Results 1,281 to 1,300 of 2355

Thread: 2022 Season, Arrivals and Departures

186 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ontheotherhand View Post
    Pats 19s going so well in Europe last year probably hasn't hurt at all either. Wasn't Abankwah in that team? Did they play any Italian clubs on their run?

He looked really impressive the few times I saw him. Good luck to him.
    The 19s just played Red Star Belgrade home and away, ran them close enough though considering they’ve got one of the best academies in Europe at that level. Abankwah didn’t feature in either game though as he was with the first team at the time
    Paaatrick's Agletic

395 Posts
    Ah I thought there was a bit of a run before that game.

Wonder how he ended up on Udinese's radar?

1,081 Posts
    They have had a good reputation over the years of identifying young players from abroad that they think they can sell on in future so they probably have quite a few scouts throughout Europe. Bruno Fernandes and Alexis Sanchez would be two high profile ones that spring to mind but there are plenty more no doubt.

270 Posts
    The winners of the tie was to play Empoli. Id be surprised if there is any connection as he wasn't involved in the games. We did ok in the home leg against Red Star and should have got a better result. I wasn't that hopeful for the away leg.

535 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 2 Year Contract View Post
    Good few Italian news outlets reporting that James Abankwah of Pats is a target for Udinese
    Any idea Wot age did James Abankwah move to Dublin as he started with longford schoolboy side Melview FC?I never heard of him before until he showed up with St Pats!

186 Posts
    Any idea Wot age did James Abankwah move to Dublin as he started with longford schoolboy side Melview FC?I never heard of him before until he showed up with St Pats!
    Dont know what age he moved to Dublin but he joined Pats from Cherry Orchard at age 14 going on 15 in January 2019, not sure how long he’d been at Orchard prior to that
    Paaatrick's Agletic

41 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Olé Olé View Post
    The 42 are reporting the Abankwah fee will exceed the up front €500k for Bazunu paid by Man City. He is slightly older but I don't think he is as well regarded as Bazunu was. Not directly comparable but it is interesting to see Abankwah move to Italy for more than Bazunu did to England.
    Anyone care to remember what Roy O Donovan went to Sunderland for. Thought it was in the region of 625K?
    "Now jump up there and stuff that son of a bitch in the basket, chief"

270 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pateen View Post
    Anyone care to remember what Roy O Donovan went to Sunderland for. Thought it was in the region of 625K?
    I checked and the article I read said it was 500k he went for.

133 Posts
    drogs signed 2 lads on loan from lincoln, roughan should be a v good signing. think they'll be ok , bit of a gap there now between themselves and harps/ucd

44 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jd2793 View Post
    drogs signed 2 lads on loan from lincoln, roughan should be a v good signing. think they'll be ok , bit of a gap there now between themselves and harps/ucd
    Doherty has done amazingly well in rebuilding the squad - I really do think we are stronger than last season, given the spend of other clubs a good result for us this year is 7th, anything else will be a bonus.
    Drogheda United in this together

3,187 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jd2793 View Post
    Going to be interesting at the bottom alright. I think Whelan is the only player we're likely to lose in mid-season. Seems everyone else is still around. That's a rarity for us lately, and given that we did reasonably well against the Premier sides in the Cup (including Shels), that has to give us a chance at staying up.

144 Posts
    Does anyone know what is going on with Athlone? I can only make out 4 players re-signed and they have recently lost Adam Wixted, Dylan Hand, Dan McKenna and Ray O'Sullivan who all signed for the struggling Warrenpoint Town

And on that related point Warrenpoint basically look like the 20th LOI club going by my count at least 15 ex-LOI players from Dublin they have in their squad. Do they train in Dublin and are they paying crazy expenses?
    The Leinster Senior League needs a strong Bohemians

133 Posts
    Going to be interesting at the bottom alright. I think Whelan is the only player we're likely to lose in mid-season. Seems everyone else is still around. That's a rarity for us lately, and given that we did reasonably well against the Premier sides in the Cup (including Shels), that has to give us a chance at staying up.
    ya id expect there to be interest in himself and kerrigan throughout the season tbh 2 cracking talents. big job on but ye will have always have a chance when whelan is involved. great experience for some of the younger ones in the squad too for the inevitable rebuild that'll be needed when ye get raided

341 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by total hoofball View Post
    Does anyone know what is going on with Athlone? I can only make out 4 players re-signed and they have recently lost Adam Wixted, Dylan Hand, Dan McKenna and Ray O'Sullivan who all signed for the struggling Warrenpoint Town

And on that related point Warrenpoint basically look like the 20th LOI club going by my count at least 15 ex-LOI players from Dublin they have in their squad. Do they train in Dublin and are they paying crazy expenses?

https://www.westmeathindependent.ie/...rts-in-trials/

Russell mentioning trialists from the UK in that article and others training but it dosent seem to be optimal having very few players signed at this stage of pre-season.....
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    841 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bucket View Post
    What other countries is he eligible to play with, if it comes to it?
    Quote Originally Posted by kksaints View Post
    Think it's Ghana his family are from.
    He's Ghanaian born according to RTE, moved here young, doesn't say what age.

1,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CraftyToePoke View Post
    He's Ghanaian born according to RTE, moved here young, doesn't say what age.
    "Born in Ireland with Ghanaian roots" according to Dan McDonnell's piece yesterday.

72 Posts
    €400k up front fee approx according to Paul O'Hehir in the Mirror - https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soc...wsApp_AppShare
    No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

635 Posts
    And the scope to double it with add ons.
    Its really shows you how small we are as a league (all of us inc Rovers) when a transfer of this size is game changing in terms of budget for a LOI team.
    Its the kind of money that would almost be classed as a free transfer in the UK.
    Anyway long may it last , we need the likes of McGrath, Scales etc to do well and build confidence in the LOI over there as well as further afield.

869 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    And the scope to double it with add ons.
    Its really shows you how small we are as a league (all of us inc Rovers) when a transfer of this size is game changing in terms of budget for a LOI team.
    Its the kind of money that would almost be classed as a free transfer in the UK.
    Anyway long may it last , we need the likes of McGrath, Scales etc to do well and build confidence in the LOI over there as well as further afield.
    Is that another way of saying they better damn well be a success so that Roadstone is a success and so DD will feck off quietly?

186 Posts
    Saw a picture on twitter that the management agency of Cork City's Cathal Heffernan posted with him having just played for Bayer Leverkusen (presumably a trial game for a youth side), with a 'Soon ->' emoji so looks like he could be on his way to them. Good to see so many of the young expat Irish lads playing in Spain/France/Italy/Germany etc these days as opposed to just solely the UK in the past.
    Paaatrick's Agletic