Page 54 of 128 FirstFirst ... 444525354555664104 ... LastLast
Results 1,061 to 1,080 of 2559

Thread: LOI in Europe 2022

3,215 Posts
    Up to joint 40th so (with the usual caveat that this doesn't matter as much as it used to)

Malta the only other league below Romania in 27th with three clubs left.

But the third round is obviously going to be a lot harder to get a result in, and with the champions getting so many safety nets and smaller countries getting into the groups, there's a ways to go yet this season

SPL heads already moaning about being knocked out by a "pub league" team!

184 Posts
    Let them moan and name-call all they like...

116 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SPXcyan View Post
    Up to 38th in the rankings now after tonight's results, this is turning into a grand ol' European run for our teams this year, pity Derry weren't up to it.
    In hindsight what most Derry fans thought was maybe a 50/50 draw now looks a stinker of a draw with Riga progressing through this round against Slovakian opposition at a canter as well. I don’t think we ever had much of a chance.

However it is not about us - two fantastic results this evening following up from a very good one leg result for Rovers the other night.

To me Pat’s the most impressive of the lot but congrats to all, and hopefully we can turn a very decent year into a cracking one.

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    The only one to emerge from that was the keeper Anang. Pats had an extra man for about 50 mins(?) but looked lethargic.
    Barry Cotters peno was waddle-esque.
    3 teams playing in Europe in August.
    F*** the begrudgers.
    Funny, you sounded a bit like one yourself there for a minute.

Delighted with that. Yeah, we got the breaks, but so what ? Plenty of times the boot has been on the other foot.

Don’t agree that Anyang was the only one to emerge with any credit either. Pats back three were great, Adam O’Reilly brilliant in midfield, and Forrestor with some pieces of class too. We did tire badly though, possibly due to the heat, but we had a lot of possession and were generally very good on the ball, which is great to see from an Irish team.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

116 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by culloty82 View Post
    SPL heads already moaning about being knocked out by a "pub league" team!
    Scottish press took this attitude as well, very pretentious, including the Premier Sports commentators I thought constantly referring to how big a result it was for Sligo, as if it was Leciester winning the Premier League.

Motherwell needed penalties to beat Coleraine the year before last ffs - it was a super result for Sligo but not a massive shock.

53 Posts
    All 3 home games in the next round in Tallaght? What are the other grounds in the league that are able to host at this stage?

184 Posts
    Just saw a stat that LOI teams have won the last 3 ties against spl opposition 😂

3,215 Posts
    Not true - Gretna were newly promoted to the second tier

21 Posts
    40th in the coefficients and the two countries directly ahead of us only have one team(each) left in competition. Never counting chickens at this level, but statistically there is a great chance to move up another couple of places

65 Posts
    Great results tonight! Watched the Sligo one, what a show and stellar atmosphere.

Wiki Europa Conference League 2021/22 Prizemoney.
    First qualifying round elimination: €150,000
    Second qualifying round elimination: €350,000
    Third qualifying round elimination: €550,000
    Play-off round elimination: €750,000
    Qualified to Group Stage: €2,950,000

Looks like 200k per round progressed, are these numbers out of date? Heard different figures branded about everywhere about earnings.

184 Posts
    Not true - Gretna were newly promoted to the second tier
    Your facts aren't welcome here Stu. Let me have my fun just for one night.

172 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TonyD View Post
    Funny, you sounded a bit like one yourself there for a minute.

Delighted with that. Yeah, we got the breaks, but so what ? Plenty of times the boot has been on the other foot.

Don’t agree that Anyang was the only one to emerge with any credit either. Pats back three were great, Adam O’Reilly brilliant in midfield, and Forrestor with some pieces of class too. We did tire badly though, possibly due to the heat, but we had a lot of possession and were generally very good on the ball, which is great to see from an Irish team.
    Nah I'm delighted for youse, honest.
    Only saw from the he 2nd half onwards but felt that whilst Pat's passed it around nicely there wasn't an emphasis on pushing forward, especially after they were reduced to 10 men. Cotters peno aside the other ones taken were professional and calm so fully deserved to go through. The young fellah ataki(?) looks to have a bit about him. O'Reilly has potential but once or twice overplayed it a hit and almost landed youse in trouble. Enjoy Norway next week anyway.
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

3,215 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Philosophizer View Post
    Your facts aren't welcome here Stu. Let me have my fun just for one night.
    You can still have your fun by digging up the SuperGretna thread

271 Posts
    To say that was sweet is an understatement.

346 Posts
    Are we looking at the possibility of all 3 teams having to play their next round in Tallaght?
    I know Sligo would have to put a temporary stand in to host the next round but not sure if it’s feasible…
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

39 Posts
    Delighted there's still so many games still left to look forward to.

Things were looking fairly bleak just a couple weeks ago. Both Pat's and Sligo are in bonus territory now. Like last year it's great to see Irish sides get so far but unless Shamrock Rovers so and qualify for the Group stages it's going to be a disappointing year.

Losing the run of ourselves with the recent great results but would be huge to have multiple teams competing in a playoff for group stage football.

Anyone seen geysir?

408 Posts
    I don't buy that. No business can make progress by naval gazing at itself. External benchmarking is key for a sense of perspective. Yes, there'll be some freak results like Sheriff changing their entire squad in the space of 12 months, but over the last five years of the coefficients, that'll balance itself out, and other teams will face similar teams.

Flora reached the groups by beating Hibs of Malta and Rovers. That's all. They lost two other matches. They picked up some results in the groups, sure - but we can't be making excuses for losing badly to a team from a country with a population a quarter of ours and league attendances about a fifth of the LoI's. Instead of making excuses about losing to them, or saying "If the LoI had achieved those results...", we should be aiming towards regular results like that, or better. And by and large, we're not getting them.
    Willing to reopen this one now stu.....
    21 leagues and 25 cups.

105 Posts
    Congrats to Sligo as well.

Up the minnows.