Page 9 of 13 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast

Thread: Games Friday 10th to Saturday 18th September

Quote Originally Posted by Dalymountrower View Post
    Bohs should have been out of sight but got rattled when Harps pulled one back.A Devoy header off the line at 93 mins saved the three points.Entertaining game, hopefully none of the three injuries are too serious.
    Great to leave with the 3 points, should have put the game to bed long before Harps scored. Hanging on for dear life at the end, and thought that effort was over the line at the end, but fair play to Devoy for saving the day.

870 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    Glancing at a cert on a phone is not the same as checking is the cert legit and belonging to the person showing it to you.
    Fair play to them if they do but i will wait to see an announcement from Bohs to bring Photo ID before i start salting the hat
    There'll be some bit of hassle at every ground either way with the 75% option unless people have get to grounds very early and be patient with the queues. It'll be a glance for 'valid' vaccine certs, maybe with random spot checks with I.D. At this stage it's more about reducing the risk to ones self, if infected, by being vaccinated. It's inevitable that there will be covid contacts mixing in the crowds but if someone wants to take the risk unvaccinated its on themselves if they end up very ill. The risk before was that too many would take a chance but we're past that now.

637 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    There'll be some bit of hassle at every ground either way with the 75% option unless people have get to grounds very early and be patient with the queues. It'll be a glance for 'valid' vaccine certs, maybe with random spot checks with I.D. At this stage it's more about reducing the risk to ones self, if infected, by being vaccinated. It's inevitable that there will be covid contacts mixing in the crowds but if someone wants to take the risk unvaccinated its on themselves if they end up very ill. The risk before was that too many would take a chance but we're past that now.

The low IQ anti vaxxers don't believe they or others are at risk.
    Although as Dalymountrower said the requirement to show a cert (if administered properly) should reduce the knuckle draggers from every club so its a net positive

870 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    The low IQ anti vaxxers don't believe they or others are at risk.
    Although as Dalymountrower said the requirement to show a cert (if administered properly) should reduce the knuckle draggers from every club so its a net positive
    Maybe Charlie Darwin has some thoughts on the matter - splitting hairs but I'm not sure they dont believe there is a risk as much as they dont care, same end result and agreed it could thin out a few of the embaressment to clubs though if stopped at a game they will just go and get vaccinated so double edged sword there.

Ollie Horgan's contribution to the LoI referee debate after the Bohs game was fair, his final comment gave a chuckle "Tonight's crew? They're not the worst, I'll put it that way to you." From Ollie that seems like high praise even after the criticism of the lino lol. The 'when you are up there those decisions go your way...' comment was also a good one with Bohs a point above before the game.

The ref let Harps take this throw in again, you wouldn't see it down the park at my son's under 12 game. The standard of the refs is shockingly low, something really needs to be done about it.

2,337 Posts
    The ref allowed Georgie Kelly to try and elbow the ball into his own net.

Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    The ref allowed Georgie Kelly to try and elbow the ball into his own net.

An absolute melee in there Nigel, totally inconclusive.

870 Posts
    I agree that its inconclusive. Harps player arriving late looking like he was leading with the arm too and its not clear which diverted the ball goalward.

637 Posts
    Clear and obvious handball, penalty to Harps.

And it was definitely inside the box
    Last edited by sbgawa; 14/09/2021 at 3:42 PM.

870 Posts
    We need the (former) resident Rovers foul forensic expert to drop in and analyise player shadows and the like - Im sure he would be totally impartial!

187 Posts
    Dundalk score a great team goal at one end and follow it up by conceding a soft goal from a corner instantly
    Paaatrick's Agletic

342 Posts
    Howler from Dundalks keeper again....
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

637 Posts
    The Dundalk players with their hands on their heads said it all

187 Posts
    Goalkeeping error #1246 this season from a Dundalk keeper. I admittedly haven’t watched every Dundalk game this season but I actually can’t remember the last game of theirs I’ve watched that their keeper hasn’t given up a stupid goal
    Paaatrick's Agletic

Quote Originally Posted by 2 Year Contract View Post
    Goalkeeping error #1246 this season from a Dundalk keeper. I admittedly haven’t watched every Dundalk game this season but I actually can’t remember the last game of theirs I’ve watched that their keeper hasn’t given up a stupid goal
    I’ve seen all our games this season and I can’t remember either.

637 Posts
    When you consider Abibi is probably on what Talbot and McGinty are on together its criminal whoever signed abibi for Dundalk.
    Murphy at Waterford?

870 Posts
    Odumosu also, could have had a hefty jump in wages and formerly with Dundalk U19s, a keeper doing some of the basics well would be enough to have us out of this mess. Players looked spent last 15mins though whether that was throwing in the towel or tired due to lack of rotation options? Conceding after scoring has also been a common issue also but it has to be soul destroying knowing that any effort has a high risk of being undone. Some decent stuff attacking at times but calamitous at the back. Never fear though as the analytic gurus will save us https://www.independent.ie/regionals...-40848208.html

120 Posts
    Ah lads stop now, we have to focus on the positives

https://m.independent.ie/regionals/l...-40848223.html

870 Posts
    Oh yes the soccer god argument obviously. Id be worried about anyone throwing out their hip walking never mind a footballer thats costing about 250k Also who is it thats from the Congo and how much is he costing?
    Last edited by Nesta99; 14/09/2021 at 11:20 PM.

3,197 Posts
    This guy isn't far off Tommy No Bobs for quality of bull****!

They also had a better goalie. Do you not think we’re trying to improve our goalie? We’ve already hired one.
    You "hired" the two crap ones too. And where was Yates yesterday anyway? (Should I point out that there's a decent keeper with European experience playing for Laois GAA at the moment? A bit of forward planning and ye could be giving out about mid table instead )

I think all in all we’re still in the FAI Cup and we’re mathematically not eliminated from finishing third
    Ha!

Did we get the best value? The season is not over so we don’t know although the season may be over for some and in those cases we definitely didn’t get the best value but there’s nothing we can do about that. That’s just luck.”
    No, that's incompetent scouting and exactly what you had a Director of Football in place for, you flute. Oh, he left, did he? I wonder why that was?

Whatever about Dundalk fans, the rest of us will miss Wild Bill when he's gone
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 15/09/2021 at 8:24 AM.

Page 9 of 13 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast