Thread: Longford Town Hooligan

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    Why thank you.
    Fair play to Bray, another plucky little club like Longford.
    It's great to have you both in the premier division, it helps to flesh out the fixture list.......
    At least we have the fans....
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    Typical. If matthews was managing Rovers (where he was reserve player of the year in 1986) this would be front page news and on CNN. Oh the hypocrisy of longford.

They build a cage for us last saturday and then wonder why we would get upset? So scared of us that the programme sellers scarpered before the kick off!
    well there is photographic proof of thieving hooligans that were amongst the rovers support in longford, so maybe they were right to 'cage' you

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank
    At least we have the fans....
    if you call a load of lttle knackers running around saying "mister mister giz a smoke" fans
    save the sheep shaggers bring back beheadings for waherford

Quote Originally Posted by exile
    if you call a load of lttle knackers running around saying "mister mister giz a smoke" fans
    No, I don't call them fans. People who sing for 25mins non-stop when their team is 3-0 down are people I call fans. People who will always support the club whether or not theyare succesful are people I call fans.

I could say similarly insulting things about Cork fans but I'm the bigger man and I will not personally attack rival fans. Mods?
    Extratime.ie

Oh the hypocrisy of longford
    Don't think you'll find anyone from Longford justifying Mathews' actions. There's no doubt that he was provoked, but he shouldn't have reacted the way he did. Heat of the moment stuff.

I could say similarly insulting things about Cork fans but I'm the bigger man.
    How do you know what size exile is?

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    Ah you've just got a bee in your bonnet about Longford. You've got to admire Matthews the way he holds down a full time job, has a family AND manages the Town. Not too many doing that ........................... (and yes, he was wrong to throw that bottle)
    Fair play to plucky little Alan, a genuine Irish hero......
    What tactics,
    What ambition....and he works in a bank and with Longford too.......

How do you know what size exile is?

im the phatom flasher down the carlisle nothing on but a city shirt . btw the way frank i live in bray (moving to greystones thank god ) and have been to many bray matches over the last few seasons and your vocal support is sh1te im sorry but thats the truth

Yes, St. Damien of Richardson! I remember the Setanta cup match against Shels at the X. After Joe Gamble was sent off, he was f'in this and f'in that at the fourth official.
    Manager swears at fourth official! Hold the back page! Call the cops! Touchline ban!
    ONE CITY, ONE TEAM.

Considering Matthews is a Rovers fan, no doubt the Longford hierarchy will use this incident to claim they were right about Hoops being hooligans.

Quote Originally Posted by Passive
    Considering Matthews is a Rovers fan, no doubt the Longford hierarchy will use this incident to claim they were right about Hoops being hooligans.
    so yet another rovers fan caused their team yet more trouble last weekend

Quote Originally Posted by Passive
    so thats where they would have got all their inside information on the rovers fans planning on decending on longford like the luftwaffe blitzkrieg on poland

seeing as mathews is a rovers fan i propose he be banned from el staduims in the future

Look at that little cockroach eamon collins.
    LMFAO

Oh the hypocrisy of longford.
    Rubbish no one justifies what he did....He should be punished definately!
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

Yes, St. Damien of Richardson! I remember the Setanta cup match against Shels at the X. After Joe Gamble was sent off, he was f'in this and f'in that at the fourth official.
    C'mon now, I'd honestly be shocked if there's a manager in the league who has'nt lost his head with a 4th official.

As for Mathews, things like this do occasionally happen when passions run high, he should be punished and then move on.

About the cage at Flancare, if you lads are talkin about what I think yer talkin `bout then that cage has been up all season, perhaps set up for the Setanta Cup

246 Posts
    Fair play to plucky little Alan, a genuine Irish hero......
    What tactics,
    What ambition....and he works in a bank and with Longford too.......

Would that be a Merchant Bank by any chance ? (I always had a suspicion he might be a Merchant Banker )

Quote Originally Posted by hoops1
    Or is it Just the Hoops who get the treatment
    It's just the hoops.

Fair play to longford for treating youse like animals, it's the way forward!

The cages were actually a bit of fencing installed for the Setanta Cup to section off a seperate area for the away supporters.Imagine that,a seperate area for away fans.What will they think of next.This designated area had it's own entrance,it's own toilets and it's own chip van which suited both Glens and Linfield but unfortunately the easily offended Rovers fans seen this as an act of incitement and demanded the fence to be taken down as they paraded around with the flag they stole from Bohs.
    "At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill

Quote Originally Posted by exile
    im the phatom flasher down the carlisle nothing on but a city shirt . btw the way frank i live in bray (moving to greystones thank god ) and have been to many bray matches over the last few seasons and your vocal support is sh1te im sorry but thats the truth
    I seem to remember us being louder then yez at the Cork match not too long ago.
    Last edited by superfrank; 07/07/2005 at 12:02 PM.
    Extratime.ie

Quote Originally Posted by Wiseguy
    The cages were actually a bit of fencing installed for the Setanta Cup to section off a seperate area for the away supporters.Imagine that,a seperate area for away fans.What will they think of next.This designated area had it's own entrance,it's own toilets and it's own chip van which suited both Glens and Linfield but unfortunately the easily offended Rovers fans seen this as an act of incitement and demanded the fence to be taken down as they paraded around with the flag they stole from Bohs.
    Dont think thats the cage they're on about.Pics in the star show a different huge fence which had to be took down after both rovers board and the 4th official complained about it.They werent up for the setanta cup games as far as i can remember
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.