Page 1 of 25 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Foot.ie decides - Ireland's best keeper's jersey

3,195 Posts

Foot.ie decides - Ireland's best keeper's jersey

Another international window coming up in a couple of weeks - we ready to go again with another big decision?

I have 40 jerseys from the past 40 years selected and ready to do battle. From the madness of the 90s, to forgotten maroon efforts, to the ever-classic Euro 88/Italia 90 kit. Same story - head to head to head to head until only one remains.

40 is an awkward number, so I'm going to -

> Give the Euro 88/Italia 90 jersey a bye to the second round as the winner of both the best home and away kit
    > Run 13 3-way ties for the first round, with the top two to go through. That means 27 progress in total
    > Then 14 into the repechage to (a) reprieve five kits and give us a round 32 and (b) vote one kit as our worst ever goalkeeper's top.

I might start later this week and then it'd last all the way through the November internationals and probably up to the end of the month.

There probably are a couple of gaps in what I have, so if anyone has a kit they want to make sure is included, PM me a link to a photo.

As a taster to get everyone nice and confused, this really strange image still from a programme made in 2016 should be one of the bookies' favourites.

3,286 Posts
    Eehhhmmm, what?

3,195 Posts
    Yup. Looks like some crowd doing a video put false colouring on it. I've no idea why

622 Posts
    Nice one Stu.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

575 Posts
    Fair play. There’s been a lot of keepers jerseys/kits. Some of them absolutely mental.

Is it jersey or full kit we’re voting on?

3,195 Posts
    I'll let that row develop over the course of the thread.

I think the full kit is really the vote, but there's a lot more variety with the keeper's tops compared to home/away outfield jerseys, so I'd say the majority of the vote will come down to the jersey tbh.

575 Posts
    I'll let that row develop over the course of the thread.

I think the full kit is really the vote, but there's a lot more variety with the keeper's tops compared to home/away outfield jerseys, so I'd say the majority of the vote will come down to the jersey tbh.
    Look forward to it

3,195 Posts
    Right - slight change of plan. I had a look through the 40 starters again and spotted two duplicates. So I've pulled those and we're down to 38.

Putting them in pools of 3 to only knock out 6 kits seems a waste of time, and reveals all the kits too soon. So I'm going to start with 20 in round 1, and the other 18 get a bye to round 2. Round 1 will give 10 winners, and then four get reprieved in the repechage (this is to allow for potential finals in round 1, so we don't lose a genuine challenger too early purely through a bad draw)

I think I'll start tomorrow morning if that suits. Usual stuff - 24-hour voting period, another battle up in the afternoon, and I'll not run any over the weekend as it's quieter generally

622 Posts
    Will you send us all pm's when you've uploaded them too? thanks a mil. or even drop me a text message - mwah!

3,195 Posts
    No PMs so far. I must have yere full trust when it comes to digging out the obscure of the obscure.

3,195 Posts
    OK, let's see how this goes!

Our first battle is a proper clash of eras. No Bazunu v Kelleher debates here - instead, we've Bazunu v Peyton. Which one stays in, and which one goes out? 24 hours to vote, and in the event of a tie, I get casting vote (or if I dd vote, then my vote is discounted) Reasons are encouraged to get a bit of chat going.

Next match goes live around 6pm.

536 Posts
    Bazunu

always thought a full black gk kit makes the keeper look a lot more imposing!

3,286 Posts
    Close call between the two, and there's nothing particularly wrong with the kit Peyton is wearing, but the black is better

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    423 Posts
    Bazunu gets my vote. Not a fan of the round neck on the other one.

622 Posts
    Disappointed that I found clash 1 randomly. I was expecting a pm, email, or message via carrier-pigeon.

Anyway, Gerry looks dashing in that GK jersey, and I've a small bone for anything Adidas, so Orange (is the new Black!) gets my vote. I'd wear that on a night out in Brussels and not look out of place

3,195 Posts
    GDPR means I can't PM anyone - you know that

I'm unsure on these two myself. The modern jerseys are generally very bland and I don't see myself voting for too many of them. But I do like the all black (though I think a Campos special is generally taken to be more - well, distracting at least, which is worth a goal on occasion). The Peyton one evokes memories of the Euro 88 sticker album, so it's a classic - yet looking at it now, it's not all that great, even before you get to the nipplage.

I'll vote Bazunu here, though I may well reprieve Peyton when the time comes.

893 Posts
    Yeah, those nipples. I think that must have been taken just before FIFA banned male nipplage because it provided extra grip on the jersey.

I think a little nostalgia in my vote... GP's looks like a proper ye olde-fashioned keeper's jersey so there's my vote. GB's looks like the sports kit of some special forces unit (but it needs McClean's balaclavas to be a sure-fire winner!) - I like it too, but I'd say I'll have a chance to vote for it for a later round.
    Hello, hello? What's going on? What's all this shouting, we'll have no trouble here!
    - E Tattsyrup.

Peyton's for me. The new one is very boring lads.

536 Posts
    Bazunu. Love an all black keeper's kit

3,195 Posts
    4½-3 to Bazunu at the moment (with my vote the half, so we can't have a tie)

Still loads of time to vote, and another tie going live around 6pm, which is another retro v modern tie.

Page 1 of 25 12311 ... LastLast