I like Seagulls. Nobody calls us anything else?
I don't like it when the media calls them Shams. Maybe they're trying to make people realise the state of the club?It's annoying though.
Right I'm not trolling or trying to wind people up but are there any clubs nick names or phrases that really wind ye up?
I ask, because any time I hear the phrase 'rebel army' I cringe. I dont know why, I just think it sounds naff
Its not as bad when ye hear it at matches but when youre reading the paper or websites and I see it I honestly cringe. Maybe its because I hear Pat Dolans voice saying it in my head or something.
Not sure - anyone else think its cringe worthy or is there any other clubs nickname that gets to ye?
(before anyone starts i know the drogs isnt great either!!).
DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS
I like Seagulls. Nobody calls us anything else?
I don't like it when the media calls them Shams. Maybe they're trying to make people realise the state of the club?It's annoying though.
Extratime.ie
Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.
Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.
Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.
city? the rebels? the leesiders? league leaders?
Your Chairperson,
Gavin
Membership Advisory Board
"Ex Bardus , Vicis"
To be honest ( and i'm sure i'll get slated for this ) i think 'de town' is the most rediculous nickname ever. When people ask what our nickname is and lads actually try to reiterate that it is, in fact, DE town and not THE town when people take it up wrong i want to punch them. A few years ago there used to be references to Longford Lions which I did like as it was a proper name and not a play on our accent.
"I don’t want to tempt fate, but Thierry Henry is not having one of his best nights." - RTE co-commentator Jim Beglin, minutes before TH struck the stunning winner.
Rebel Army is very forced and manufactured. I much prefer 'The College' to 'Students'. Students leads to a lot of cringe worthy headlines in the paper and the lazy hacks love to drag the same ones up over and over again. It also gives people the impression our team are literally just a bunch of students.
any more than "red army" or "green army" or "brian kerrs' green and white army"?Originally Posted by Poor Student
Your Chairperson,
Gavin
"Ex Bardus , Vicis"
The Magic Mons has always made me cringe. I mean, what's magic about us? The only magic thing is the way those cows move huge distances unnoticed. Even if we were the best team in Ireland it is still a crap name.
it must be tough but i have nothing but respect for someone whose willing to support monaghan unitedOriginally Posted by monutdfc
Your Chairperson,
Gavin
"Ex Bardus , Vicis"
I agree Magic Mons is a bit daft, we're just "Town" or "Bit O Blue"
plain and simple, nothing fancy - like our performances in recent reasons![]()
I have to say Ive always refered to Sligo Rovers as Rovers and Shamrock
Rovers as Shams
Larry Be Wyse
www.acsportsimages.com
As the cliche goes, you don't choose your team, it chooses you.Originally Posted by GavinZac
While admittedly the club senior team still struggles, when I see the developments at CHP, the success of the underage teams, the growth of football in a gaa stronghold (not that I have any grudges against the gaa (despite the odd bigot here and there), the hard work so many people put in it makes me proud to be a , eh, Mon. When a former manager now manages Ireland (underage) a former Chairman is now FAI Treasurer (poison chalice that it may be) and a former player has played for the full Irish senior team, that also makes me proud to be a <cough> Mon
Last edited by monutdfc; 15/07/2005 at 1:15 PM.
fair play to ya ash must have been ur fine education up hereOriginally Posted by Ash
Our nickname would obviously be the tribesmen but you don't here many saying it.
www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.
Europe's Big Club.
"Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am
I hate people calling Shamrock Rovers, Rovers. There nickname is Shams, calling them Rovers is just like calling Saint Patricks Athletic, Athletic. There nickname is Pats and Shamrock Rovers nickname is Shams, not thet difficult. I really hate that nickname that is sometimes used for us, 'Da Bit O Red'. Likewise with Athlone, 'Da Bit O Blue', terrible. That Barmy Army chant used by Galway fans sounds really Gay, it brings to the mind an army made up of the village people. It all makes so much sense now.Originally Posted by Ash
Derry's 'The Candystripes' - a bit lame, but harmless enough.
I don't like the way 'City' has recently been assumed by a lot of fans to refer to Cork City. Derry City have been called 'City' since 1985 - back in the days when Cork City had 2 fans and looked like they might go the way of all previous Cork teams. There's only one City in the Prem.....![]()
MonUtdfc - who was the Mons player who played full senior for Ireland ?
Jonathan Douglas was capped against Poland in 2004Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg
"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004
In another thread I suggested Corky Boys - it's snappy, easy to rhyme with and sing to.Originally Posted by GavinZac
Reminds me of the Reggae Boys.
I hate the way Athlone stole our "Bit O' Red" and turned it into the "Bit O' Blue" I think they only started calling them selves this the last few years. It bugs be too when people call Shams "Rovers". We are Rovers![]()
Agreed - I never heard that bit o blue crack until lately -it's The Town period and of course Rovers.Originally Posted by 1 9 2 8
I quite like the nickname "The ****ies"
I actually cant beleived "The C a w k i e s" gets editedI quite like the nickname "The ****ies"