Page 1 of 128 1231151101 ... LastLast

Thread: LOI in Europe 2022

637 Posts

LOI in Europe 2022

So the line up is known

Shamrock Rovers into the Champions league with a reasonable chance of seeding in round 1.

St Pats , Sligo and Derry all into the Conference League and as seen this year at least a reasonable chance of progression subject to a decent draw.
    With all 4 clubs likely to be stronger next year than this year we have reason to hope for a good year.

Vital for Rovers to clear the first hurdle as it guarantees 3 shots at Group stages.
    Real night and day stuff.

Seems like a long time from now until next Summer.

3,195 Posts
    Shamrock Rovers U19 champions too I think?

Means a Youth League spot if four clubs qualify for the Champions League proper and win their underage league. So that's fairly good odds

Can anyone tell me how you can mute a topic on this forum! 😭

637 Posts
    Shamrock Rovers U19 champions too I think?

Means a Youth League spot if four clubs qualify for the Champions League proper and win their underage league. So that's fairly good odds
    Yes Rovers won the 19's but i dint put them in as i don't know if they will make it or not...hopefully its a great opportunity

870 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Yossarian View Post
    Can anyone tell me how you can mute a topic on this forum! 
    It's League of Ireland, I wouldnt rule out some crazy happenings that land Dundalk European qualification yet lol. And we'll still be the highest ranked Irish side, roll on Europe 2023. All the money saved with no weekly trips around the continent in July and August, games in hand, able to rest a small squad, batter teams after their travlels - its not all bad.......

326 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    It's League of Ireland, I wouldnt rule out some crazy happenings that land Dundalk European qualification yet lol. And we'll still be the highest ranked Irish side, roll on Europe 2023. All the money saved with no weekly trips around the continent in July and August, games in hand, able to rest a small squad, batter teams after their travlels - its not all bad.......
    There’s putting a positive spin on things and well….

870 Posts
    With Bohs missing out also next season we can wallow in self pity together when the draws are on next July!

326 Posts
    With Bohs missing out also next season we can wallow in self pity together when the draws are on next July!
    We can sit back with some beers and relax. Safe in the knowledge that we will feel no pain whatsoever when one of the sides crashes out when they should have maybe gone through.

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Yossarian View Post
    Can anyone tell me how you can mute a topic on this forum! ��
    Ah, ye had a good run in fairness !
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

870 Posts
    Can be no harm to get a shake and waken up, stop people taking things for granted. DFC have had extended year on year runs in Europe before and certainly the latter end of the 80's some big draws attracted disappointing crowds and i think because in and around that 10 years you had gates of approx 18k x2 (and 1 riot) and in no particular order Celtic, Spurs, PSV, Porto, Ajax, Red Star, Hadjuk, Liverpool were drawn. Times and competitions have changed now but if ye were getting a bit 'meh' over Ajax visiting Oriel a kick in the aras was in order.
    Last edited by Nesta99; 01/12/2021 at 2:02 PM.

622 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ger121 View Post
    We can sit back with some beers and relax. Safe in the knowledge that we will feel no pain whatsoever when one of the sides crashes out when they should have maybe gone through.
    You should have just said Sligo, Ger. Let's face it, that's what will happen.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

48 Posts
    I know this topic about Sheriff was brought up last season but here's an interesting video about them from a vlogger from the UK ( he's actually got some good content on his YouTube channel not all connected to football).

https://youtu.be/_uyPelHs0A4

326 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post
    You should have just said Sligo, Ger. Let's face it, that's what will happen.
    I was just trying to be polite.

386 Posts
    We’re just happy to be there

870 Posts
    Maybe thats where Sligo have gone wrong - happy to be there but forget about the football match!?

637 Posts
    So Rovers are seeded for the first round of the Champions league and Pats get to start in the second round of the Conference League.
    Derry and Sligo in first round of Conference League

The Draw for the first round Champions league is 14th June with ties played on the 5th/6th July and 12th/13th July
    The draw for the 2nd round is the 15th June with the ties played 19/20 July and 26/27th July so you get to see your potential opponents in second round before you play the first round.

The Draw date for the first round of the Conference League is the 14th June with games played on the 7th / 14th July
    The draw for the second round which will be for Derry and Sligo if they win their first round matches plus Pats who start here is the 15th June with ties played 21st July / 28th July.

19. Thanks From:

39 Posts
    I just seen that the Russian clubs have appealed their exclusion. Wouldn't expect it to be successful at this stage but hard to take anything for granted in football politics.

Will be keeping an eye on the conclusion to the Slovenian league to confirm if Rovers are going to be seeded.

870 Posts
    It'll be interesting to see what happens with Ukraine teams also. There wont be winners etc awarded so will their FA just nominate UEFA qualifiers, probably based on the table when the league was suspended, or will they withdraw. Games would hardly be played at home even if qualifiers are not in the immediate conflict areas. Not particularly important in the bigger scheme of things, but could have a knock on effect for rankings elsewhere too, and could just be messy to organise, with clubs releasing payers, no game game time etc.

408 Posts
    It'll be interesting to see what happens with Ukraine teams also. There wont be winners etc awarded so will their FA just nominate UEFA qualifiers, probably based on the table when the league was suspended, or will they withdraw. Games would hardly be played at home even if qualifiers are not in the immediate conflict areas. Not particularly important in the bigger scheme of things, but could have a knock on effect for rankings elsewhere too, and could just be messy to organise, with clubs releasing payers, no game game time etc.
    I wonder if the lads who won Eurovision for them can play a bit of ball ?

23. Thanks From:

637 Posts
    Koper in the Slovenian league imploded losing 3-1 at home yesterday and have probably blown the league thus Linfield wont be seeded. 1 match remaining and they are two points behind.
    Before the Russians were fecked out Rovers were depending on Koper. I cant see the Russians being let back in by the 14th of June when the draw is made but anything is possible.

Page 1 of 128 1231151101 ... LastLast