's write-off game at Cork, the next three against teams around us, Bray, Pats, and Waterford, are the kind of games that will determine whether we beat the drop or not.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

sligo top of the league shams bottom of theres

hes the only player that ye would get decent money 4 so sell him before ye get relegated

As with all relegation struggles its not the games against the league leaders that determine fate but the 6 pointers against fellow relegation candidates.

If Rovers can catch waterford they'll be safe.