Thread: Limerick in CRISIS?

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap
    I understand fully the concerns of some supporters, and sympathise with them, but(theres always a but) as I said earlier, decisions about on field matters are for the club management only. I don't think you'll find anyone being sold, and you might be pleasantly surprised at the odd new face appearing in blue very soon.These are issues for club management, and no supporter in the world is entitled to a say in how teams should or should not be picked.

Criticise away, just lets be objective and constructive about it. Management in all walks of life have to make decisions that they live or die by, and it would be a huge sign of weakness if a manager succumbed to what others want if he feels his way is better.

4th place at half way was beyond all of our expecttions at the start of the season. Why not celebrate the progress??
    On the contrary Joe, supporters are entitled to a say in any matter of the club thet support, it may be heard, it may not, but they are still allowed to voice their opinions, something the present chairman and pr man (and I use that term very loosely) have a hard time understanding. Secondly neither you or Chairman Willie have denied that Carthy and Young are being pushed out of the club, and as of this post both have reportedly moved on. This comes despite Danny Drew telling yesterdays Irish Mirror that Limerick have 'no intention of selling one of our best players in Darren Young. Well riddle me this Batman, if Young is one of our best players then why is he turning out fr the u21s? We're crying out for a player with his skill and yet he isn't given a run out? Can we at least have a plausible explaination to that? This is something any manager at any club, be it Alex Ferguson or Rafa Benitez have to do when they continue to use a baffling selection policy. And if Limerick aren't a club that sell their best players then how come we're showing out top striker the door? Far be it for me to rely on or further rumours ( ) but those this have anything to do with Noel's apparant lack of man management?

You see until either you or Chairman Willie present us with the facts about why certain players are being allowed to leave, why our top striker was being played in midfield to accomodate a misfiring waste of space, why Noel was signed up to a five year deal, why Young was never given a run out, why we haven't signed a capable replacement for Jimmy Fyffe and other questions than we will continue to speculate and 'whing' as LFC In Exile so middle of the fencedly put it (yeah I said fencedly)

Let's not allow JoeSoap and WillieJohn (don't you have a business to run Danny?) to totally distract the issue there.

I'm still waiting for somebody to explain the rationale of selling our top scorer.
    Personally I'm disappointed to hear that WillieJohn still thinks Noel O'Connor is doing a great job because if nothing needs to be changed on the basis of our last two games then I think we're in big trouble.

Our top scorer (who's spent most of the season either on the bench or marooned out of postition in midfield) is being forced to leave the club and nobody else thinks that's a sign of poor management within the club?

I think it's Noel O'Connor's job to pick the team. Yeah no argument from me there. I think it's my job to scream bloody murder when the likes of McCarthy and Young are pushed towards the door.

I even appreciate the 'Stand By Your Man' rendition that JoeSoap and WillieJohn are seemingly dueting on (at least they're singing from the same hymn sheet though ). Loyalty and all that. Something that Derek McCarthy in particular probably understands the value of right now. He doesn't want to go, isn't happy about having to go, feels he's being screwed over.

Apparently he's only going on loan initially until the end of the season. Personally I'm going to wish him all the best with Waterford. Him and Jimmy Fyffe both.

Well Said SLK. I could not agree more

JohnD
    "How Can you lie there and think of England when you don't even know who's in the team"-- B.Bragg

Agree with SLK. Carthy should not be allowed to leave.

I may be sitting on the fence (though that suggests I don't have opinions and I do and I'm not afraid to express them - even when they are not popular - read the fanzine) but maybe it is because the issues here are not black and white.

The only way we are entitled to influence team selection/transfers is indirectly. We can express out opinions vociferously but we do not make the decisions. We can demand answers but at the end of all the white noise NOC picks the team.

What I suggest is a banner for Friday night with 'Carthy Must Stay" or "We love Carthy" on it to get our feelings across. But if the club want to sell him, they will.

Jebus, supporters are entitled to a say - but their 'say' does not have to be listened to. And, as an aside - Mooney is a more than capable replacement for Fyffe.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile
    Jebus, supporters are entitled to a say - but their 'say' does not have to be listened to.
    You're right there, but when a fan is paying his hard earned money to watch a team he'll feel perfectly entitled to a moan or a gripe, which is perfectly understandable. Mind you if those tenners start dissappearing we'll see how good a job Mr Drew thinks NOC is doing. Don't underestimate fan pressure.

McCarthy will be a massive loss no matter what way we look at it he
    needs to stay,also we are forgeting the other player that is supposed to be on the verge of walking away if he is as important a player as we are being
    told where does that leave us,wonder if the other player is cp now that would
    be a great relief ,i would bring a banner on friday wishing him a bit of luck...

Quote Originally Posted by willie john
    are u a supporter or a szit stirer? everbody can do a better job then noc i dont fncking think so not even half way trough the season 25 points 24 goals whats the problem if ye want to support the team do that let noc do his job we can and will finish in a very impressive pis this season as for players leaving thats noc choice he is the MANAGER and doing a fine job .as for money coming first look around the leauge any romours about limerick ans NO why it is being run right . bulling in dressing room b.lls it some of u should have seen kinger and big sam noc is a mouse in comparison .so let the boys do there JOB and lets see fridays result and whos new in
    Lets look at this in it's simplist form.
    Ambitious Limerick FC who have improved the facilities at the club massively compared to the farce last season are selling one of their best and most dedicated players. From a purely football point of view this makes no sense. Financially? Well how much money will the club make from this? You talk about 24 goals this season. 5 of them were scored by Derek, OUT OF POSITION.
    It's very easy to say that when the Lims loose a few we all go weak at the knees and gripe and moan etc, etc. However these are not normal circumstances:when you have a situation where player morale is low even though we are in fourth place and challenging, when the club is loosing it's best players, when persisting rumours of favouritism and interference are being backed up, then every supporter has the right to be concerned.
    We all want to see LimerickFC in the Premier, Hogan Park a ground to be proud of and the club a financially sound well run club. If this is to be achieved then surely selling your best players WHEN THEY DONT WANT TO LEAVE is simply counter-productive to the aims we all back 100%.

lads have only read the first few postings and then stopped why? because i have to ask how can 'thelimerick' a new signing who hasn't posted b4 suddenly come up with this exclusive.Why hasn't he posted b4 when he seems to have the inside track.Don't believe all you read on these forums,as a cork city supporter i feel that there are a number of so called city supporters posting messages to undermine what goes on at the club their agendas i'm not 100% sure who they are i can only guess.So he/she might be right in what they say but be patient and see how it all pans out b4 getting overly worried and jumping to conclusions,hopefully it will all work out with limerick getting promoted and another munster derby to look forward to

Willie John: You're a f@cking joke. Your decisions to date have been wrong. If you are wrong you will be criticised. If you don't like that don't look at the internet.

You seemed well able to f@ck people out of it when they tried to get people supporting at the away Galway game, but you can't take constructive criticism. Moronic doesn't even describe it.

It comes down to this: The fans care about the team (players and performance) - you care about the club (money).

I won't post details up here, but if your phone call earlier in the day to a certain poster here is followed up I for one will go to every paper in the country and let them know about the invasion of privacy you are attempting to perpetrate on Limerick fans.

You know that you have shown yourself to be a small person. Any SC member wanting to know details can contact me if you haven't already been informed. You won't believe what he wanted to do.
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."
    - John Purcell (Limerick FC Commercial Manager), February 2004

Smile

why don't we all borrow joe soaps blinkers and pretend to be happy with what we've got

Quote Originally Posted by lim abroad
    why don't we all borrow joe soaps blinkers and pretend to be happy with what we've got
    Cos I'm not lending them to anybody else!!

Well then can you tell us where we can get our own? Maybe they should start selling them in the club shop!

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi
    Who's this guy?
    Darren Young. A New Zealand international played with Barnsley last season. Left sided midfielder and all round decent player, however he might lack a bit of match practise due to the near facist regime he has found himself under this season.

Pawning Carthy off to Waaaaaaaaaaaaaterford is an absolute disgrace and I can think of no other reason than that he did'nt comply fully with Noel's dictatorship.

Also to anyone who says 4th position is way above pre season expectations just what exactly have you been watching all season? The standard in this division is absolutely pi$$ poor and anyone who doesn't see that is either A seriously deluded or B does'nt know a hell of a lot about football

Anyway once again it appears that a promising Limerick F.C. side is being severely hamstrung by off the field issues which have little to do with football. Jesus tap dancing Christ can we not just have a normal happy club for one season

Quote Originally Posted by Lim till i die
    Also to anyone who says 4th position is way above pre season expectations just what exactly have you been watching all season? The standard in this division is absolutely pi$$ poor and anyone who doesn't see that is either A seriously deluded or B does'nt know a hell of a lot about football
    Is it worse than last year?
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile
    Is it worse than last year?
    Didn't see as much football last year but I would have to say Yes. Three pretty good sides went up to be replaced by Dublin "we're all 6 foot 4 and 18 stone" city. The very fact that Sligo "one tactic" Rovers are walking the division by hoofing the ball to their wingers says it all about the standard in this division. Also I think we had a slightly more promising squad at the start of this season

Anyway, how does comparing this season to last make the standard any less poor

71 Posts
    Is it a credible rumour this lad is on his way to the college? We could do with a left sided player.

Quote Originally Posted by Lim till i die
    Anyway, how does comparing this season to last make the standard any less poor
    If you make comparisons with the standard of last seasons football compared to this seasons, then you can judge how much progress has been made on the pitch since last season.

I'd say 4th spot at the moment is significant from a progress point of view, compared to bottom last season, but then again, we're not on top, unbeaten, having not conceded any goals, and allowing the opposition to touch the ball, so therefore maybe we're not progressing as well as it seems.

So Derek McCarthy has left the club and is going to Waterford Utd on a season long loan. We wish him all the best and i'm sure he has the support of EVERY Lims fan. The supporters are not happy and understandably so.
    Danny Drew/Willie John must be finding it difficult to walk at the moment considering how many times he's shot himself in the foot this season. The soap opera that surrounds this club just gets more bizarre by the second. It wouldn't surprise me to see Alastair Campbell turning up at Drews desk with a few much needed helpfull hints.
    The situation as it stands is not helpfull to anybody. Trust between management/chairman and supporters has been damaged. This is not healthy for the club and its ambitions. Maybe a public meeting between supporters and the chairman is needed to get all of this out in the open and deal with it.

I'd say 4th spot at the moment is significant from a progress point of view, compared to bottom last season, but then again, we're not on top, unbeaten, having not conceded any goals, and allowing the opposition to touch the ball, so therefore maybe we're not progressing as well as it seems.
    Exactly Joe your finally starting to relate to fans grievances

So NOC has finally go his way and forced Derek McCarthy out of the club. It finally proves what some people have been thinking for years, Noel O Connor has a problem with him that he should seriously consider getting professional help for.

The facts speak for themselves and will tell you who has the problem with who. At no stage in the season did McCarthy thrown the toys out of the pram
    even though he was dropped, put into midfiled to accomadate another player up front,dropped again before finally being forced out of the club by him.

The way NOC has conducted himslef during the affair proves to anyone who had any doubt what kind of ‘man' he is.

A man will call you and tell you why he is getting rid of you.
    A man will arrrange a meeting to go over the issues, not wait for the player to ring him after 3 days without a word.
    A man will will not his chairman do his dirty work for him.
    A man will not accuse a player of faking a back injury to anyone who will listen, that could have ended his career.

In my mind to do this to a player that has played with Limerick since he was 16. Has won an Ireland final medal (scoring 2 goals in the final). Was proud to give 5 years of his career to his home club and to be treated in this way is shameful.

Noel O Conner is an absolute DISGRACE for behaving in this way and should be made accountable for his behaviour.

Limerick fans deserve to know what has been going on because Noel O Connor sure has hell would love for everyone to be kept in the dark.

I for one will be letting Noel O' Connor know I think of his behaviour on Friday on Friday night and i suggest every other like minded Limerick fan to do so aswell.

Limerick will still be here after Noel O Connor. We survived before him,we'll survive after him.
    “I’d always play Pirlo but Trapatoni says his first concern is to avoid losing goals. The truth is that we didn’t know what we were doing out there" Gennaro Gattuso, June 2004.