Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Promoting the club

I wonder if the club are particularly interested in promoting the matches at the moment

Looking at the seating behind the goal , closed off now for a couple of seasons, I would conclude that there is no anticipation of a large crowd.

This state of neglect is presumably due to uncertainties regarding the future of Belfield Park along with licensing and other regulations.

What is the current effective capacity ?

Would it be fair to say that the base support is strong relative to previous years and growing ?

Quote Originally Posted by Bluesky
    Looking at the seating behind the goal , closed off now for a couple of seasons, I would conclude that there is no anticipation of a large crowd.

This state of neglect is presumably due to uncertainties regarding the future of Belfield Park along with licensing and other regulations.
    The seating behind the goal is closed off because it's not safe at the moment. Any bit of rain at all and wooden walkway is incredibly slippy (as I discovered a couple of times while hanging up falgs there!). I'd say you're right that the reason it's not been fixed is due to the uncertainty over the ground.

What is the current effective capacity ?
    I don't know the official capacity but the stand holds about 850 and if you could fit people three-deep around the pitch, that would come to about 1,500 so maybe 2,500 as a maximum.

Would it be fair to say that the base support is strong relative to previous years and growing ?
    I think so, our lowest crowds have been better than they were three or four years ago. I can't speak for much longer ago than that though.

3,223 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Schumi
    I don't know the official capacity but the stand holds about 850 and if you could fit people three-deep around the pitch, that would come to about 1,500 so maybe 2,500 as a maximum.
    1900 for UEFA Licencing purposes, as far as I know.

The new ground thing is a pain in the arse, to be honest. There were plans drawn up two or three years ago for a new stand on the hill, but sure there's no point now wasting money on it if we're going to get moved. So at the moment, we're stuck groundwise until something definite comes out of the move.

Quote Originally Posted by Bluesky
    Definitely. Even five years ago, games against Monaghan and Galway in the Premier were getting crowds of 100 or so. In the First last year, they got more than twice that. It's still low, but it is an improvement. Our average last year was just over 300 (might include on average 50 away fans, with Bray bumping up that average hugely), but from the likes of the Derry, Waterford and Cork games, the home crowd at games is about 400 this season.

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    CTID those are decent suggestions and it also occured to me seeing the Milan kids that perhaps it might be a good idea to think about all the foreign language students on the campus during the summer. ?

Thats a good idea IMO.

You would not believe the amount of foriegn language students that were at Bray's under 21 match against Belgrove, and there was also a considerable amount at the first teams match against Longford. They really got involved in the match and were great for boosting the atmosphere in the ground.

(Although they did nearly cause a riot at the Belgrove game but that's a matter for another day)
    Where you start is not as important as where you finish!!!!

70 Posts
    I think we should attempt something while crowds are up and we're doing well. Is there anyway we could have a meeting with the committee or McNally and thrash out some of the ideas we've outlined here? There's little point in all of us with no position sitting here and debating ideas which we can't really implement.

Student, how did Bray get this to come to an U-21 game?

Is there anyway we could have a meeting with the committee or McNally and thrash out some of the ideas we've outlined here?
    Sounde like a good idea. We should have a meeting ourselves first and decide on what action to take.

Macker will happily let us market the club any way we want so long as he doesn't have to do anything and it doesn't cost the club any money up front.

Student, how did Bray get this to come to an U-21 game?

Well actually Bray followed in the great tradition of many an EL team to get the foriegn students to their game.

That is they did nothing.

It seemed like many of the students were hanging around at the bowling alley and saw the amtch going on so they went in. there was probably about 100 to 150 of them at the match.
    Where you start is not as important as where you finish!!!!

The solution is obvious then, locate a bowling alley across from Belfield Park.

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi
    The solution is obvious then, locate a bowling alley across from Belfield Park.
    Don't you meen locate belfield park accross from a bowling alley, since we're moving it anyway.

70 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bald Student
    Sounds like a good idea. We should have a meeting ourselves first and decide on what action to take.
    Well lads, any of you on for this?

How would McNally feel on the idea of giving out free or discounted tickets?

Well I'd feel hard done having to pay €15 in every week!
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

70 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Colie
    Well I'd feel hard done having to pay €15 in every week!
    Colie you'll never recover from the 'free programme' stunt will you?

3,223 Posts
    Definitely. Probably best to meet up first to decide exactly what we're going to suggest. The problem with this is that I'm away from this Friday to Saturday week, while you're away for most of August I think? That said, it's not necessary to get everyone in attendance, especially with the thread to post to. Our next home game isn't for three weeks (Harps at the start of August), so if we want to get something in before then, it'll have to be a midweek or weekend meeting. The Montrose is a fairly handy place to meet I suppose - central, has beer but you won't get drowned out like you could in a pub.

70 Posts
    I am away from August 2nd to probably early September. Sometime this week maybe before you head? I'll basically be gone after that. Is Thursday too soon?

3,223 Posts
    I'm in Derry on the Friday, so Thursday is the last day possible. Wednesday's out for me too. How about others?

70 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    I'm in Derry on the Friday, so Thursday is the last day possible. Wednesday's out for me too. How about others?
    Wednesday's pretty much out for me, going to the Shels game. I think this has to be reasonably early if we're gonna get anything constructive done other people's work permitting.

3,223 Posts
    Woohoo! First thread to get to 100 posts in this forum!

Let's aim for Thursday so. In the Montrose, say from 7:30? (I can be there from 6:00 or so, but allowing for others in work, etc.)

70 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    Woohoo! First thread to get to 100 posts in this forum!

Let's aim for Thursday so. In the Montrose, say from 7:30? (I can be there from 6:00 or so, but allowing for others in work, etc.)
    I think that's grand for me. Earlier the better if others can do. You could even send an e-mail out to all supporter's club members telling them the time and location (when we agree) on the off chance an extra head could turn up.

I can't make it myself but I was chatting to Bald Student there and he said to say he'd be along on Thursday.

3,223 Posts
    Fickle fecker.

At least Bald Student's a real fan who wants to help his club!

Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast