Page 89 of 118 FirstFirst ... 3979878889909199 ... LastLast
Results 1,761 to 1,780 of 2355

Thread: 2022 Season, Arrivals and Departures

140 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Bowler View Post
    I guess that accounts for his departure, as it does for the other players who walked, although there's plenty more to the story than lads not getting game time. Farrell is an excellent young player, and I hope he does well at Wexford. Think Wexford are going to muscle their way into the playoffs and be stronger again next season.
    wexford are decent tbh, better than treaty anyway. they should make the play offs. will we see more outgoings from ucd? awful time to be losing players, had a few new lads on the bench last night.

Quote Originally Posted by Jd2793 View Post
    wexford are decent tbh, better than treaty anyway. they should make the play offs. will we see more outgoings from ucd? awful time to be losing players, had a few new lads on the bench last night.
    I've heard of 5 players who have walked out and obviously Kerrigan and Whelan were always expected to go. The lads who have left probably have a hundred or more appearances between them. TBH the next departure I expect is the manager.

536 Posts
    After us losing to Wexford last nite after the high of our draw against Cork I wonder is Gary Cronin under pressure again as I wasnt expecting that result at all tbh! Wexford have some squad in fairness to them!

346 Posts
    After us losing to Wexford last nite after the high of our draw against Cork I wonder is Gary Cronin under pressure again as I wasnt expecting that result at all tbh! Wexford have some squad in fairness to them!
    Are Longford not alright? Seem to be exactly where they’re suppose to be with the 3 above tipped to be the best sides in the division before the season,be harsh to be under pressure only 20 odd games into the job….
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

536 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joey B View Post
    Are Longford not alright? Seem to be exactly where they’re suppose to be with the 3 above tipped to be the best sides in the division before the season,be harsh to be under pressure only 20 odd games into the job….
    I know for a fact that it was an unpopular appt with our fans considering his history with Bray. We are extremely inconsistent this season we havent an end product to finish games off Joey B. Davy O Sullivan was a man machine and only reason we got promoted 2 yrs ago was cos Shels were cocky in their playoff!

1,081 Posts
    People were underwhelmed with the appointment alright but I would say he's doing an OK job. Getting into the play offs would be the expectation and I'm sure he'll manage that. We don't have the money to do much more.

I know for a fact that it was an unpopular appt with our fans considering his history with Bray. We are extremely inconsistent this season we havent an end product to finish games off Joey B. Davy O Sullivan was a man machine and only reason we got promoted 2 yrs ago was cos Shels were cocky in their playoff!
    By account of a Bray player during Cronins tenure at the Carlisle Grounds, his behaviour was the right up there with what he ever experienced in a career that has seen him under some of the leagues elder lemons who weren't shy !. By all accounts over stepped on a weekly basis. But LOI just isn't progressive in terms of the types of people that make it as managers. A bit like life in general in Ireland, if you are truly ambitious to over achieve, you tend to get out of the country if the business you are in is small and insular. Stuck in the dark ages in many respects.

346 Posts
    Was having a look at Como and they seem to be owned by an Indonesian company,are/were filming a documentary and have Dennis Wise involved!!!

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?sto...rmat=permalink

140 Posts
    cork in for jack doherty. would love to see that happen he is quality at fd level

536 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jd2793 View Post
    cork in for jack doherty. would love to see that happen he is quality at fd level
    Class player for us in his short spell with ourselves.

363 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by A N Mouse View Post
    So everyone agrees, defo not a pen!
    The 1988 FAI Cup Final ? I don't even think the Dundalk players looked for a penalty, it was an incredible decision.

Larry Wyse !

Actually that was a perfect balance in MF with 3 there, Wyse on right, Martin Murray in the middle and Barry Kehoe on the left, wasn't a great final if I recall but some coolness from John Clearly slotting that away in front of 100k Derry fans in the Phibs end !
    Last edited by oriel; 26/06/2022 at 4:40 PM.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

346 Posts
    Shane Keegan appointed Cobh manager…

http://cobhramblers.ie/first-team-manager-confirmed/

101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    The 1988 FAI Cup Final ? I don't even think the Dundalk players looked for a penalty, it was an incredible decision.

Larry Wyse !

Actually that was a perfect balance in MF with 3 there, Wyse on right, Martin Murray in the middle and Barry Kehoe on the left, wasn't a great final if I recall but some coolness from John Clearly slotting that away in front of 100k Derry fans in the Phibs end !
    I had convinced myself it was MacArdle was ref, but was Spillane. JFC why would you complain about a ref nowadays when we don't have to put up with Spillane or Wallace - MacArdle was one of the better ones, if that says much.

That day there were a couple of stonewall penalty shouts denied. Think that one was to make up for not giving Dundalk a very early one, then in my mind, at least, late on at other end was like Suarez vs Ghana, fecking still disgusted

The league cup final following season almost made up for it though.

873 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post

Larry Wyse !

My 1st cup final as I wasnt allowed go the previous year, though didnt miss much. I remember people shouting at the ref politely where to go, thinking it was a free out, then realised it was penalty given, and were 'great refereeing'! and then people asking had they missed something off the ball. As the saying goes ye win some ye lose some. I will never forget that wall of red and white of the Derry end!!

I see Daragh Lenihan off to Boro.

Was he playing tight back, or on the right of a back 3 for Blackburn?

If right back, it could be a good move for James Brown to get more game time.

536 Posts
    For those that were listenin to LOI late nite the other nite it was mentioned that Shane Keegan was linked to the Cobh job! I imagine that Shane Keegan wont be on LOI late nite any more. I always find him interesting!

346 Posts
    Louis Britton signs for Cork,bad for Waterford and probably not go down well….

346 Posts
    https://mobile.twitter.com/Broadcast...26508993855491

Liam Kerrigan will have an interesting coach at Como
    Last edited by joey B; 29/06/2022 at 2:47 PM.

140 Posts
    https://mobile.twitter.com/Broadcast...26508993855491

Liam Kerrigan will have an interesting coach at Como
    a move to uk might not have been bad after all.

2,346 Posts
    Louis Britton signs for Cork,bad for Waterford and probably not go down well….
    This is great craic. Seeing a handful of Waterford fans in meltdown over the lack of loyalty from a lad who spent a couple of months there on loan.

24. Thanks From:

Page 89 of 118 FirstFirst ... 3979878889909199 ... LastLast