Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Uefa Cup

71 Posts
    I know but anyone know how they're performing?

Well done lads, good result!
    The fight is won or lost far away from witnesses - behind the lines, in the gym, and out there on the road, long before I dance under those lights.
    Muhammad Ali

Roy Keane is still a pri*k!

Thumbs up Go on De Town

Fair play to ye lads, good result, keep it up!

176 Posts
    Congrats on winning a European match. Better than when yous let down the NL last season by losing twice to a bunch of unfit, out-of-season; bankers, binmen, and bus drivers, from the Swiss second division. Carmanthen may not be Brazil either, but at least they play in the top division of their own league, so I consider them to be a better side than who yous played against last year.

112 Posts
    what a fantastic result, roll on two weeks! With Camarthen not scoring an away goal, our dream of the next round is well within our grasp. lets hope all the Irish sides make it through their respective ties two weeks time!
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    Congrats on winning a European match. Better than when yous let down the NL last season by losing twice to a bunch of unfit, out-of-season; bankers, binmen, and bus drivers, from the Swiss second division. Carmanthen may not be Brazil either, but at least they play in the top division of their own league, so I consider them to be a better side than who yous played against last year.
    ask me ________, ya patronising git... Why wouldn't we get a result against a side who are part-time and are operating of small budget... Get with the programme, Vadus were full time and only the cream of our league can the top of their game would have beat Vadus... Why do we have to put up with muppets? One of lifes little challenges???
    Reporter: "Gordan, can we have a quick word?"
    Strachan:"Velocity"

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    errr - Vaduz actually are a decent PROFESSIONAL side - narrowly missing promotion to the Premier in Switzerland two seasons running.

Plus they're virtually the Liechtenstein National Team, minus Mario Frick (the striker) and the goalkeeper Peter Jehle.

and don't try to pick that apart - my knowledge of Liechtenstein football is vast and in depth
    Kom Igen, FCK...

57 Posts
    oh - and there are no binmen or bus drivers in the Vaduz side.

Sure there's a couple of bank workers in there (not the ones who sit behind the counters - but the ones who work as brokers, etc.) plus a winemaker (Harry Zech), a couple of office workers - but mainly they are full-time professional footballers.
    Kom Igen, FCK...

Well done last night.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Xlex
    ask me ________, ya patronising git... Why wouldn't we get a result against a side who are part-time and are operating of small budget... Get with the programme, Vadus were full time and only the cream of our league can the top of their game would have beat Vadus... Why do we have to put up with muppets? One of lifes little challenges???
    Ah now - sure of course he's right! Vaduz are a lower division team and Carmarthen aren't, therefore Vaduz are worse. Makes perfect sense! The same way Shamrock Rovers (or Carmarthen for that matter) are far better than Southampton, Wolves, etc...

A good performance and a good result last night.Should have won by 3 or 4 and ended the tie last night.Played good football when we got going and dominated the game for long periods.One of our better performances lately but at 2 - 0 the tie is still alive and it is only half time.I would be confident that if we play the way we did last night then we should win again over there.Good enough crowd and a good atmosphere ( why we can't have it for every home match is beyond me ) with Section O in fine tune.Really looking forward to the away leg and a few nights on the raz in Cardiff.
    On a seperate note,congrats to Cork on a great result it's looking good for all EL clubs at the moment.
    "At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill

Great result last night. Some super football played. If we go about it the same way in two weeks we should win in Wales. How many of the crowd that was there last night will make it for Saturday week against Finn Harps? Will we fall back from 2500 to 1000?

Well done to the town last night. First European victory is a great achievment.

From the sounds of it ye were well on top and hopefully there will be a repeat performance in the second leg.
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

And the same to you Paudie. Superb reslt away from home.

Great result last night but lets not get carried away,carmarthen were not good at all.We never really hit top gear,our strikers still aren't performing,keegos workrate was excellent but he never looked like scoring,same with myler.We are still relying on our defenders to score goals,hopefully alan can bring in another striker,we need one badly.All round a good night,section o was the best its been in a long time,why cant it be like that every match.That flansiro chant most go into the section o record books,how long was it 20minutes+ anyway.Also liked the way bits in the fanzine were advertising for more people to come on over
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

when was the last time a striker was really putting them away though (since Keith O'Connorin the season leading to promotion)? Dessie got 10 in the league last season was it? That's pretty average given he was the only one scoring with the odd Keego at al for good measure. There has to be problems outside the strikers themselves. They're either not getting the service they want/need or there's bad communication or a lack of comonality in their training objectives. Getting in a striker will not necessarily solve the problem imo. See Myler.
    "I don’t want to tempt fate, but Thierry Henry is not having one of his best nights." - RTE co-commentator Jim Beglin, minutes before TH struck the stunning winner.

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    Keego didn't score in the league at all last season.
    Didnt he score in the league vs Drogheda last season? one of the last games i think after the cup final! *open to correction*
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

He did score against Drogs
    "At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill

Quote Originally Posted by Bosco
    Great result last night but lets not get carried away,carmarthen were not good at all.We never really hit top gear,our strikers still aren't performing,keegos workrate was excellent but he never looked like scoring,same with myler.We are still relying on our defenders to score goals,hopefully alan can bring in another striker,we need one badly.All round a good night,section o was the best its been in a long time,why cant it be like that every match.That flansiro chant most go into the section o record books,how long was it 20minutes+ anyway.Also liked the way bits in the fanzine were advertising for more people to come on over
    as the author in that above mentioned article, i hope a lot more people will come over and join us. thats why i went to the trouble of doing an article for the fanzine to give an insight into section o.

i am still buzzing from the section o experience!it was by far the best buzzever seen! we literally sang non stop for the game and after the game showed our apprceiation for the good performance for the team. the quick nips must have helped plus the drumming!

thanks everyone for buying the fanzine -we sold out 120 copies of the fanzine and raised 280 euros for the andy myler sponsorship. i did not get around to selling some more so if anyone would like a copy kept please pm me and i will hold you a copy in exchange of a two euro payment! i am seriously consdiering selling the fanzine in wales for the supporters that could not make the home leg!

thanks again

the management of section o

now if i can remember to get the money in john joes behind the bar!

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    Keego didn't score in the league at all last season. His first goal for the club was the winner in the cup final.

We are pretty solid at the back & the midfield are doing well. The strikers ain't striking - that's where the problem lies. They got great service last night - they saw lots of the ball & on the deck.

I think the problem lies with the way we're trying to attack. Its very, very difficult to attack with your back to goal - Keego had his back to goal for most of the match last night. You've either got to (a) run at the defenders from midfield or (b) send in the "killer" pass for the striker to run on to.
    We did a fair bit of the latter last night - especially on the right side & Kirbs got in a good few times, as well as sending over a few lethal crosses (but again, no-one on the end of them ) We should then have sent absolutely everything down the right, as we were destroying them every single time.
    But this lark of trying to win a ball with your back to goal & then lauch an attack very, very rarely works.
    Yeah we'll make you manager ffs , sure I got the solution give Keego the ball (without his back to goal i.e. facing their goal, thats what your saying isn't it ), that sounds smart, the midfielders pass it to his heels...Great! I don't think you understand, that the last time I checked there were no wonderkids nor Brazilians in the team. Therefore Keegan gets the ball and HOLDS IT, yes HOLDS it. Go to your nearest library and rent out football tactics for kids, its under the chapter Possession, I think If you had your way he (or some other unsuspecting fool) would have to come and bulldoze his way to goal by turning for goal, running and running and running into four defenders. Go go super Keego. 'Nuff said about your football knowledge. I like the way he plays at the moment, adds some composure on the attcking midfield.
    On another note good performance last night and probably should have put it beyond all doubt at 3-0. Kirby played one of his best in years and Davy Byrne added some real quality. Contrary to what many think, the forwards did not get any wonderful supply(Keego won much of the possession he had for himself), yes balls were crossed in many a time with the box often being two crowded for Myler or Keegan to latch onto or the cross was off target. Nevertheless Keegan played well, working hard again, he falls a lot though. Myler couldn't really get into it at times. Pleasing to win in Europe for the first time and shouldn't be too threatened in Wales. I would rate them similar to the lower strands of the eircom premier or maybe the top teams in the first division playing at their peak. Their no. 9 and 10 showed a little quality but according to their fans they have little faith in them getting a goal.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast