Is there not two rounds?Originally Posted by Darco Ooragnak
I forgot it was RTE.![]()
Originally Posted by Troy.McClure
.....aye did his Collar Bone in after fourteen minutes...was replaced by Grandad out of Only Fools and Horses......or so i`m told........
From RTE..
Advantage Cork with win in Lithuania
Thursday, 14 July 2005 6:33
Cork City's Roy O'Donovan opened the scoring in Lithuania today
Cork City's hopes of progressing to the UEFA Cup proper moved a step closer as they scored a deserved 2-0 preliminary round victory over FK Ekranas Panavezys in Lithuania this afternoon.
The early signs did not look good when 41-year-old goalkeeping coach Phil Harrington had to replace the injured Michael Devine between the posts after 13 minutes.
However, the visitors took the game to their opponents and their positive approach paid dividends with two precious away goals from Roy O'Donovan and George O'Callaghan in either half.
City manager Damien Richardson always stressed that this would be a stern test of City's credentials and their cause was further weakened with striker Neale Fenn ruled out because his partner is expecting a baby.
However, the visitors stuck to their task and, despite losing Devine to a suspected broken collar bone, were always in control and it was no surprise when they took the lead after 25 minutes.
O'Callaghan and Liam Kearney combined superbly to set up O'Donovan, who struck a powerful shot from the right hand side of the penalty area to the roof of the Ekranis net.
That gave City a deserved 1-0 half-time lead, and despite the hosts' best efforts they failed to find an equaliser after the break. And there was further cause for celebration amongst the vocal 150 or so travelling fans when O'Callaghan struck for a second a minute from time.
Kearney was again involved, his ball finding the lively O'Callaghan 15 yards out and the 25-year-old made no mistake with his rifled effort rebounding off the underside of the crossbar and into the net.
The two away goals mean City have to avoid anything more than a 1-0 defeat at Turner's Cross in two weeks' time if they are to advance to the first round proper of the UEFA Cup.
Last edited by Darco Ooragnak; 14/07/2005 at 5:59 PM.
Is there not two rounds?Originally Posted by Darco Ooragnak
I forgot it was RTE.![]()
As far as I know, there are.Originally Posted by jorge
Thought Harrington was older than 41?! He goes back years and years and years and years!
Well done City.
I am delighted for all the lads espically biscuits what a keeper.
Hope Mick recovers quickly that is a big blow.
Excellent result tonight lads!! I got texted the result on my way home and it resulted in a little jig on the top deck of a 46A stuck in traffic!Delighted so I am!
With Longford 1-0 up atm, we could be onto a clean sweep, g'wan de town!![]()
God
I was talking about the other team, the first name on the team sheet was taken off at some stage.Originally Posted by Darco Ooragnak
And biscuits is only 41, and has a full head of hair![]()
As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.
Fair play lads, excellent result! Hopefully that should see ye through to the next round!Are there any plans to show the 2nd leg on RTE or Tv3?
The fight is won or lost far away from witnesses - behind the lines, in the gym, and out there on the road, long before I dance under those lights.
Muhammad Ali
Roy Keane is still a pri*k!
DELIGHTED!
Thanks for the updates, Pete.
I hope this positive buzz around the league continues.
Safe trip home lads.
What they said wasn't incorrect though.Originally Posted by jorge
"I don’t want to tempt fate, but Thierry Henry is not having one of his best nights." - RTE co-commentator Jim Beglin, minutes before TH struck the stunning winner.
Well done lads. Fair play.![]()
Extratime.ie
Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.
Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.
Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.
and a serious lack of a beardOriginally Posted by Troy.McClure
Whatever it was I am sure it was better than my plan to get out of this by pretending to be mad. I mean, who would have noticed another madman around here?
Well done City, super result. What was George's goal like?
have i ever told ye the story of how its my doing that roy signed for city?!![]()
Your Chairperson,
Gavin
Membership Advisory Board
"Ex Bardus , Vicis"
city featuring on the uefa website. second goal scored by john o'callaghan according to demselves...
http://www.uefa.com/competitions/UEF...Id=317037.html
well, i know flynny and george are close but come on
ce sera cera, what ever will be will be, we're going to PSV, ce sera sera![]()
(the final is at Philips Stadion, Eindhoven, home of Philips Sport Voetbal)
Your Chairperson,
Gavin
Membership Advisory Board
"Ex Bardus , Vicis"
It was class. Kearney crossed it to George who stuck in the top of the net after the kepper got a hand to it but it was too powerful for him. Some game!!!! The atmosphere and support was unreal and the plane ride home with the team was electric. We even got to see the highlights of the game on the Lithunain news while waiting in the airport to board the flight.Originally Posted by Ronnie
well done lads on the excellent result!
City played brilliant ,in very hot weather .Im going home from riga in a few hours .Well worth the trip.![]()
I'll accept any donations via paypal for my mobile text bill
Make no mistake this was not a lucky result, there was no backs to the wall defending either. Ekranas i think had 1 shot on target in 90 minutes.
In first half some poor defending decision by Bennet gave Ekranas first effort that hit post & got Devine injured in follow up. I think Bicuits had 2nd shot covered that hit post. City had numerous chances in the 2nd half & ref gave free kicks way too easily for tackles yet only 1 yellow card for Georges when reacted poor refereeing.
Ekranas were ok going forward but their back 3 often exposted for pace so I fully expect city to finish off tie in 2nd leg.
Well I've just arrived home there now...what a trip and what a game!I'm so proud to be a member of the rebel army..The team were great and the support was fantastic..Thanks to the lads for a memorable trip and lets hope the European Dream will continue for another while yet!