Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast

Thread: Promoting the club

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    What sort of promotions do the club partake in at the moment? Our average is down from last season. With our move to The Bowl coming up maybe a new marketing campaign would be a good idea.

Are posters still being put up around the college? Are posters sent out to anybody/anywhere outside of the college?

As was mentioned earlier in this thread we have a lot of south Dublin to target. I think the notion that it being a rugby heartland shouldn't be a problem. Soccer is extremely popular in the area and there are many schoolboy teams. The only problem would be if any of our games clashed with a Leinster game(eg Cork game). They got something like 27,000 for their match against Munster. Now I know that their attendences can't really be compared to ours because they are one of the best teams in Europe in their sport, but it shows that people would get off their arse on a Friday night to watch a sporting event- although it could have something to do with some of the best players in the world being on show. Anyway getting back to Leinster many of their home games are on a Friday evening, and most people with a choice would go with the rugger. Maybe a switch to Saturday nights(7.45pm) could increase our attendences, from a home and away point of view? Even the Saturday evening could work, if it was marketed and advertised properly.

There is so much potential in our fanbase, we just new to find the right ideas and ways to attract them to games.

Posts about the capacity of the Bowl have been moved to the Bowl thread as they're far more relevant there.

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    On the contrary, a new design to sell to those who bought the old ones.

Ad Astra is Latin, "to the stars". The other one is Gaeilge, how does it translate lads?

Cothrom na Feine - That was a term the old Brathair de Barra was quite fond of just across the road from you lot, in Colaiste Eoin.

It translates to something like; Equal Justice or Justice and Equality.

The phrase was always used (in my experience) in the sense of giving someone or something a fair crack of the whip - multiple senarios, but basically to be fair with someone. Something UCD could probably ask of John Delaney methinks...

" A Sheanin a stor, le do thoill, an bhfuil cead ag an Ollscoil began goddamn cothrom na motherf*cking feine?"

Cothrom na Féine just means equality

3,488 Posts
    Comhthrom féinne; no "na"

71 Posts
    It's a long time since I posted that. I thought I had since found out it meant "though your own efforts" though I don't have a significant level of Irish to translate it myself.

3,488 Posts
    That's what I thought as well, to be honest.

Féin obviously means self, while "trom" means weight, or effort.

That's what I thought as well, to be honest.

Féin obviously means self, while "trom" means weight, or effort.
    Irish phrases don't really work like that...

If this is any help there used to be a show on RTE called " Trom agus Éadrom" which meant Light and Heavy. The old badge is best for a number of reasons not least of which is the "juxtaposition of Latin and the First Official Language of the State". The new badge is only mildly less awful than the new FAI logo.

The old badge was classy and a great way to promote not only the club but The University as an institution. The new badge is crass and quite frankly too plastically tacky. Typically North American which means FUHRER Brady loves it

3,488 Posts
    "To the stars; fair play" according to Wikipedia.

Notice there is no motto on the current badge. So we no longer aspire reaching for the stars or fair play in UCD. About right for an Americanised College. The new motto should be " Survival of the Fittest; and Dog Eat Dog"

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie View Post
    Notice there is no motto on the current badge. So we no longer aspire reaching for the stars or fair play in UCD.
    Ye the crest is the be all and end all of our motto.

Getting back on topic: http://www.foot.ie/showpost.php?p=556284&postcount=147 ????

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    Ye the crest is the be all and end all of our motto.

Getting back on topic: http://www.foot.ie/showpost.php?p=556284&postcount=147 ????

If the Motto is not displayed on the Crest, people are not going to know about it are they? And besides it was a great aspiration not only for the University itself but also the soccer club. Summed up what a well run University Club should be all about.

And that is part and parcel of promoting the club. Any club event being sponsored would feature the crest somewhere. Just watch a Premiership interview on Sky Sports some time or Match of the Day to catch what I am driving at.

If the Motto is not displayed on the Crest, people are not going to know about it are they? And besides it was a great aspiration not only for the University itself but also the soccer club. Summed up what a well run University Club should be all about.

And that is part and parcel of promoting the club. Any club event being sponsored would feature the crest somewhere. Just watch a Premiership interview on Sky Sports some time or Match of the Day to catch what I am driving at.
    Notice there is no motto on the current badge. So we no longer aspire reaching for the stars or fair play in UCD. About right for an Americanised College. The new motto should be " Survival of the Fittest; and Dog Eat Dog"
    Do you do this in every debate you're in- respond to a point that wasn't made?

Have you ever debated? You respond to points made
    and make new ones.

I responded to your point about the motto and crest... what other post do you want me to respond to?

All I can do is tell you what's been tried to promote the club in the past which has failed and make one possible suggestion. But I raised these matters before in previous threads and I am getting a bit ticked off repeating myself.

We have tried many methods of getting more students to attend games here.
    Even beer promotions. Sponsorship is by Budweiser as you are no doubt aware. There was a promotion whereby a stall was set up in the Arts Commerce Law block and tickets were sold. And during the game students with tickets were given vouchers for 1 free pint in the Sports bar after the game. That was not too successful although some of the predecessors of our STIG committee, the first Student organised supporters club in years( mid 1990's) may have been attracted in that manner.

I had two ideas for boosting summer attendances
    1/ Free tickets for language school attendees based on campus
    Information on the club translated into French Italian and Spanish for distribution to these kids. We have faculties in all of these languages as far as I can recall so it should be a doddle to organise.

2/ When we move to The Bowl, leaflet drop in Clonskeagh. The Bowl is walking distance from much of Clonskeagh.

There are a few other promotion ideas.
    Get the dry cleaners/laundrette in Woodbine Avenue to sponsor the club any time a keeper get a clean sheet. Waterford United did this a few years back with a similar company.

And as long as we play teams three times per season,
    work with the opposition to get one sponsor for all three games and split the proceeds 50/50. Normally one team has two home games one season and then one home game the next , the fixture are pitched this way.
    Turn a disadvantage into an advantage. One team gets a partial sponsorship each season for a home game they are not allocated. Everyone's a winner!

71 Posts

I had two ideas for boosting summer attendances
    1/ Free tickets for language school attendees based on campus
    Information on the club translated into French Italian and Spanish for distribution to these kids. We have faculties in all of these languages as far as I can recall so it should be a doddle to organise.
    John83 and I tried to work on this. The people running the programme couldn't have been less interested. I sent one e-mail in April/May that was replied to in June. I rapidly responded and got a poster sent to them as they asked and nothing happened. The personnel change every year in the programme and they just couldn't be bothered to make proper contact.

Fair play to you and John 83 for having a go, but that's something that a full-time employee of the club should be pursuing

The club only has one full time employee and he's quite busy so we all have to chip in.

Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast