When you ignore all all those crap so called newspapers for a week or so you wonder why you even bought them in the first place.Originally Posted by derrymac
Well said.
Well I was ever so polite![]()
As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.
When you ignore all all those crap so called newspapers for a week or so you wonder why you even bought them in the first place.Originally Posted by derrymac
Well said.
....and higher quality journalism on it too - after you've....er...used it, of course. YUK. Sorry PS -couldn't think of a better example.Originally Posted by Poor Student
Originally Posted by Troy.McClure
makes a change![]()
save the sheep shaggers bring back beheadings for waherford
Lads i'm serious about the boycott,Anyone who still buys the paper and feels aggrived should not buy it anymore
Totally agree - the sh*trag is on its last legs anyway - killing it off would be a kindness.Originally Posted by D2 Red
The Sun is the best paper for NL coverage. There are several pages every day about what's going on in the league, have comprehensive previews/match reports and Even Keel's (Dermot Keely) page every Tuesday is great. They were the only Irish paper to send a journalist to Poland to cover Odra-Rovers 2 years ago, and they never slag off the league.![]()
If only everyone else followed their example.....![]()
Originally Posted by mypost
Yeah, but they call us "the Shams" and for that they, their children and their children's children will all burn in hell.![]()
If, as has been suggested, this article is written by a teenager, then I suppose it's sad more than anything else, because it shows that this prejudice is being passed on to another generation.
As for the Herald, it'll be a hard one to crack by means of a boycott. They know, and so do we, that there aren't enough EL supporters who also buy the Herald to make a big difference to their sales. One thing they do really well is kids' soccer. Somehow, they have succeeded in becoming the only place where you can get info -- fixtures, tables etc. -- on this huge sector, at least in Dublin (as I found in answer to a query on schoolboy trials on foot.ie). I know of many people who buy it for that content alone, despite their dislike of the newspaper. Other sources, such as A-Z Football, simply don't provide the comprehensive coverage that the Herald puts on.
It's a strange contradiction: they do the lower levels of domestic football really well, but they are actively hostile to the game at the top level.
BohDiddley: why don't you tell the class your theory about how the journalist is a Rovers fan![]()
Bohs, obsessed, paranoid - who said it?
Well Passive, as you may also have seen in your perhaps obsessive lurking on the Bohs MB, I have withdrawn this outrageously unscientific theory. I have done this on the basis that, a bit like Rovers, it doesn't actually matter.Originally Posted by Passive
I merely opined, before it became apparent that the writer was a kid, that he was probably a down-on-his-luck Hoop. If I were the kind of half-commited EL supporter he depicts himself as, and if my club had been suffering the miseries and humiliations currently suffered by you lot, I'd probably write that kind of nonsense too. But now it seems he is doing it because he thinks it's cool, which, as I say, is just sad.
PS: why don't you post there any more?
PS: why don't you post there any more?[/QUOTE]
Probably because reading gypoweb lowers your IQ. One word: obsession.
Anyway we have been boycotting that rag after the disgraceful article they wrote on us last year. Surprised ye dont remember and are only suggesting a boycott nowThe unfortunate thing is they have no competition in the evening market.
Coughlan is only 19 so he has a good career ahead of him writing for the herag. Years of half truths, fabrication and lies to come.
Originally Posted by BohDiddley
Methinks the lady doth protest too much. It'll be a long cold day in hell before Rovers don't actually matter to Bohs.
BTW - None of us post on gypoweb anymore, it's much funnier to read the ill-informed, deluded and OBSESSED ranting of gypos without any Rovers fans contextualising the nonsense.
No One Likes Us, We Don't Care
The gay icon status was getting too much for me.Originally Posted by BohDiddley
No real surprise to see this sorta rubbish in that rag of a paper. Havent bought it in many a year.
Aidan Coughlan and Gerry McDermott from the Independent are well matched, they both like to take cheap shots at the EL because they perceive it to be a soft target, and it seems to be the fashion to slag the league off in certain sections of the media. As was said earlier, if they can't find anything good to write then they shouldn't write anything at all. Not to worry though, good news is on the horizon! Soon the English Premiership will be back on our tv screens and they will once again be oblivious to the EL (at least until this time next year anyways)!![]()
The fight is won or lost far away from witnesses - behind the lines, in the gym, and out there on the road, long before I dance under those lights.
Muhammad Ali
Roy Keane is still a pri*k!
You only have to look at the interest shown in the 'Rovers donate to charity' story': lead sports story in a paper in Dorset (where the appeal has been launched), not even mentioned in Ireland. Just about sums interest in positive news stories.
Another Rovers boycott. Quelle surprise!Originally Posted by WeAreRovers
Originally Posted by Passive
Big surprise eh Passive? Those hacks couldn't print a positive story - well, I suppose they're consistent.
Given that the Herald is on its last legs maybe a boycott by even 3 or 4 thousand EL supporters might do damage.
Last edited by hamish; 15/07/2005 at 7:19 PM.
Unsurprisingly besides the email that they got my name wrong telling me that I had to pass the buck elsewhere, I still havent got a responce.
Anyone else hear anything back?
As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.