Page 12 of 15 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 ... LastLast

Thread: 2022 Nations League - Group B1

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    848 Posts
    This group is definitely going to be a great test of where we actually are.

126 Posts
    Excuses if we win?

I couldn't care less if we took two 1-0"s with deflections off Andy Robertson and Zinchenkos are. Ill be delighted ☺

3,315 Posts
    I see we've reached the "paul_oshea starts posting again" stage of the international window

74 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    I see we've reached the "paul_oshea starts posting again" stage of the international window
    pre-season for the LOI teams in Europe posting
    Havin a weekend away is quite frankly,lettin ur team mates down!

1,914 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    And what excuse will you have? Ah sur look we started with a load of young lads, ah sur look at the stats we had loads of possession, ah sure on another day that one off the crossbar, ah sure look Kenny's had a very difficult time of it with squads first time he's only had a full bill of health so needs time, ah sure didn't the new lad show well(new lad not heard of again in 3 years, ah sur those lines werr crooked but there was just enough hair on yer man's legs

So if Ireland win you are stating here loud and clear that you will not attempt to reduce the significance of the result with references to what can only be termed as gobshítery?

3,315 Posts
    Scotland and Armenia kicking off at 5
    line ups here: https://www.uefa.com/uefanationsleag...a-vs-scotland/

482 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Scotland and Armenia kicking off at 5
    line ups here: https://www.uefa.com/uefanationsleag...a-vs-scotland/
    Who are we cheering for?

755 Posts
    Probably a draw. A Scotland win makes it hard for us to finish in the top 2. An Armenia win puts us in real danger of finishing last in the group.

3,231 Posts
    Probably fair alright.

You have to imagine we can beat Armenia at home - in that case, a draw gives us best chance of a Euro playoff spot.

If we can't beat Armenia at home, then we deserve feck all anyway.

3,231 Posts
    1-0 Armenia...

So was our defeat out there not so bad after all, or was our win on Saturday over-rated?

(I think an Armenia win is the worst possible result)

3,231 Posts
    Scotland equalise.

Happy for it to finish now.

348 Posts
    Armenia red card…..
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

126 Posts
    yeah 1-1 draw would be best for us

348 Posts
    2-1 Scotland,they might score a few here now…

126 Posts
    look, if Scotland win, they move to 6... us and Armenia on 3

Even if we lose tonight, if we beat Armenia in Sept it keeps us safe in the B path, and gives us a 3rd seed draw for the Euros.. which was all we were going to get anyway because unless we get an unlikely win tonight, Ukraine will have wrapped up.

Staying in B is the absolute minimum goal here

348 Posts
    Armenia might ship 6 or 7 here!

431 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joey B View Post
    Armenia red card…..
    Idiot should have been banned anyway for throwing a water bottle at the linesman in the previous game against Scotland.

755 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Insidetherock View Post
    look, if Scotland win, they move to 6... us and Armenia on 3

Even if we lose tonight, if we beat Armenia in Sept it keeps us safe in the B path, and gives us a 3rd seed draw for the Euros.. which was all we were going to get anyway because unless we get an unlikely win tonight, Ukraine will have wrapped up.

Staying in B is the absolute minimum goal here
    A point at home to Armenia may well end up being enough to finish third and stay in B, because it's hard to see Armenia getting anything off Ukraine in their other game and their goal difference is terrible.

But third is a poor outcome because it puts us at risk of not getting a playoff place for the Euros, which is the main prize here. Puts a lot of pressure on finishing in the top two in the qualification group.
    Last edited by Eirambler; 14/06/2022 at 5:26 PM.

3,231 Posts
    It's head-to-head that's the first tiebreak - if we end up on four points each by drawing that final match, we're last.

755 Posts
    It's head-to-head that's the first tiebreak - if we end up on four points each by drawing that final match, we're last.
    Ah, thought it was goal difference. Yes, need to beat them then, or else get a point somewhere else and draw with Armenia.

But really, we should have been aiming much higher than this in any case.

Page 12 of 15 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 ... LastLast