View Poll Results: Whats your second favourite eL team?

Voters
139. You may not vote on this poll
  • Bohs

6 4.32%
  • Bray Wanderers

2 1.44%
  • Cork City

13 9.35%
  • Derry City

18 12.95%
  • Drogheda Utd

2 1.44%
  • Finn Harps

11 7.91%
  • Longford Town

3 2.16%
  • St Pats

10 7.19%
  • Shamrock Rovers

7 5.04%
  • Shels

1 0.72%
  • UCD

5 3.60%
  • Waterford Utd

5 3.60%
  • Athlone Town

3 2.16%
  • Cobh Ramblers

7 5.04%
  • Dublin City

0 0%
  • Dundalk

3 2.16%
  • Galway Utd

6 4.32%
  • Kildare County

0 0%
  • Kilkenny City

2 1.44%
  • Limerick

3 2.16%
  • Monaghan Utd

3 2.16%
  • Sligo Rovers

7 5.04%
  • No-one

22 15.83%
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Whats your second favourite eL team?

Pats for me.

Sound fans, McDowells is a great pre and post match pub, old school ground, old school fans, Town have a great record in Richer...

Would've been my neutral ground of choice when I lived in Dublin.

Probably could develop into Bray given my location now and into the future, however, I really really hate Pat Devlin, so it won't for the time being.

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Sound fans

I'd have Pat's fans second only to Rovers in the scumbag stakes (note - this isn't meant to tar all Pat's fans, so don't go in a huff if you are a Pat's fan...)

71 Posts
    St. Pats. They're Dublin, they're near me, they're not Bohs or Rovers. I go watch them the odd time when UCD are out of town and my brother used to watch them when I was smaller and tell me about them.

Of course I don't really like any other team that much. At some stage I want all teams to win or lose if it suits UCD's interests. Currently I am hoping Pats keep losing this year to keep them below us.

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu

I'd have Pat's fans second only to Rovers in the scumbag stakes (note - this isn't meant to tar all Pat's fans, so don't go in a huff if you are a Pat's fan...)
    Sure they're not all as bad as wws...

Bar annoying kids, haven't had any problems. And far more annoying kids in the eL than Pats (Bray and Waterford spring immediately to mind).

3,488 Posts
    And far more annoying kids in the eL than Pats (Bray and Waterford spring immediately to mind).
    Bray is possibly true. Going to Waterford for the first time on Saturday (only Hogan Park left now...), so thanks for making me look forward to that trip!

Easy decision, Harps for me no problem! Always have a great bit of banter with them home or away!
    And of course we had the pleasure of stuffing them 10-2 in their first game

Koh
    Thomas Davis have said they will be the last man standing, they were WRONG!!

SRFC will NEVER die!!

It depends on what you mean by scumbag. I suppose looking from the dizzy heights of Belfied anyone with a hint of Dublin working class, i.e almost the entire EL Dublin support, is a 'scumbag'. (Similar applies to the Sligo poster who cited the accent as one of his reasons for hating Shels: a) that's about the only genuine thing they've got! b) WTF! - are you saying that with a Sligo accent!!!?)
    Sure, Pats have a few messers, but I don't have to think hard before bringing family to a Pats game. No Pats fan has ever charged a stand where my sprogs have been or might have been.
    Bray and Shels are worst in league for scut (as opposed to scum) control. Bohs could potentially have a scut nuisance too, but generally steward it properly, which, incidentally, isn't hard.
    There! In a thread devoted to EL ecumenism, I've managed to dis at least four other clubs!

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BohDiddley
    It depends on what you mean by scumbag. I suppose looking from the dizzy heights of Belfied anyone with a hint of Dublin working class, i.e almost the entire EL Dublin support, is a 'scumbag'.
    True, you scumbag! An example or two, I suppose. I remember when Rob McAuley was injured - broke his ankle I think - two years ago in a challenge from a Pat's player (he got sent off), Pat's fans near me were shouting abuse at him and telling him to get up and calling his a faker and a wánker (obviously with copious f***er and b***ards in there too). Obviously you get that at a lot of other grounds too, but Pat's fans managed so much more vitriol than other fans I've heard. Of course, when the tables turn, the ref is instantly a ****** for not sending off the player who wronged theirs.

You've got the kids who throw stuff at you - maybe no worse than a lot of other grounds, but certainly no better either. I've also had an ongoing thing with the brother of a kid I went after for robbing my bag (Pat's fans found this very funny and encouraged him); the brother keeps recognising me every game and pointing it out... There was also a game when I caught the ball and held on to it to waste time (the game was 2-2 when we were bottom of the table...I suppose I shouldn't start these kind of things so often! Doesn't excuse Pat's fans for responding the way they did.) and some Pat's fan (not a kid) tried to push me over to get the ball off me. I held on to the ball, and the next thing there were a few of them (again not kids) coming up, one saying something like yer man was his nephew and started starting on me.

I've met Pat's fans abroad at Ireland games and had good craic, I should point out. However, this thread is highly subjective, so those various incidents (not had anything like them at any other Dublin derby except Rovers) unfortunately cloud my views.

Anyway, I voted for Drogheda!

'Anyway, I voted for Drogheda!'

I hope you get over your thing for Mr Doolin soon - you should try and get help for it seen as its eating ye up so much
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

In fairness your first paragraph could and would apply to any team in this or any league.

There's far worse 'scum' elements than at Pats

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    In fairness your first paragraph could and would apply to any team in this or any league.
    Apart from the bit where I said

Obviously you get that at a lot of other grounds too, but Pat's fans managed so much more vitriol than other fans I've heard.

Anyway, it's a completely subjective thing as I said...maybe I'm just unlucky!

Quote Originally Posted by cosmo
    I hope you get over your thing for Mr Doolin soon - you should try and get help for it seen as its eating ye up so much
    Nah - it's fun!

Rovers for me.

Always great banter and good tear on the drink with their fans home and away.

I've soft spot for Drogheda as well. Their fans are also a sound bunch of lads and always enjoy the 'delights' of Ballybofey.

Footballing wise - I don't like to see anyone do well apart from ourselves.

Harps all the way. The scenes the other week when the Rovers fans chanted "We love you Finn Harps we do" during the presentation were brilliant.

Genuine respect between the two sets of fans. And they have the smarts not to believe the nonsense spouted by everyone else about us.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

60 Posts
    Always had a lot of time for Limerick, and I genuinely would like to see them back in the Premier division. St. Pats would be another side I normally would be happy to see doing well, though at the moment, I'd like to see them slide a little to make things less frantic for ourselves .
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

Tough one this but i've gone for Finn Harps.Decent bunch of fans and always well behaved.The night that we won the playoff against them ( god only knows how ) they were so sporting and gracious in defeat it was amazing.I really hope they stay up as i think they are a great addition to the Prem. Div.
    I also hope to see Sligo get promoted as they would also be a great addition to the league.
    "At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill

sligoman, Terry Phelan 1 1.64%
    Does this mean that sligoman and terry phelan is the same person?
    I have scattered my dreams underneath your feet, tread carefully, cos it's my dreams you walk on.

Derry for me, soundest and loudest fans in the league.

far more annoying kids in the eL than Pats ... Waterford spring immediately to mind
    Ah $hite, going down there on Saturday

Quote Originally Posted by Redzer
    sligoman, Terry Phelan 1 1.64%
    Does this mean that sligoman and terry phelan is the same person?
    , what the fcuk is going on here

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    This is a public poll, so don't bother voting for your own team!
    Well that hasn't stopped some people has it Eire06, showgies and Terry Phelan?

65 Posts
    Rovers

Just for sheer staying power, any other club would have folded years ago
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast