Thread: Cork City v Longford Town

Cork City v Longford Town

I know this competition is hardly our priority, but in saying that i think it would be good for morale if we kept the winning mentality going. Plus a win tonight and we are only two games away from winning a national trophy.

I wonder what tactics Longford will employ tonight?
    First Division Champions

Quote Originally Posted by kevincronin2000
    I wonder what tactics Longford will employ tonight?
    Hopefully the same and win on peno's.

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    ...and win on peno's.
    Not if biscuits is in goal!

well as far as i know Mick Devine dosn't do penelties.

Just looking at the team sheet from last nights league cup games and all teams had a very strong starting eleven. I supose shels have to try and win something this year
    First Division Champions

I would gladly let Longford win by as much as they like tonight if it guaranteed us 3 points on Friday.

Of course, Longford would have to actually attempt to score a goal and leave their own half to get the win......

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    I would gladly let Longford win by as much as they like tonight if it guaranteed us 3 points on Friday.
    Totally agree.
    Would love to see us win the League Cup but i can't see us winning tonight and then Friday.
    Its a big ask.
    I know which i'd prefer.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

I also know which I'd prefer!!
    God

What do people reckon the team will be tonight?
    I'd expect at least 3 reserves to start.

Lordan
    Softic
    McCarthy
    and perhaps Guthrie?

I think we'll have Mick Dempsey in goal (assuming he's fit). Mathews usually plays him in the League Cup. Had an absolute blinder against Boh's in the final last year in Flancare. But not so sure of him. Gives me the jitters.

Hard to know what kind of team he'll put out. Usually uses League Cup to give squad players a go.

Exclamation

I dunno .... the lads are on top form lately and if they get in behnid da'towns defence and nick one then it'll be ours for the taking .... if Longford have to chase a goal, we'll be in for a few more.

I think city will have strong enough team as still few first teamers oput injured.

I think will play same as UCD. Maybe Behan for Fenn? Lordan for Hoggie?

City lost 1-0 in extra time .Jof missed a penalty in the 90 min .some lovily football was played by city .City deserved to win .

539 Posts
    i could not make the game. was there much of a crowd from longford? why was alan matthews sent off?

about 2500 there .I dont know why Alan Matthews was sent off .Longfords goalkeeper was stretered of injured.Longfords sub goalkepper saved the penalty.

So, do you still think this'll give you the 3 points on Friday? Or will the extra time take its toll?!
    God

Of course, Longford would have to actually attempt to score a goal and leave their own half to get the win......

So I take it it was more boring boring Cork at the cross?? You didnt attack tonight and all your fans got to watch another no score from you lot!!

You will have to step it up if you want to win a trophy anytime soon. Another one bites the dust
    John Delaney!! GET OUT!!!
    www.ssdg.ie

Quote Originally Posted by higgins
    Another one bites the dust

City played very well in parts, i thought we looked best in first as Longford had a bit more possession and when City got it back we did very well with it. Roy was a bit off to be fair and Dan had a mare at times but other than that i dont think anyone had any clángers .... Had a few chance that should have been converted in the second and Joe Gamble has to take shots when in the position, i'd say hes well able to bury them, just needs to take the chance.

Neale Fenn is a great player and good to see him playing all the time now. The ref got a bit happy with cards and some strange decisions at times, Billy, while i wouldn't be happy with Foley and how he dealt with it, Billy did push past him and that is out of order but some of his decisions were really strange, and i'd swear he doesn't like Derek cos everything that could go against him Foley was trying to make sure he got, but before Derek came on Foley was unreal he was so poor.

Quote Originally Posted by A face
    i'd swear he doesn't like Derek cos everything that could go against him Foley was trying to make sure he got, but before Derek came on Foley was unreal he was so poor.
    When Derek was warming up along that touchline he made some comment to Foley after the incident with Billy and the little man turned around and started remonstrating with him. Very unprofessional, can't believe he's allowed officiate at the top level in Irish football, time and again he was caught out not keeping up with play and gave some very strange/late decisions. Ref was poor too, booked Danny for a perfectly good tackle and showed Gamble a yellow for nothing, meanwhile an obvious backpass and an elbow on Kearney by Ferguson went completely unnoticed.

Still no excuse really, City should have thumped them, they're a poor side with very little ability, and it's always frustrating when the team that tries to play football comes off worst. If City want to win the league they're going to have to break teams down, cos most of them will come to the cross and put men behind the ball. It worked for UCD, it worked for Bray, and it worked for Longford tonight.

What did ye think of Behan for Fenn? Everything that we created in the first half went through Fenn, while Flynny made very little impact on the game.

Little impact? He missed a penalty in stoppage time! How much more impact can you make?!
    God

Another gutless, negative, ambitionless performance from the non-football Longford team.

I have never seen a team playing for a draw in a knock-out, must finish game, but hey, Matthews and his Longford side know best....

Fair play to Longford though, they must have got into our half, oh, twice in the second half.....

Ah well, good luck in the league cup, it's where Matthews wants to be, the height of his ambition, while he continues to make up the numbers in the league.