Page 13 of 14 FirstFirst ... 311121314 LastLast

Thread: News & Facts about London bombings

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    I get 2 busses and 6 trains a day in order to get to and from work.
    Don't know about the boot disk but ye certainly will travel.

Well, I'm ten minutes' walk from Shepherd's Bush H&C line station - one of the two Mrs PP uses regularly to get home from work (Shepherd's Bush Central line being the other). I can't say I'm feeling too clever at the moment for worrying about her getting home.

These people live among us and yet they try to do this to us. My God.

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Sh!te isn't it PP? I was skivving off work all afternoon so i could check the news on the net to see what was happening Hope Mrs PP makes it home safe and well.

Mrs PP alright Mr PP?

That she be KT, home fed and watered and thanks for the asking, although since most of Shepherd's Bush was closed off until about an hour ago, we've only just gotten rid of a load of friends/work colleagues who weren't allowed home. It only cost me three bottles of wine, so it could have been far, far worse...

PP

Quote Originally Posted by Plastic Paddy
    That she be KT, home fed and watered and thanks for the asking, although since most of Shepherd's Bush was closed off until about an hour ago, we've only just gotten rid of a load of friends/work colleagues who weren't allowed home. It only cost me three bottles of wine, so it could have been far, far worse...

PP
    Heh heh! Good stuff.

Another incident, this time a SUSPECTED sucicide Bomber was shgot at Stockwell, this is from sky news

'SUICIDE BOMBER' SHOT

Police have shot a suspected suicide bomber at a tube station in south London.

Marksmen opened fire near Stockwell Tube station as passengers were evacuated. It is thought the man was killed.

Passenger Briony Coetsee said: "We were on the Tube and then we suddenly heard someone say 'get out, get out' and then we heard gunshots."

Alarmed onlookers said they saw police, some in plain clothes, chasing a man before opening fire.

Air and road ambulance crews have been sent to the scene and unconfirmed reports suggest the man was involved in Thursday's assault on the capital.

If the suspect is confirmed to be a suicide bomber, it would mark the fifth attempted terrorist attack on London in less than a day.

A Scotland Yard spokesman said: "We can confirm that just after 10am armed officers shot a male at Stockwell underground station."

The man is thought to have been either stepping on to the train or was on the platform.

Brunt said: "He was probably shot in the head. There is no confirmation of that."

Police have been given orders to shoot to kill if they believe someone is about to detonate a bomb.

Brunt said: "The officer or officers involved in this clearly felt this suspect was about to detonate a bomb."

Tube services on the Victoria and Northern Lines were suspended at the request of police..

Police have been given orders to shoot to kill if they believe someone is about to detonate a bomb.
    back to the good aul days of the sas, shoot first ask questions later.

i tell ye though, im not a big fella at all at all, but i would have been doing me damndest to catch that guy yesterday who legged it and just lunge on him, prolly his leg and hold on as tight as i could till someone else came and helped. how did 3 people let him get away?

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea
    back to the good aul days of the sas, shoot first ask questions later.

i tell ye though, im not a big fella at all at all, but i would have been doing me damndest to catch that guy yesterday who legged it and just lunge on him, prolly his leg and hold on as tight as i could till someone else came and helped. how did 3 people let him get away?
    Ok, im not having a go, but if I guy stood next to you had just had his bag explode and then legged it you really dont know what you would do. How would you know he didnt have another bomb?? Hind sight is a great thing you, but then agan so is shock and fear

Quote Originally Posted by Babysis
    Ok, im not having a go, but if I guy stood next to you had just had his bag explode and then legged it you really dont know what you would do. How would you know he didnt have another bomb?? Hind sight is a great thing you, but then agan so is shock and fear
    Well said Babysis. Written with a bit of sense.

Paul, I really wonder what planet you inhabit sometimes.

PP

aye good point, but if ye chase someone at least feckin chase him, you know like. maybe i wouldnt cos i actually didnt think about that, and i dont think i would have then but you never know i spose. like at least run with him ( i.e. behind from a short distance or so ) so you can notify police i.e. ring 999, i know keeping composed is the most important things in these situations.

keeping composed is the most important things in these situations.
    Composure is one thing that would be escaping me if I was living in London at the moment - scary times.

aye good point, but if ye chase someone at least feckin chase him, you know like. maybe i wouldnt cos i actually didnt think about that, and i dont think i would have then but you never know i spose. like at least run with him ( i.e. behind from a short distance or so ) so you can notify police i.e. ring 999, i know keeping composed is the most important things in these situations.
    Its like most things we all "think" we know how we would react in certain circumstances, but something like this is just crazy and too difficult to imagine how we would react. i for one would like to think Id stay calm and react sensibly, but if God forbid I did or do get caught in it i could be running round like a headless chicken. I think its fair play to those who tried to stop him, because most of us realistically would more than likely be thinking how the hell do i get out of here

aye horses for courses and all that PP.

its just some people ye think ye know how they would react etc. I always try to stop fights and whatever whether i know the person or not, i always try to do something in sticky situations etc, i would just hope that i would do the same in that situation, whats to stop him running off and doing something somehwere else, where as a bit of thought and common sense could catch him? why chase and then stop and not be able to tell police exactly where he has gone?

anyhow dont know what its like, hope i never will!

Note that I only said "sometimes" Paul.

I always go by the aphorism that "hindsight is always 20/20". Which of us could truly say what we would do when faced with such a situation? Please God none of us has to find out.

PP

112 Posts
    back home for my brother's stag night, but heard about the attempted bombings yesterday, so glad it didnt come off, but scary times indeed. only been home a few hours and already a few people have advised me not to go back to London, its such an easy option to just leave the city, but panic is what these people want. Really hope this is the last of it.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Which of us could truly say what we would do when faced with such a situation? Please God none of us has to find out.
    exactly PP, exactly.

Great news.

Its time now we shot a lot of people. Fight back at these sad cowards.. make them scared. Anyone who even suggests a threat or acts in an intimadating way near people going about there daily lives - shoot them.

You cannot go to war against countries like Iraq and Afghanistan while you have their residents or sympathisers living amongst us.
    If you do not remove them then you have to be tough - Arm transport police and give them a licence to wipe out these vermin. more shootings please.

Posted by Sam - Battersea on July 22, 2005 11:44 AM.
    http://blogs.guardian.co.uk/news/arc...e_station.html

does that frighten people more?

Quote Originally Posted by PAURO 7
    back home for my brother's stag night, but heard about the attempted bombings yesterday, so glad it didnt come off, but scary times indeed. only been home a few hours and already a few people have advised me not to go back to London, its such an easy option to just leave the city, but panic is what these people want. Really hope this is the last of it.
    Heya, hope you had a good time. It is a relief of course that this didnt come off, but is this going to leave them more determined to strike again None if us know, and I dont see any point in me speculating on stuff I know little about.
    For many I guess it is an easy option not to come into the city, but for just as many if not more, its a neccessity. I had no way of getting out of the city yesterday, with the 3 tube networks to my home closed/suspended and all buses full to bursting point. so i walked. I did it 2 weeks ago, and Im likely to have ot do it again. For the first time i got scared on the tube today. Was on the Victoria line, going through Kings Cross and it was the busiest i have seen it in a long time and I just got a moment of panic. But like everyone else you bite the bullet and carry on.
    I need to work, so i need to get the tube, I just dont think this is going to be the last of it, but i hoep to god Im wrong

erm i noticed the same thing babysis northern line is usually the busiest tube from about 8:40 from kings cross down to london bridge for about 20 mins its absoloutely packed to the rafters ( which in a way is sorta a good thign as a fella with a bag of any kind will and does stand out ) howver today i was able to stand in comfort with no one around me!!!! it was eerie.

Page 13 of 14 FirstFirst ... 311121314 LastLast