Thread: Galway crowned Connacht Champions....

Quote Originally Posted by Eire06
    Was it not up until a few weeks ago everyone was calling for heads to roll and that the board is not telling the Fans what's going on, no press realese to us ect and Stephen was being slated for poor desisions and that the team weren't getting on with each other.....
    That was against the performances of the players and not the club.

You can't be honestly trying to tell me that the FAI is a more organised and efficient organisation than the GAA your having a laugh
    Not even going to argue this point.....
    where did I compare one another, I was saying they are both crap !!!! but both for different reasons

I go to both Galway United matches and Galway County hurling and Football matches..
    and I know a load of people who support both GAA and soccer but not EL soccer they support the English clubs and claim the EL is a crap poorly organised amateur league
    And thats the people I hate the most! If your a true supporter of any sport you'll watch the game at all levels and not just the top! They go to sh*t club GAAAAAA matches which are at a much lower level to county championships but its a different story when it comes to football ?? Two faced B*st*rds the lot of them.

Quote Originally Posted by tayto repairman
    isn't it about time you lot started following a real game (like hurling or gaelic football) instead of watching a foreign game with a bunch of fairies falling about at the slightest hint of contact.

face it, lads - ''soccer'' is dead in ireland. and the fai are laughable.

gaillimh abu!
    Ah is that why all the scum bags booed for the minutes silence for the victims of the london bombing in croker ? ah lovely bunch alogether.

Totally sickening

Are you serious Roo ? B*st*rds the lot of them, no call for that !!

52 Posts
    Galway for the Double!
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

Quote Originally Posted by Terry
    That was against the performances of the players and not the club.
    :
    Management and the board got just as much of a slating Terry.. they were calling for Lallys head and for the board to release a statment of their plans for the club

where did I compare one another, I was saying they are both crap !!!! but both for different reasons
    :
    The GAA is a well organised and well run Association as fra as I can see far from 'crap'..
    Just wondering are you one of these anti-GAA soccer supporters.. who think the GAA is to blame for all that is wrong with sport in this country?
    And thats the people I hate the most! If your a true supporter of any sport you'll watch the game at all levels and not just the top! They go to sh*t club GAAAAAA matches which are at a much lower level to county championships but its a different story when it comes to football ?? Two faced B*st*rds the lot of them.
    Yes they do annoy me too but I wouldn't call them Two faced really, in many rural community's it is the local GAA club that brings people together and most of them will go to support their clubs and under age teams because of this..

And what is being done to attract them to Galway United matches?
    Were on good form now and if it continues watch and the numbers attending the matches will increase

Quote Originally Posted by Roo69
    Ah is that why all the scum bags booed for the minutes silence for the victims of the london bombing in croker ? ah lovely bunch alogether.
    Roo,

I watched the match and didn't see or hear any of that!!
    Were you there?
    Did anyone else hear this
    Last edited by Eire06; 11/07/2005 at 2:52 PM.

Management and the board got just as much of a slating Terry.. they were calling for Lallys head
    no it was mannions .... and of coarse it happened

The GAA is a well organised and well run Association as fra as I can see far from 'crap'..
    Just wondering are you one of these anti-GAA soccer supporters.. who think the GAA is to blame for all that is wrong with sport in this country?
    yes
    And what is being done to attract them to Galway United matches?
    Were on good form now and if it continues watch and the numbers attending the matches will increase
    Of coarse, and they will be the first to complain when they arrive, supporters using bad language etc, etc.. idiots

Roo,

I watched the match and didn't see or hear any of that!!
    Were you there?
    Did anyone else hear this
    I dont think RTE will show that ? Did they? if so, RTE are bigger bigots than them! B*st*rds the lot of them !

no it was mannions .... and of coarse it happened
    yes
    Of coarse, and they will be the first to complain when they arrive, supporters using bad language etc, etc.. idiots

I dont think RTE will show that ? Did they? if so, RTE are bigger bigots than them! B*st*rds the lot of them !
    No Terry a good few people were calling for lally to go too, up until the form changed that is..
    You seem to have a very bad attitude toward the GAA, A chip on your shoulder or something.. Its all a big conspiracy against you the GAA, RTE and even the government and the Gardai are in on it Can you not get over it and just enjoy the sport.. You can like both you know, it is allowed it won't make you any less a fan

RE the bad language.. I would like to see some of the fellas calm it down a bit especially when there are young children about, or are you not able to support the team without cursing every two minutes.. Some of the things they come out with are horrible and disgusting and for kids to go and hear that is not on at all..

Gaaaa Football has no skill to it what so ever! pick it up and kick it!! enough said, hurling? hit the ball as hard as you can! Boring!!

I curse constantly at all matches, so I say that if the family sections of the crowds dont want to here me sit somewhere else, theres plenty of empty seats around!! the vocal section of the supporters have always stayed around the centre of the stand and long may it continue. Anyway, those same people mightn't recognise it, but the Gaaaaa matches are probably worse for the bad language !!

Gaaaa Football has no skill to it what so ever! pick it up and kick it!! enough said, hurling? hit the ball as hard as you can! Boring!!

I curse constantly at all matches, so I say that if the family sections of the crowds dont want to here me sit somewhere else, theres plenty of empty seats around!! the vocal section of the supporters have always stayed around the centre of the stand and long may it continue. Anyway, those same people mightn't recognise it, but the Gaaaaa matches are probably worse for the bad language !!
    I'm sorry but just watch a top level Football or Hurling match and you will see skill there that you will NOT even come close to in the EL 1st division..
    If you watched the Kerry yesterday that was a perfect example, but you seem to have a set opinion on GAA and won't open your eyes to see it for the class sport it is..

All you have to do is play Hurling or football and see what still is required...

and sure if your going by your descriptions of the sports soccer is just kicking a ball.. You seem to be a very biased person, if you open your eyes you might actually enjoy other sports you know

There is no set Family area in Terryland and how are families and people with children supposed to know that someone they are going to sit near is going to be roaring ignorant, rude and vulgar words..

The odd swear word is ok, but some of the things so called fans come out with are a disgrace and as someone who attends both GAA and soccer matches I don't think GAA matches are half as bad, it is a more family orientated atmosphere at the GAA matches
    Last edited by Eire06; 11/07/2005 at 4:24 PM.

are you 14?

let me guess, you probably had a go at hurling in national school, but got a severe wallop of a hurley across the legs when you were about 10. that experience was enough to scare you into quitting the game for good, so ever since then you've had a huge grudge against the GAA and the people whos unbelievable skill you tried, but failed so dismally to eminate.

then, when you went to college, the only sport you would participate in was indoor 5-a-side footie. *no cuts and bruises there, this is cool and i can kick all the nerdy kids heads in if i want to feel like a big man.*

am i close?

Quote Originally Posted by tayto repairman

am i close?
    Yes ! I am 14 and I have completed college !!!

I have played both hurling and football up until I was 18 when my foot was broke in 5 places and cant play any sport any more (I fell of a roof ! ). I captained my local football club to numerous cups and well, won feck all in the hurling.

As I have said I just dont see the attraction of them anymore?? I cant even watch the sport on tele! I guess just some people are like that!!

As for Eire06/

If it is that great how come the sport isnt been played in virtually every country, in ever housing development in the world. To say that football has no skill, to me says you dont understand the sport at all?? To say that the great Maradona, Pele, Best ....etc had no skill is pretty much sad

As for Eire06/

If it is that great how come the sport isnt been played in virtually every country, in ever housing development in the world. To say that football has no skill, to me says you dont understand the sport at all?? To say that the great Maradona, Pele, Best ....etc had no skill is pretty much sad
    Terry I never said soccer had no skill I was describing football in the terms you were describing Hurling and football..
    I love soccer and I go to a considerable amount of matches and it has plenty of skill.. so please read posts more carefully before you jump to conclusions..

And Hurling and football is quickly being spread around the world with new teams and leagues coming up every day.. In the US, Japan and around Europe, look into it you'd be suprised at its growing popularity.

Also you say you say even though you played it, there in no skill in GAA sports.. You must have been crap at it then and the lack of skill was in you not in the sport.. Don't slag off the sport because you were no good at it

You must have been crap at it then and the lack of skill was in you not in the sport.. Don't slag off the sport because you were no good at it
    Yes, I was useless!! that must of been why they made me captain! because I was crap !!

Do you not think that the GAAAAA should try and develope hurling in connaught or Ulster? football in Kilkenny..or wherever else?? before trying to develope the sport in Japan??? Does that not sound strange to you ?

Yes, I was useless!! that must of been why they made me captain! because I was crap !!

Do you not think that the GAAAAA should try and develope hurling in connaught or Ulster? football in Kilkenny..or wherever else?? before trying to develope the sport in Japan??? Does that not sound strange to you ?
    we only have you word for that
    Anyone who has played hurling

Galway has a good hurling team and a promotion of the sport is currently underway in the schools throughout the country, with them being provided with the gear and the facilities to play the sports.. So yes that is being taken care of also but you have to start at school and club level, before you have a county team worth talking about..
    camogie is also very popular throughout connaught and ulster!