Page 9 of 118 FirstFirst ... 78910111959109 ... LastLast

Thread: 2022 Season, Arrivals and Departures

346 Posts
    Clancy to Pats a done deal with Kevin Doherty taking over in Drogheda,a fun couple of days that …..
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

231 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    He may have said it but I will bet he was just being nice. It is a bigger job than St Pats - how you want to define 'bigger job' is a debate in itself. As for people saying there are no 'big clubs' in Ireland thats rubbish, its relative and Linfield are huge!!

Even if we do appoint O'Donnell, there is no guarantee it will work, it takes the right blend of minds and maybe Matthews was a key part of that. Pats could find that Clancy is a more astute coach again. It certain livens up some rivalry for next season.
    Dundalks first visit to Richmond should be fun alright

From my point of view I’m a bit disgusted with O’Donnell, especially if he was stalling on signing a new contract (or did sign one and wants away regardless) but that’s life. He’s welcome to go on his way, and I can only wish himself and Dundalk all the very worst for next season. What will be much more concerning is if he manages to take some of our best players, which can’t be ruled out.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

191 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TonyD View Post
    Yeah what are the bets the magic LOI fixture super computer ends up pulling that fixture on opening night? Looking forward to the fun and games of next season already!
    Paaatrick's Agletic

649 Posts
    Not many places to hide in Inchicore unless you sit in the dug out.
    Id say his ears will be burning

27 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kiki Balboa View Post
    I am enjoying the crazy conspiracies of Pats fans on Twitter.
    If it’s getting Dodge wound up, it’s all good.

Tim Clancy to Pats is a great move. Manager of the year for me built a decent team who just ran out of steam towards the end and could have squeaked Europe. Stephen Bradley retained his title, Liam Buckley got Sligo back into Europe and Stephen O’Donnell who ran Rovers the closest and won the cup , all credit.

Much better than the much-vaunted Ollie Horgan who had a top 7 budget at least and still only scraped out of the relegation play off spot.

191 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DCSIL View Post
    Tim Clancy to Pats is a great move. Manager of the year for me built a decent team who just ran out of steam towards the end and could have squeaked Europe. Stephen Bradley retained his title, Liam Buckley got Sligo back into Europe and Stephen O’Donnell who ran Rovers the closest and won the cup , all credit.
    If those are somehow O’Donnell's achievements this year then you should be listing Kev Doherty, Glen Cronin and John Russell rather than Clancy/Bradley/Buckley seen as Pats manager up to now has been the great Alan Matthews
    Paaatrick's Agletic

874 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TonyD View Post

From my point of view I’m a bit disgusted with O’Donnell, especially if he was stalling on signing a new contract (or did sign one and wants away regardless) but that’s life. He’s welcome to go on his way, and I can only wish himself and Dundalk all the very worst for next season. What will be much more concerning is if he manages to take some of our best players, which can’t be ruled out.
    That is a far bigger concern than 1 or 2 off the coaching staff. If players have delayed re-signing for St Pats due to some insider knowledge and O'Donnell in their ear I will be honest, i wont care a bit if it benefits Dundalk but I will be very understanding of anger by Pats fans. It would put Neale Fenn in the halfpenny place for manipulation. Benson, Forrester, Murray, with Hoban as the main attacking threat for Dundalk next season is appealing!!! Stanton/Sloggett holding in midfield, add a keeper to the defenders we want to retain, Dummigan, Leahy, Cleary, Garts maybe, Mayowa, Boyle, Kelly and Amar for adding width + others - it wouldnt be a bad place for a squad to be in a rebuilding phase. I'd take it all considered and easily take all the abuse from St Pats fans that could come.

105 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jack B View Post
    SOD to Dundalk and Clancy to Pats is my early call.
    When you're good you're good.

346 Posts
    It will be interesting now to see which players end up where,Clancy and O’Donnell will I’m sure be attempting to take a few with them!
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

Anyone who thinks Chris Forrester will be leaving St Pats again doesn't know very much about Chris Forrester.

Quote Originally Posted by patsdad View Post
    Anyone who thinks Chris Forrester will be leaving St Pats again doesn't know very much about Chris Forrester.
    I agree, I wouldn’t expect him to leave Pats. I believe Benson, Lewis and Smith are on the radar for Dundalk but who knows what’ll happen. Pats have acted quickly to get a good manager in and I’d expect he’s already trying to get the current squad signed up again.

649 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by patsdad View Post
    You could be right and you certainly know more about Forrester then me but he spent a year underachieving at PAts before SOD got him motivated.

140 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Yossarian View Post
    I agree, I wouldn’t expect him to leave Pats. I believe Benson, Lewis and Smith are on the radar for Dundalk but who knows what’ll happen. Pats have acted quickly to get a good manager in and I’d expect he’s already trying to get the current squad signed up again.
    Dont understand why Benson would go back to Dundalk. He was brilliant in the final but IMO his Dundalk career ran its course. He needed a fresh start dont see why hed go back but stranger things have happened. Id feel same with regards to massey and mountney, ye won the lot and had a great time, move on and try do it somewhere else. Lots of these lads stagnated/went back in their final year at dundalk too.

74 Posts
    Forrester will not be following SOD if the stories going around are true.
    No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

231 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Yossarian View Post
    Would certainly hope Forrestor doesn’t go. Wouldn’t be surprised to see Benson leave, nor Smith really. Lewis will be back to England I would imagine. Though if he’s short on offers you never know. Quality player.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

3,222 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jd2793 View Post
    Dont understand why Benson would go back to Dundalk. He was brilliant in the final but IMO his Dundalk career ran its course.
    Didn't he leave Dundalk for work reasons?

Would probably make him that but unlikely to go back you'd have thought

649 Posts
    Didn't he leave Dundalk for work reasons?

Would probably make him that but unlikely to go back you'd have thought
    My memory was he was one of the original not happy with Vinny guys

19. Thanks From:

Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    My memory was he was one of the original not happy with Vinny guys
    Benson left Dundalk after a run in with Perth towards the end of the 2019 season.

21. Thanks From:

145 Posts
    I definitely heard Benson left Dundalk partly due to Pats training schedule being more accommodating to working a job in Dublin. He has a masters degree in actuarial science and got 600 points in his leaving you would think he would be one of the few LOI players who could continue with full-time football into his mid-thirties with that level of academic background to fall back on so going back to Dundalk couldn't be ruled out
    The Leinster Senior League needs a strong Bohemians

23. Thanks From:

72 Posts
    Considering Dundalk only changed ownership 2 weeks ago, and that it was even unlikely that these owners would be the ones to take charge in the weeks leading up to the sale.... I really do not get the theories going around regarding O'Donnell and Pats.

Page 9 of 118 FirstFirst ... 78910111959109 ... LastLast