Page 6 of 14 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Thread: News & Facts about London bombings

ya it does put things into perspective, i mean i usually head in on that tube into kings cross, but i was late today ( cos of last night!!!! thank god i stayed for the extra drink ), just to add to that as well, that i dont think the actual staff knew what had happend because they tried to open up the line again, they didnt realise that people were injured etc, and this was at about 8:45.

71 Posts
    Paul I take it by now your Canary Wharf story was not true?

well i dont know, i mean maybe they are just not coming out with it, but thats what i was told.

I'm flying to Moscow tomorrow morning and now have to walk into Farringdon to pick up my passport (with the necessary visa) from the travel agency. It's a fifteen-mile round trip, and not one I'm at all looking forward to.

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Has anyone heard from Peadar since.
    Is he ok?
    hope he is
    Last edited by Eire06; 07/07/2005 at 1:55 PM.

just regarding the bus -I've seen pictures of it from in front and behind and it's like a John West salmon tin that someone has peeled open. The whole back of the bus is gone and the roof is on the road either side of it. I've seen pictures in the past of buses bombed in Israel where no one survived and the bus is relatively intact.

I hope I'm wrong but I find it hard to imagine many walking away from that. Reports claim that some of the dead weren't even on it -rather on the kerb next to it.

Heard nothing about people being shot either.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

71 Posts
    http://www.sky.com/skynews/article/0...188285,00.html

There's some pretty revealing pictures of the bus on this page.

http://static.sky.com/images/pictures/1312719.jpg

I hope the people in the vehicles nearby -particularly the little van with the buses roof lieing on it -made it out okay.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

but was knocked off my feet. I looked up and could see people trying to climb down from the top of the bus."

surely thats a good sign?

look at thsi:::::

He said: "I was helping a member of the public with directions when the bus stopped and the driver asked me the name of the street. I told him Tavistock Square and he called me over. Just as I was about to go, I heard the bus explode. In another second I would have been dead. I had to run for my life. I looked back and saw the roof flying over."

"In the name of God, the merciful, the compassionate, may peace be upon the cheerful one and undaunted fighter, Prophet Muhammad, God's peace be upon him.

Nation of Islam and Arab nation: Rejoice for it is time to take revenge against the British Zionist Crusader government in retaliation for the massacres Britain is committing in Iraq and Afghanistan. The heroic mujahideen have carried out a blessed raid in London. Britain is now burning with fear, terror and panic in its northern, southern, eastern, and western quarters.

We have repeatedly warned the British Government and people. We have fulfilled our promise and carried out our blessed military raid in Britain after our mujahideen exerted strenuous efforts over a long period of time to ensure the success of the raid.

We continue to warn the governments of Denmark and Italy and all the Crusader governments that they will be punished in the same way if they do not withdraw their troops from Iraq and Afghanistan. He who warns is excused.

God says: "You who believe: If ye will aid (the cause of) Allah, He will aid you, and plant your feet firmly."
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    (no added comment neccessary from me)

the scariest part with that is that a lot of these guys are well educated and beleive that god is on their side.

back on topic do people not think it was strange that no more fatalities have been mentioned about the bus bomb? and why did that driver ask for directions? was he trying to bomb somewhere else?

71 Posts
    Frank where did you get that from?

30 Posts
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/4660391.stm
    Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    Frank where did you get that from?

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea
    back on topic do people not think it was strange that no more fatalities have been mentioned about the bus bomb? and why did that driver ask for directions? was he trying to bomb somewhere else?
    It's pretty much all rumours at this point, but it appears that he was probably trying to get into a subway but after the first blast, all subway stations were shut so looks like he decided to blow the bus instead.
    The glass isn't half full or half empty it's just too damn big!

522 Posts
    Information seems to be settling down now. The Met have just confirmed in a press conference that there were 4 incidents - 3 tube and 1 bus - and 33 confirmed deaths. This doesn't included deaths at the bus incident, which have been confirmed but not enumerated.

Missing one

Anyone heard from dcfcSteve (Steve Bradley)

I just sent him his fanzine to his address in London this morning before I turned on the news Would he be on one of the tubes if he was comming from Stockwell?
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    Dreadful news. Completely shocked when I turned on the TV this morning - I'd kinda forgotten that London was a very high profile terrorist target.

Mobile lines are fecked - trying to get in touch with various people. One friend was on what she described as "the bombed train" and was stuck in a smoke-filled carriage for 2 hours, and now can't get home. Am tempted to drive-in to give her a lift, but the roads will all be fecked as well.

Glad to hear all from foot.ie are accounted for.

Terrible, terrible stuff.....
    He posted earlier
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

522 Posts
    [size=4]Lads, ye're starting to tick me off now: I don't want to see any Sky News-like rumour and speculation being propogated here, just facts. I'm not kidding, if I see one more post like the one about the bus driver I'll lock this thread and you'll have to take discussion on this subject to another site. We're not running a rumour mill here.[/size]

Cheers for the fanzine and for asking Troy.

I'm safe aand well, as was working form home this morning. My local tube station was closed in a bomb alert earlier.

Have just heard from a friend who was on one of the carriages when the bomb went of in Edgeware Rd. Apart from being covered in black soot and her throat being fecked from smoke, she's alright. Took her 2 hours to get out of the tube, and then she had to walk back home to South Ken in high heels. She was saying that the news seems to be focusing on Aldgate, but she saw absolute carnage at Edgeware and reckons there'll be a lot of casualties coming out of there.

Any more word from Peader anyone ?

Page 6 of 14 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast