Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: LOI Matches 2nd - 7th November 2021

131 Posts
    Drogs look safe now thanks to their superior goal difference. Even if they lost their last two matches, it would take both Harps and Waterford to each win their remaining games to overtake them. Not impossible, but unlikely.

3,197 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    I would say unlikely, although its possible !

In short with the GD (Derry + 4 v DFC -3), Derry really only need to beat Sligo at home next week,
    Even that's far from a gimme given Sligo have suddenly worked out how to win again.

A draw in that for example and it's a nervy last day for both sides

360 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    Gob****es pure and simple.

Scum element of DFC fans threw one at Peter Cherrie (direction) in the cup semi v Pats 2 weeks ago, abs morons the lot of them, at all clubs, but that didn't look good tonight.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

386 Posts
    Great win for us tonight. Rode our luck a bit at times in the second half but we could have scored a few more on the break. Great to get back into Europe next year where we will no doubt embarrass ourselves again.

I would imagine we’ll be doing well to get 11 sober players on the pitch next week.

Great away support as well. Love going to Inchicore even if we very rarely win there.

399 Posts
    Just saw a post highlighting that Waterford are now in the playoff spot due to being 7 goals being Harps on GD......For the sake of the Waterford U19s I hope they can at least improve the GD....

270 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    Great win for us tonight. Rode our luck a bit at times in the second half but we could have scored a few more on the break. Great to get back into Europe next year where we will no doubt embarrass ourselves again.

I would imagine we’ll be doing well to get 11 sober players on the pitch next week.

Great away support as well. Love going to Inchicore even if we very rarely win there.
    Sligo deserved their win tonight. We were lacklustre overall and made some awful mistakes. We did have a spell in the second half but failed to capitalise. It’s concerning that second isn’t wrapped up. We have a decent squad overall but need a striker badly. I don’t like Coughlan at all, and the Reading lad NML is hopeless. He won’t make it IMO and will end up in non league football in the UK. Without second secured we can’t solely focus on the cup final which would have been the ideal scenario.

342 Posts
    Poor game in Finn Park,no suprise both goals came from set pieces,Harps had the better of the first half,Derry the second,Boyle went from hero to zero in 3 minutes,scoring then giving away a penalty,nervy last 2 weeks now….
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

44 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Calcio Jack View Post
    The commentator said the stewards did eject the offenders
    Both have been arrested by Gardaí

870 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by D24Saint View Post
    Sligo deserved their win tonight. We were lacklustre overall and made some awful mistakes. We did have a spell in the second half but failed to capitalise. It’s concerning that second isn’t wrapped up. We have a decent squad overall but need a striker badly. I don’t like Coughlan at all, and the Reading lad NML is hopeless. He won’t make it IMO and will end up in non league football in the UK. Without second secured we can’t solely focus on the cup final which would have been the ideal scenario.
    Saving it for the cup final, Europe secured already so no need to bust a gut in the league. Stuff in the RSC is horrible, any time around Halloween has the risk of some dirtbags in grounds doing this. Few weeks ago in Oriel a firework was launched from the back of the shed though it was one that just went bang rather than sending 'flares' widely over a pitch. More good luck on behalf of Dundalk than anything so no moral high ground should be taken. These fireworks, flares, cans and bottles of beer are not small, so how are they smuggled in especially at away grounds. At home, especially with drink, stewards turn a blind eye if you pardon the pun considering. Security V Bohs is going to really need to be on their game not to compound things. With Rovers so far ahead it may ot be the worst suggestion to deduct points, closing sections of a ground would send out a message but would be harsh too. Fines mean nothing to these scumbags, unless identified and banned what do the FAI or clubs do to really stamp this out. Registering with ID for away tickets? even for a set amount of games.

870 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by vinnie View Post
    Both have been arrested by Gardaí
    That at least! There was a case ages back were some idiot caused hassle in Oriel with away fans, was arrested, charged and then in court the judge dismissed the case due to the incident not happening in a public area and that it was an internal club issue to be dealt with.

Looking like 5th is as good as we could recover to with GD probably separating sides in the end.

Bircham didnt hold back the critcism of his players. More like the old self which he seemed to have dropped until tonight -'"[I’m] disgusted in my players...We don’t deserve to stay up, if we defend set-pieces like that we don’t deserve to be in the league...the players know who they are, those that have let us down.....It’s disgusting, they’re not doing their jobs".
    Last edited by Nesta99; 06/11/2021 at 1:17 AM.

445 Posts
    Longer video on the Waterford twitter where you can see it being let off in the back of the stand. That has to warrant a criminal investigation surely?

I saw someone on twitter describe Rovers as a club with no class, that pretty much sums them up. I’m sure the guy who let the fireworks off will walk into Tallaght with no issue for their next home game.

399 Posts
    1 or 2 dopes sum up an entire football club now? We are all ******ed in that case.

Well, maybe not Harps. Sound to a man up there.
    Last edited by ontheotherhand; 06/11/2021 at 3:59 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by ontheotherhand View Post
    1 or 2 dopes sum up an entire football club now? We are all ******ed in that case.
    No, but their failure to come out and condemn the actions of those idiotic fans is fairly pathetic.

386 Posts
    The same 1 or 2 dopes seem to go to most away games

270 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sullanefc View Post
    No, but their failure to come out and condemn the actions of those idiotic fans is fairly pathetic.
    That would be more the point. I don’t think any club can throw stones about a few low life fans but their actions should be condemned by the football club when they get out of line.

Crazy scenes in the RSC last night. These fireworks and flares have been getting out of hand lately and security needs to be better at stopping people bringing in to grounds as someone will be badly injured soon.
    Rovers dominated the game after Waterford took the lead after a mix up between goalkeeper and defender.
    We held on till the 2nd half until 2 more goals conceded from set pieces set Rovers up for the win.
    Mandriou wrapped it up in injury time after getting in behind Waterford defence and finishing well.
    Waterford in relegation play off spot on goal difference after the 7 0 defeat v Drogheda when we fielded our under 19s earlier in season after Covid cases ruled out first team.
    Both us and Finn Harps have Longford and St Pats for last 2 games.

870 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sullanefc View Post
    They should be quicker in condemning it but playing devils advocate - condemning before knowing the full situation could be the reasoning, a statement then prepared that includes that culprits will be banned, there is some liability on the home club to have adequate security eg searching for fireworks entering the ground, its a stretch here but its not unknown for non fans or fans of other clubs to do this stuff to damage a clubs rep, waiting to see if they are charged by Gardai is possible. In this era we expect instant info/response on things like this, but its quite token like unless it includes what has happened to the culprits. There are times you wonder how certain people are allowed access to club social media without posts being checked, maybe its the procedure to do so at Rovers. Or of course their surname could be Roche, Bradley or the like and the adults are fuming wondering how to manage this. Bottom like is this could be any club, as mentioned a firework was fired over the heads of players in Oriel recently only it was a less 'dramatic' type of rocket - i dont think there was a statement on it, like wise with smoking RTE out of the gantry and the delay due to waiting from the go ahead from Chicago or Florida.

(trouble does seem to follow Rovers around more than most, especially at away games so maybe people banned from Tallaght?)
    Last edited by Nesta99; 06/11/2021 at 8:38 AM.

637 Posts
    In fairness to whatever lad is doing match updates on the club twitter account i don't think its up to him to respond
    Id be surprised if the club don't put out something comprehensive after the weekend having spoken to guards etc including whats happening to the muppets

Every club has its selection of muppets Dundalk coach got stoned leaving inchicore a couple of weeks ago, flares in Dalymount etc etc
    That's not whataboutery its just a fact and this incident involving fireworks is definitely off the scale but i don't know there is much more all the clubs can do
    Rovers have banned dozens from Tallaght over the last few years and it has helped but their always seems to be another gob****e waiting

Sligo winning two in a row would have looked unexpected a couple of weeks ago but im happy for Bucko and with a bit more european money next year it could be an interesting season, if they manage the downturns better

Danny on 14 goals for the season from midfield same amount from play as Georgie Kelly.
    Last edited by sbgawa; 06/11/2021 at 9:13 AM.

sullanefc said:
    06/11/2021 10:25 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    They should be quicker in condemning it but playing devils advocate - condemning before knowing the full situation could be the reasoning, ....
    I'll stop you right there. They can "condemn the actions" and say "they are investigating". You don't need to know all the facts to release that sort of statement. It's poor from Shamrock.

3,197 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    In fairness to whatever lad is doing match updates on the club twitter account i don't think its up to him to respond
    Don't agree with that. He's reporting on the match - goals, chances, subs, suspended play - the lot.

18 - Game suspended. The ref has taken both teams off the pitch after a Waterford player appeared to be hit by one of a series of fireworks let off from the away end. Worrying scenes here in the RSC
    Up front about what happened - and the severity of it - while leaving open the possibility that it'll turn out to her a disgruntled UCD knacker sneaking into the away end in protest at robbing Whelan/Kerrigan from us.

Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast