Page 11 of 14 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast

Thread: News & Facts about London bombings

edited
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 10/07/2005 at 2:25 AM.

Only saw this thread today for the first time and been through all 11 pages of postings. RIP to the ones who were killed. Get well soon to the injured and thank God all the foot.ie people are ok. I might not know any of ye in London personally but I know you're work here ....stay safe all please!

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea
    sylv, the ciaran cassidy guy that was killed, was he a second generation irish? his father worked for the post office or mail crowd in north london, his name is sean. does that ring any bells????

Stopped off in O'Raffertys today for a quick pint with Pat, no sooner were we in their when the cops sealed off the area due to a suspect device on a 29 bus leaving us all stuck inside for a good while, it turned out that some eejit had left his rucksack behind this sort of thing is going to be the norm from now on.
    Last edited by sylvo; 10/07/2005 at 9:16 AM.
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

A genuine 'Thank You' from the bottom of my heart, to everyone that called and/or sent texts, e-mails, PM's. It was a great comfort to me.
    I owe a lot of you, big time!

I hope you understand that I wont be discussing the past few days, here.

Pete, thank you for the updates from the City game.
    I was trying really hard to keep things as normal as possible and that really helped.

Again, thank you all so very much.

Peadar.
    Last edited by Peadar; 11/07/2005 at 9:34 AM.

The Red Cross has set up its bombings relief fund on their website here

Quote Originally Posted by Plastic Paddy
    Source?

PP
    bit late with this ..

here

one of the lads was telling me about this alright, the last day that he knew someone or something, dont know if its true but thats what i was on about that came on radio 2.

Also heard this on the day from my father (in Ireland) who must have got it from tv/radio.

Also heard it from taxi-driver in Greenwich on the Saturday following. He reckoned it was kept quiet as they had found a mobile phone and were waiting for calls

what do you mean they found mobile phones?

Quote Originally Posted by Bluesky
    He reckoned it was kept quiet as they had found a mobile phone and were waiting for calls
    If someone is strapped with explosives and heads for Canary Wharf then I'd imagine that the support network behind him must be wondering why he didn't blow anything up. They are hardly likely to ring him though, are they!?

Too many people have mentioned this for it to be a total fabrication but how easy would it be to keep it quiet if it actually happened?

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    If someone is strapped with explosives and heads for Canary Wharf then I'd imagine that the support network behind him must be wondering why he didn't blow anything up. They are hardly likely to ring him though, are they!?

Too many people have mentioned this for it to be a total fabrication but how easy would it be to keep it quiet if it actually happened?
    Apparently 8,000 people work in Canary Wharf ..so it would be impossible to keep quiet. Maybe someone here know someone who knows etc. Strange though that the only report about the shootings was a brief snippet on the radio at the time and some obscure New Zealand newspaper.

Quote Originally Posted by macdermesser
    Apparently 8,000 people work in Canary Wharf ..so it would be impossible to keep quiet.
    We have some staff down there and I've worked there myself. No one has said anything!
    Plus, having seen first hand the damage that one man with a bag of explosives can do, I doubt that any organised terrorist group felt that one man could cause any significant damage to the buildings in Canary Wharf.
    It is estimated that the IRA used a half-tonne bomb, transported in a lorry when they attacked the same target.
    Police believe that the London Tube bombers were carrying 10lb bombs.
    That's a massive difference!

Quote Originally Posted by macdermesser
    Strange though that the only report about the shootings was a brief snippet on the radio at the time and some obscure New Zealand newspaper.
    After the Oklahoma bombing people swore blind that they had seen "Arab-looking men" running away from the scene. Similarly, I suspect that this is just some fabrication that the NZ newspaper should have know better than to print.
    don't worry, they couldn't hit an elephant at this dis......

All of the events on Thursday were distorted during the day due to fear and chinese whispers. We were called by poepl to tell us buses had exploded all over London and that various tubes had also been hit. As it turns out this was wrong, it was panic and fear. I can only assume someone saw something in canary wharf, which I doubt very much was a suicide bomber, and as the story has been told from one person ot the next its become distorted.

The police etc were more than willing to release the details of the suicide bombers involved in the tubes and bus blasts, so why not this one if its true

Much of the confusion on July 7th was caused by passengers exiting from multiple stations, having been on a single train.
    Controlled explosions by the security forces, on suspect packages, led others to believe there were more terrorist attacks than had actually taken place.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Much of the confusion on July 7th was caused by passengers exiting from multiple stations, having been on a single train.
    Controlled explosions by the security forces, on suspect packages, led others to believe there were more terrorist attacks than had actually taken place.

I know. We, like most people were sat in offices waiting for news from the internet or from people who had access to TV's. There were alot of rumours and a lot of panic. In the end we found somewhere with a TV and got the news first hand. Any event like that where there is panic and fear is of course going to lead to confusion and exaggeration. Its completly understandable. All Im saying is that perhaps this could explain this story about the suicide bomber. Ive just been told by someone who was there, that they feel it was rumour started by traders on the trading floor of certain banks. Thats the general consensus in canary wharf

Quote Originally Posted by Jim Smith
    After the Oklahoma bombing people swore blind that they had seen "Arab-looking men" running away from the scene. Similarly, I suspect that this is just some fabrication that the NZ newspaper should have know better than to print.
    According to person who posted about this here around the time it was happening, it was first announced on BBC radio.

ok, not causing panic, but sky are reporting a minor explosion on the tube here Untill there is more information, there is no point in panicing

Quote Originally Posted by Babysis
    ok, not causing panic, but sky are reporting a minor explosion on the tube here Untill there is more information, there is no point in panicing
    Was just posting that up too..
    doesn't sound like its anything too big, might just be a precaution and Sky News aren't really the best for having the facts before they release news stories

TUBE EXPLOSION REPORTED

There have been unconfirmed reports of an explosion on the London Underground, and an incident on a bus in Hackney, East London.

There have been no reports of casualties.

Stations at Warren Street, Oval and Shepherd's Bush have been closed.

At Warren Street there were reports of a nail bomb explosion. Sky's Crime Correspondent Martin Brunt said police believe this may have been the sound of detonators going off.

Victoria Line train passenger Ivan McCracken told Sky News he spoke to an Italian man who witnessed an explosion just after the train arrived at the platform.

"He told me he had seen a man carrying a rucksack which suddenly exploded. It was a minor explosion but enough to blow open his rucksack. Everyone rushed from the carriage. People evacuated very quickly. There was no panic.

"I didn't see anyone injured but there was shock and fright.

"There was a smell of smoke."

"The man who was holding the rucksack looked extremely dismayed.

Police have cordoned off the streets around Warren Street station. They said a suspect package had been reported on a Victoria Line train.

Sky reporter Mark White said authorities are "pushing everybody as far back from the station as they can".

It is two weeks to the day since bombers attacked three Tube trains and a bus in central London.

Another eyewitness, Sosiane Mohellavi, said "Everyone panicked and people were screaming.

"We had to pull the alarm. I am still shaking."
    Last edited by Eire06; 21/07/2005 at 12:39 PM.

Page 11 of 14 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast