Thread: New striker needed?

New striker needed?

Stephen Grant has said thanks but no thanks apparently.
    I thought he'd jump at the opportunity but it probably would have taken him months to gain match fitness.
    I presume we're all agreed that we need another forward.
    We're doing fine with Flynnie and Fenn but we need more than just Behan as cover surely?
    Names being bandied about by City fans are McCourt or Zayed.
    Would that be too much to ask?
    Or do ye reckon Rico sees Roy as all the cover we need?
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    Youse are gonna need at least two new strikers. You can't even score against useless Longford . Over TWO HUNDRED minutes of football - and the total football of Cork yields ....................... not ONE goal.
    Hoorah, give your lads a medal......

It's great to see the incredible levels of ambition of the Longford lads.......

Youse are gonna need at least two new strikers. You can't even score against useless Longford . Over TWO HUNDRED minutes of football - and the total football of Cork yields ....................... not ONE goal.
    I wouldn't be worried by those facts as by all accounts City played well in both games but just couldn't get the first goal they needed. First goal would probably have changed a lot.

I think Behan coming back is good news.

We all assume it but maybe O'Donovan wouldn't cut it yet in attack?

I feel we too little cover in wide midfield positions.

144 Posts
    Is somebody not going to talk to this goon about spamming ?
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Roy was the weakest link last night, he gave the ball away an awful lot. Pace and enthusiasm can only take you so far - one for the (reasonbly near) future but he's not there yet.

For all the great play last night, and it was great in parts, City didn't actually trouble the keeper to often.

Used quite a bit in de midlands ..................... you should come up here more often.
    I spent a month there, one day...

New striker?

I'm sure Alan "the 12th man" Kelly will suit you down to the ground = )

Quote Originally Posted by Aaron GUFC
    ooouuuuuu, the harsh word from the bitter Galway fan.....
    let it go, man, let it go......

He was a decent centre/left back in his day...sweet left foot...but he was never a striker

I think we should wait for Uefa Cup & see if any Lithuanians impress.

Back on topic . . .

I would settle for a player who can take a good free kick outside the box. Over the two Longford snores, by my estimate we were awarded twelve free kicks in that area. It seemed that Longford were happy to take down City players as they were confident we wouldn't score from there.
    Injustice anywhere threatens justice everywhere - Martin Luther King Jnr.

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Copa Mundial
    He was a decent centre/left back in his day...sweet left foot...but he was never a striker
    Good man Alan , you tell 'em
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

Quote Originally Posted by Fair_play_boy
    I would settle for a player who can take a good free kick outside the box. Over the two Longford snores, by my estimate we were awarded twelve free kicks in that area. It seemed that Longford were happy to take down City players as they were confident we wouldn't score from there.
    Spot on, most teams realise this now. A free kick for City is basically a kickout for the opposition..
    If we had a Myler, we would be scoring 8 to 10 goals a season from these kicks.
    Rico has to do something about this situation urgently, and decide on who takes the kicks, and put a lot of practice and training into it.

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    Spot on, most teams realise this now. A free kick for City is basically a kickout for the opposition..
    If we had a Myler, we would be scoring 8 to 10 goals a season from these kicks.
    Rico has to do something about this situation urgently, and decide on who takes the kicks, and put a lot of practice and training into it.
    To be fair to Behan and even Fenn they have gotten them on target, George just hits them over the bar.

Doyle

I think you will really miss Kevin Doyle as he was excellent for you

kevin who????

devin koyle scored twice for reading in a pre-season friendly as they won 7-0 at least i think that was his name anyway
    First Division Champions

roy's in the same position as kevin doyle, he's starting on the wing & scoring goals, and eventually he'll get his chance up front and...
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Quote Originally Posted by kevincronin2000
    devin koyle scored twice for reading in a pre-season friendly as they won 7-0
    The bad news for SuperKev is that Reading have signed Bristol City striker Leroy Lita for a club record fee of £1 million.
    He's a great prospect.

Saw him score

I saw the goals on the news. They were two excellent finishes. By the way, "The Corner", I bet youwish ye still had Kev cos hes better than O'Flynn even if O'Flynn is doin quite well. I think you would be better off with Kevin Doyle. Lets hope he does a Daryll Murphy and gets into the Premiership next year with Reading! BTW Leroy Lita was scoring for fun last season hes gonna give Kev some though competiton