Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Cork City v Longford Town

Quote Originally Posted by Wiseguy
    At least Razor talks some sence.We set up our stall and it was up to Cork to break it down.It was a smash and grab raid from Longford and it worked.
    Thats why you won't challenge in the league but are Cup masters. You don't win leagues with draws but not losing is best tactic in cups.

At this rate Matthews will have touchline ban for rest of the season.

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    Thats why you won't challenge in the league but are Cup masters. You don't win leagues with draws but not losing is best tactic in cups.
    But Cork dont win leagues or Cups so whats your point.
    The truth fears no questions...
    It's only when the tide goes out that you learn who's been swimming naked

There I am, sweating over a hot keyboard for minutes, trying to produce a poetic and lyrical composition as my contribution to Corks year as The European Cultural Capital, and at the same time bring a smile to the faces of Cork City supporters in their hour of despondence. What is my thanks for this thoughtful gesture? A further outburst of malevolent begrudgery bordering on the belligerent, reducing me to the battered, bewildered and bemused bard which I now am.

Quote Originally Posted by sparkey
    But Cork dont win leagues or Cups so whats your point.
    Lets rephrase... You won't be top of the league with draws.

So why did Fenn come off after just 33 minutes?
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    Sixth in the table, level with Boahs and a mere six behind $hel$. Above ucd, Pats, Bray, Waaaherfur, Harps and Rovers. Have beaten Rovers TWICE this season - two nil each time. Whopped Waaaherfur three nil away from home. Add a noteable one nil victory against Pats in Inchicore with only 9 men.

Ah, sure we're happy just to be here Make up the numbers indeed !!
    Thats exactly what you lot are there for, according to your own manager.
    He says he can't win the league, won't even try, so you lot are there to make up the numbers. You are quite happy with your mid table mediocrity as you so proudly announce it above.
    And me bitter?
    Bitterness is what would happen to me if I was a Longford fan, watching ambitionless, gutless "football" week in, week out.
    I'm thrilled for you lot getting your jollies from the league Cup, you can have it, and I hope you win it again.
    Never let your bias get in the way of the facts though. Your team plays dour, sterile, 11 man behind the ball crap, awful to watch and it will turn any new prospective punters off coming to games, but you are quite happy with that.

We might not win anything this season, but I have been entertained by my team, they are great to watch, they play superb football and yes, I'd rather watch City anyday over boring everyone in to a stupor and then stealing a cup.
    To each their own...

Alan Matthews ambition is to bring trophies to Longford.Most of us accept that we are not good enough to win the league so being holders of the other 2 trophies that are available is as good as it gets for us for the time being.It appears that the people of Cork will quite happily settle for winning nothing as long as they try to knock the ball about it and look good.Probably why they gave the bottler the job of managing them.
    "At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill

Quote Originally Posted by Wiseguy
    Alan Matthews ambition is to bring trophies to Longford.Most of us accept that we are not good enough to win the league so being holders of the other 2 trophies that are available is as good as it gets for us for the time being.It appears that the people of Cork will quite happily settle for winning nothing as long as they try to knock the ball about it and look good.Probably why they gave the bottler the job of managing them.
    Alan Matthews ambition is not to get beaten, and to have you all happily accept that you are there to make up the fixture list in the eL.
    Fair play to him, he sees to have succeeded in his second ambition at least.....

HAMMERED Waaaherfur THREE nil away from home. HAMMERED Rovers TWO nil away from home. Scored TWO each time in beating Rovers and Bray at home.

Ambitionless, gutless football indeed !
    Hoorah, 3 cheers for plucky Longford!
    they WON some games
    Hip Hip, Hoorah

So you're admitting that ye are gonna CHOKE?

I'm glad you get your jollies from watching your brilliant team play exciting football, and yes, FAIL to score a single goal in over TWO HUNDRED minutes of play (including a missed penalty against our THIRD choice keeper.)

Keep up the good work !
    Hoorah again, plucky Longford.
    Keep up the brave fight, little Longford!

In the Longford trophy cabinet we have trophies.In the Cork one they have pictures of Flynny and George waving goodbye to Kevin Doyle as he goes off to pastures new.Maybe he wanted to win trophies i mean surely that is every player and managers ambition.
    "At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill

this thread is going nowhere. Locked.
    Whatever it was I am sure it was better than my plan to get out of this by pretending to be mad. I mean, who would have noticed another madman around here?

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123