Thread: LOI in Europe 2022

446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    Tickets for tommorows match finaly on general Sale for anyone who wants one
    How close is it to a sell out ? I went to the Ferencvaros game, but can't do the next few unfortunately.

697 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EatYerGreens View Post
    How close is it to a sell out ? I went to the Ferencvaros game, but can't do the next few unfortunately.
    I dont know but it sold out for Ferencvaros so id assume it will sell out for this one.

That Georgian fella at Napoli went for about 10mil from dinamo batumi. Hardly a top European club but still getting well compensated

410 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    That Georgian fella at Napoli went for about 10mil from dinamo batumi. Hardly a top European club but still getting well compensated
    Circumstances were more than a bit unusual though Paul.

All the same we will get there. Ferizaj will break a record I think. More will follow in the next 5 years and we will start seeing 1m+ on a reasonably regular basis as academies get better and contracts get more secure.

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ontheotherhand View Post

All the same we will get there. Ferizaj will break a record I think. More will follow in the next 5 years and we will start seeing 1m+ on a reasonably regular basis as academies get better and contracts get more secure.
    I'd say that's wildly optimistic and we're probably 5-10 years away from any player going for €1m in Ireland, never mind it becoming reasonably regular. If we can manage to get transfers regularly near €500k and above, then that will be a good start.

446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    I'd say that's wildly optimistic and we're probably 5-10 years away from any player going for €1m in Ireland, never mind it becoming reasonably regular. If we can manage to get transfers regularly near €500k and above, then that will be a good start.
    With current inflation rates we're probably only 5-10 months away from a player going for €1m in Ireland

3,491 Posts
    I'd agree with that. How the recent transfers fare will have a big bearing on that. If most of them end up being average to decent League 1 players, then we won't be seeing a million quid any time soon. But particularly if they can get sold on, then we could start justifying more fees here.

697 Posts
    The problem we have is we need a LOI player to go over to England and light the place up, that will up the rates big time.
    Gavin Bazunu is the only player recently to go over that you coujld say is an unqualified success , we need more to make them rate our league and pay bigger money

446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    The problem we have is we need a LOI player to go over to England and light the place up, that will up the rates big time.
    Gavin Bazunu is the only player recently to go over that you coujld say is an unqualified success , we need more to make them rate our league and pay bigger money
    I don't think a few marquee players is realistically the way to increase values of all our players. Buying cliubs will always seek to pay as little as they can get away with.

In reality - for as long as there is very little money in the Irish game, external clubs will know that £150,000 is a big deal to us. And they also know that Irish players are desperate to get away and play at bigger clubs with much better pay and facilities. So unless and until there is more money in our league (and ideally better facilities) so our clubs can pay better wages and can afford to turn their noses up at sums below £200,000, then we'll continue to get treated as paupers. Because that's really what we are in the grand footballing scheme of things.

Was reading somewhere that Djugardens( i really want to spell that differently) have scored 9 goals from set pieces in their last few games and conceded 0. Set pieces is always a worry for Irish sides defensively I think and rovers have been good enough at getting something from them. I assume bradley will have studied/worked on this and will wait until the return leg to sort it out...oh wait : P

Ya thats true, one clubs misfortune is anothers opportunity. But what struck me was how Napoli were made aware, I guess the scouts might have been tracking him at previous clubs.

Good article here, there was discussions 10 years ago on here asking why LOI sides didnt have scouts in South AMerica and the likes: https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soc...erence-league/

Reminds me of the Irish mothers taking in young Irish lads in North london a generation or so ago.

Quote Originally Posted by EatYerGreens View Post
    I don't think a few marquee players is realistically the way to increase values of all our players. Buying cliubs will always seek to pay as little as they can get away with.

In reality - for as long as there is very little money in the Irish game, external clubs will know that £150,000 is a big deal to us. And they also know that Irish players are desperate to get away and play at bigger clubs with much better pay and facilities. So unless and until there is more money in our league (and ideally better facilities) so our clubs can pay better wages and can afford to turn their noses up at sums below £200,000, then we'll continue to get treated as paupers. Because that's really what we are in the grand footballing scheme of things.
    I think this is probably more accurate, it'll be one offs more than anything or clauses in contracts that Rovers are able to negotiate now due to their setup and past success. Big one off fees wont be common, but if clauses built in then a constant cashflow over 3-4 years for a few players will make a big difference. Plus dont have to worry about bad financial management if its not one big fee up front. The other side of that point is Irish agents are happy to work for their british employers or pay-masters and raid the LOI happily. What you need is more UK Based IRish agents who come from a LOI background.

410 Posts
    Im only really speaking for Rovers I suppose Nigel although pats are banging on the door as well. We've already had multiple sales at or over the 500k mark in Bazunu and Scales. Only a matter of time before it goes to 750k and then 1m particularly as we can show more development time invested. That's the key. First step is obviously keeping this lads until they are 18 or so but being able to show clubs how much coaching has gone in to them is what gets you the bigger fees. Tight contracts of course are essential but you get those when you have the facilities available to make players want to commit. I could see our current u15s resulting in more than one record breaker. We can revisit this one in 5 years or so.

410 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Ya thats true, one clubs misfortune is anothers opportunity. But what struck me was how Napoli were made aware, I guess the scouts might have been tracking him at previous clubs.

Good article here, there was discussions 10 years ago on here asking why LOI sides didnt have scouts in South AMerica and the likes: https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soc...erence-league/

Reminds me of the Irish mothers taking in young Irish lads in North london a generation or so ago.
    Sounds like he was well known, if not to me! Fair play to batumi for getting in there. That's a lot of money.

https://www.theguardian.com/football...world-football

Two georgians on that list! Makes sense why we struggled. There was a georgian lad at Athlone, told me once it was his dream* to play for Shamrock Rovers.

*I might have misunderstood that at the time of hearing. He is back in Georgia now playing football anyway.

19. Thanks From:

246 Posts
    Im only really speaking for Rovers I suppose Nigel although pats are banging on the door as well. We've already had multiple sales at or over the 500k mark in Bazunu and Scales. Only a matter of time before it goes to 750k and then 1m particularly as we can show more development time invested. That's the key. First step is obviously keeping this lads until they are 18 or so but being able to show clubs how much coaching has gone in to them is what gets you the bigger fees. Tight contracts of course are essential but you get those when you have the facilities available to make players want to commit. I could see our current u15s resulting in more than one record breaker. We can revisit this one in 5 years or so.
    It will be down to market forces, like everything else ultimately. If there are various clubs interested in a player, then we could see a bidding war type situation. For Pats, I would expect to see Sam Curtis going for decent money. It’s not often you see a player his age break into the first team on a regular basis. I like the look of what I’ve seen of Adam Murphy too, though admittedly that’s not much, with his season being blighted by injury. If clubs here can manage to offer better and longer contracts then they will obviously have a stronger hand in transfer negotiations too.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

105 Posts
    Sounds like he was well known, if not to me! Fair play to batumi for getting in there. That's a lot of money.

https://www.theguardian.com/football...world-football
    It’s worth noting that Kvaratskhelia left Georgia when he was 18, he only came back recently because of the Russia Ukraine war like many players from other countries did. Under normal circumstances you wouldn’t see a deal like this happen in Georgia.

3,491 Posts
    It'd be a heck of a lot for a Russian club too I'd have thought?

446 Posts
    What channel is tonight's game on ?

430 Posts
    Virgin media 3
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.