Thread: 3 Teams Left in Title Race

[QUOTE=Cop on][QUOTE=daniel] but i think if Derry finish 3rd we will take that no bother

Watch out ........ you'll be trolled for lacking ambition; accused of being a heathen that don't play total football a la Cork; defensive and negative. Just say you wanna win the damn thing. Then wait for them to choke
    Derry don't lack ambition, they go out to win games and have real hopes of winning the league, no matter what limiations they may feel they have. They are not there to simply make up the numbers.
    Not stop being so sensitve all your plucky little Longford fans, just because I hit a nerve.......

Keep it on topic folks!

Ye can have that "discussion" via PM.

I'm definately beginning to believe we can do it but I do agree with the European distraction theory.

Also check out the last two games of the season.....

Nov 11 Shels V City
    Nov 18 City V Derry
    The glass isn't half full or half empty it's just too damn big!

Like Daniel i don't think City can win it this year, would love to be proved wrong but blind hope is a stupid concept and we aren't as good as Cork. We can look at second place with some degree of realism but our match in hand against Bohs is vital!
    "The Derry fans were fantastic in both matches. They sang their hearts out all the time and created an even better atmosphere than the Cup Final. They were brilliant. - David Graham, Gretna striker

Lads I think its going to be a City top 2.

Cork City (Champions)
    Derry City (Runners Up)
    Shelbourne 3rd

I'd just love that to happen.
    City Til I Die

Champions 2005

I would have to agree with Daniel and Speranza...Derry winning it is probably a bridge too far this season. Its always nice to be proved wrong on this subject though .

I think Pete is telling some porkies!

Way too early yet. Im amazed that Shels are so high in the league as they havent had a great run for a long strech, I think they will get a few wins under their belt, but it would be hard for them. Cork had a great run last year and nearly won so its not impossible. Derry will grind out results while they have a full squad Id say but if they get a few injuries or suspensions they might come unstuck. Bohs are larking around there too with their games in hand and are in great form but a lot depends on Farreleys form and decisions I think. A few injuries could feck them though. As for Drogs, they would take 3rd Id say if it was given to them.

Eitherway, its prob been the most exciting league for years! Who'd have guessed after shels signed the Bohz 3
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

Quote Originally Posted by Troy.McClure
    Derry will grind out results while they have a full squad Id say but if they get a few injuries or suspensions they might come unstuck
    We've done OK so far

Wouldn't share the opinion of people on here that if we suffer a few injuries we will fall down the league. Our bench is usually made up of Martyn ($hels wanted him) O'Flynn, Mc Glynn (Irish underage international) Mc Chrystal (Northern underage player) and others. I think we have great strength in depth but thinking about winning the league seems delusionary considering our form in recent seasons.
    "The Derry fans were fantastic in both matches. They sang their hearts out all the time and created an even better atmosphere than the Cup Final. They were brilliant. - David Graham, Gretna striker

But if ye lost Farren for a while, who would put the ball in the back of the net? No one else is proven at this level.

Quote Originally Posted by Rebal Boy
    Lads I think its going to be a City top 2.

Cork City (Champions)
    Derry City (Runners Up)
    Shelbourne 3rd

I'd just love that to happen.

How about .....

Cork City (Champions)
    Derry City (Runners Up)
    Bohemians 3rd
    Drogheda 4th

But if ye lost Farren for a while, who would put the ball in the back of the net? No one else is proven at this level.
    Stephen O'Flynn, Alan Murphy, Gary Beckett...even Sean Hargan can do a job when put up front.

Quote Originally Posted by dancinpants
    Stephen O'Flynn, Alan Murphy, Gary Beckett...even Sean Hargan can do a job when put up front.
    Grand for mid table but not going to win ye a league like.

I dunno .... if you are banging them in, then they are grand for anywhere on the table imo.

82 Posts
    Murphy's got 5 in the League.

O'Donovan is Cork's second highest scorer with 4.

Fairly even I would say. Lets see how you continue to cope without Doyle before we make rash predictions!

Lads Derry have had numerous injuries this season, and will continue to get injuries as the season progresses we have done gr8 until now and will do so for the rest of the season in my view.

Derry are clearly biggest challengers to Cork City now with no distractions of Europe.