Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Evening Herald a Disgrace(Again)

Ya but he's not going to fire himself is he?
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

Was trying ot think of a comparison -
    if a GAA journalist wrote an article about how he was pining for the Inter-county championship and was so desperaet that he might have to start watching club games, he'd be s**t on by fans telling him where real hurling and football are played.... But Michael O'Muireartaigh or Liam Griffin would never do that, woudl they?

if a rugby journo was pining for the Heineken cup and started whinging about having to watch AIL matches, they'd be laughed out of it by rugby fans...But Gerry Thornley and George Hook etc. probably go to a junior match every week.

For that matter Tracey Piggott watches point-to-points in Doneraile in December and Jimmy Magee watches everything everywhere

In all cases the writers in other sports are real fans of the SPORT, not subscribers to a Sky Marketing package - as someone's tag line has it "press the red button Sky doesn't make you active" - doesn't make you a sports fan either
    Mick D. for Ireland!

Quote Originally Posted by Troy.McClure
    Ya but he's not going to fire himself is he?
    ya but you dont send death threats and explain what my sh1t list is to a newspaper
    save the sheep shaggers bring back beheadings for waherford

Believe it or not Ive got another name I use for letters, cheques, loads of things really

Are those email addresses working for ye? They are bouncing back to me
    they aint delivering buddy
    Eoin Mullen, Bohemians legend!

"You should always take good care of your cat" - Postman Pat, 1991

2005 - a great year for Irish football

Cheers
    Eoin Mullen, Bohemians legend!

"You should always take good care of your cat" - Postman Pat, 1991

2005 - a great year for Irish football

Quote Originally Posted by exile
    ya but you dont send death threats and explain what my sh1t list is to a newspaper
    Unless that list is copyrighted and trademarked I'll be using that list

89 Posts
    My letter

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am writing to express my disappointment at the article by Aidan Coughlan on July 12th. The tone of the article was demeaning and insulting to the legions of fans that are proud to support their local eircom League sides up and down the country.

Mr Coughlan compares the domestic game to the “poor man’s premiership”. Would that be the same Premiership which is the “poor man’s La Liga”? Years of hype and spin by BskyB have convinced the public both here and in the UK that they are somehow watching the greatest league in the world.

Whilst I am perfectly willing to allow Mr Coughlan to continue living in this bubble of oblivion and the comfort of his barstool, the need to damn the domestic game is uncalled for and a cheap shot.

There is a common expression of “If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything”. There are numerous positives regarding the domestic game that I, and indeed Mr Coughlan could outline. Instead however he decides upon a jingoistic point scoring exercise against football in this country.

The next time you hear that Irish people are the best fans in the world, think about the fact that the vast majority of Irish people see no contradiction in supporting foreign teams in foreign lands whilst insulting the domestic product, as Mr Coughlan has. Pass me my leprechaun hat and inflatable hammer and I will be on my way.

Yours in Sport,

Kevin McDaid
    Secretary,
    Derry City Supporters Club,
    Queens University Belfast

P.S Aidan if you are reading, I will be in Dalymount on Friday for Derry City v Shamrock Rovers if you want to sample that “poor man’s premiership”. Indeed I will even buy a ticket and a Crunchie bar.

Like Troy- bouncing back
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Quote Originally Posted by Maribor
    Instead however he decides upon a jingoistic point scoring exercise against football in this country.
    Who's been using the Rico thesauris then?

Go to the link I posted up Maribor

70 Posts

calm down calm down

Lads calm down
    this article is written in the teenage kicks section
    tales from the teenage frontline
    this is only a baby we are talking about
    he obviously doesnt know any better and is probably still chasing his
    first kiss or trying to get his first lay
    he doesnt know that santa,the tooth fairy or superwoman dont exsist
    so leave him in his little world of make believe
    Poor lad will realise what football is all about by the time
    his balls drop or he grows some facial hair

71 Posts
    Jingoistic? In what sense? Is he British?

65 Posts
    Why didnt they run the Rovers story ? a real feel good story
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

89 Posts
    Jingoistic as in the sense that as a "true" irish person these days you have to put down you own league at any opportunity.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Maribor
    Jingoistic as in the sense that as a "true" irish person these days you have to put down you own league at any opportunity.
    Jingoism is all about national chauvinism. I don't think it works in the sense you're trying.

You're saying modern Irish trend is to arse lick the EPL, so he is being a true Irishman by doing so?

89 Posts
    I'll take this to PM when I get the chance

Maribor - pop into the Hut on Friday, I'm pretty sure you're owed a few drinks from Rovers fans after our trip to Derry!

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    Lads lads lads ......... what do you expect from the Herald ?? Haven't ever bought the thing, but I wouldn't even class it as a rag. A rag is of more use.
    BEst of luck to Shels & cork.
    It is a non-entity of a paper. It's a form of cheap instant gratification. There's no news past the first 8 pages of so and even that is pure excrement usually.

To paraphrase Sir Hamish you can get far better bog roll in Lidl for far cheaper.

Angry

I suggest we boycott the Herald if philistines like this knob wrangler are writing about our league!!!
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

I just got a reply back from them (complete with wrong name... 'Connor' my arse) saying that I should write to info@unison.independent.ie

Least you got a reply

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast