Thread: Google Earth

Google Earth

Have any of ye tried this?. It's very good, it shows images of the whole world and you can zoom in on certain cities, around the world, to near street level. Lansdowne road is on it, and it's a good pic too. Google Earth needs to be downloaded

simply amazing... fly to paris or new york and ask it to display the buildings. every building in new york in 3d. im looking at the beach i'll be going to in turkey now

i'll try directions from charleroi to lithuania next
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

just found turners cross

Its amazing. Fair play to Google for such a cool program. As usual all the most useful bits (like locating amenities) are only up and running for the USA, but despite this flaw its brilliant. I had a look at Baghdad and north Korea.

The US Capitol, White House and Executive Office Building are obscured (for security) but this precaution doesn't seem to have been taken for any of the foreign government offices .

how do you zoom in on the bloody thing?

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea
    how do you zoom in on the bloody thing?
    right click on your mouse and move it up or down to zoom in or out.

Quote Originally Posted by crc
    right click on your mouse and move it up or down to zoom in or out.

or if u have a wheel on ur mouse, use that

Great craic!cheers!
    "All I have in this world is my balls and my word,and I don't break em for noone"

I don't have a click-wheel on my current mouse
    Quote Originally Posted by sligoman
    Have any of ye tried this?. It's very good, it shows images of the whole world and you can zoom in on certain cities, around the world, to near street level. Lansdowne road is on it, and it's a good pic too. Google Earth needs to be downloaded
    I forgot to say thank you to Sligoman for pointing this out.
    If I can return the favour, I've just downloaded the Mozilla Firefox browser. I haven't had a lot of time to evaluate it yet, but so far it looks nice. I downloaded the Irish version, and its proving a bit challenging working out what everything means, but its kinda cool having a browser as Gaeilge!

Quote Originally Posted by crc
    I don't have a click-wheel on my current mouse
    I forgot to say thank you to Sligoman for pointing this out.
    If I can return the favour, I've just downloaded the Mozilla Firefox browser. I haven't had a lot of time to evaluate it yet, but so far it looks nice. I downloaded the Irish version, and its proving a bit challenging working out what everything means, but its kinda cool having a browser as Gaeilge!
    Your welcome but it's ok you dont need to return the favour

Places I've had a look at on it:

St.Peter's basillica in Vatican City,
    Pyramids and Spinx in Egypt,
    Statue of Liberty in NY,
    Grand Canyon,
    Niagra Falls,
    Rock of Gibraltar(in south Spain)
    A volcano in Hawaii(you can even see the lava flowing into the sea)

It really is a great programe, well done Google

Also looked at Old Trafford, Highbury, Stamford Bridge, Mestalla(Valencia) and Nou Camp.

i thought the quality was crap. how could you see moving matter schhhllllllligoooooo man?

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea
    i thought the quality was crap. how could you see moving matter schhhllllllligoooooo man?
    Well obviously it's not moving but you can see where it goes into the sea

3,499 Posts
    Can you get directions that cross international borders? I tried to get directions from Berlin to Paris and it returned no results!!

just found Elland Road, Leeds
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Please don't take the p!$$ - would I be able to see my house?

Seriously.

Quote Originally Posted by sirhamish
    Please don't take the p!$$ - would I be able to see my house?

Seriously.
    That depends on where you live sirhamish. If there is a satellite photo of the area then you would but if not then you may just be able to see the street/area name. Download it and see

the address look up isnt working outside Uk& Ireland (and NA of course) yet, so thats why directions on the continent arent working yet. they should be done soon, according to the website.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Quote Originally Posted by thecorner
    just found turners cross
    im adding it to the google earth database under Stadiums ive done a lot of stuff in cork, like the shopping centres and stadiums and stations...
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

It is a fantastic program, I've had it for a while now.

You can pick out cars in the driveway of my house, such detail only goes into the more populated areas, so for example you won't be able to see as much detail unless you are looking in Dublin, bits of Cork and Galway etc.

When you look at that, if Iraq really had W.O.M.D. or missile sites the US and the whole world would know all about it. They would have the premium quality imaging, up to the minute, and couple that with other areas of intelligence such as sound tapping and infiltration on the ground.

The day when the US can fire weapons from space is going to be the start of a dark era for planet earth that is for sure!