Thread: Away Support

The away support sounds promising but I don't like the sound of splits between the noisy, vocal (more passionate?) sections of support. I was at the home game with Malahide and the atmosphere was pretty poor - a few stabs at the drum, a skite of kids chanting 'Sligo' (Strand Celtic kids?) and a few lads at the back of the Stand - no more.
    Hopefully the craic on the away trips will begin to transmit itself back into The Showgrounds but the way the lads spread themselves out around the ground can hamper this.
    Next game I'm at will be the Dub City away game at the end of the month - hopefully there'll be a good mob for that cos i fancy a good sing song!
    Keep on keepin' on.

Quote Originally Posted by 1 9 2 8
    As Petmuller said the shedheads sang throughout the game but I think when the drum started banging it drowned out the singing.

Why did the guys with the Drum not join in when the shed lads when they where singing.

Also what’s all this us and ye shít we're all on the same side?

Fair play to every one who got behind the team I hope it will continue in the Showgrounds
    lads, for home games why cant we all go into the Jinks avenue stand. the western stand isnt the place to try and create any atmosphere at all. ok so the jinks avenue stand is supposed to be for away fans but with a couple of exceptions there never is. there's a better chance getting the crowd over there going than in the main stand, it's simply too open. the stand in monaghan was nice, small and enclosed. There is great noise coming from the lower stand end. the shed heads do a class job but this noise is being projected into the open and it's hard to hear singing at different parts of the stand. I know it's hard to leave an area where u are used to watching the match but Jinks avenue is the only place (bar the shed) that can save the showgrounds from having no atmosphere.

Re: mons
    The "drum bums" did join in singing with the shedheads.the singin got so good that we stopped the drum until it went all quiet again.If your singin it's v hard to hear anyone else above those around you. The shedheads kept the songs going and the drum created noise in between. i cant see anything to cause anxed between anyone. We shud all meet up before a game, "drum bums" and shed heads.that's the only way to merge both.
    It's not a comp on here or anything and so we shouldnt be here to be trying to get one over on each other. we're all loyal rovers supporters are we not.

Anyway this is just all talk. we'll be down to the match on sat( so if anyone wants to join in then great) and we'll see what the story is then. of course it's fine saying that and then turning tail at the match . i thought mons game was a great example of what supporters can do together. C'mon lads, let's make it count on Saturday night.
    Last edited by garykelly; 05/07/2005 at 11:13 AM.

Excellent idea - Jinks Ave stand is nice and tight and low - would get a great bit of noise if you 50 lads in there singing with the drum banging away
    Keep on keepin' on.

I heard the shed will be open Saturday night

I heard Elvis Presley is coming to open it.
    Keep on keepin' on.

Quote Originally Posted by showgies
    Yes, it's true
    Quote Originally Posted by LondonRover
    Not sure if he's available to open it though

Quote Originally Posted by LondonRover

I got this photo e-mailed to me today some of the Red army on tour

http://img272.imageshack.us/img272/4417/s24000161bk.jpg

any forum members wish to to stand up and be counted?

Formerly: wild rover
    Quote Originally Posted by showgies
    we going there then?

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo
    any forum members wish to to stand up and be counted?
    No Gustavo, I'm not in that

Here's what Sean said about the support after the Monaghan game:

From the Sligo Weekender

There was a large travelling support in Century Homes Park with Rovers supporters easily outnumbering the home fans. Connor said that the away support has been fantastic all season and that this atmosphere needs to be re-created in The Showgrounds and that maybe the re-opening of the Shed End is the key to this.
    I think for every away game the Sligo Rovers supporters have been fantastic. I’m talking about the people who came to Monaghan, and the ones who’ve watched us in Tolka Park and Terryland Park. They are really genuine supporters.
    “Sometimes in The Showgrounds I feel that if we are noisy like that it certainly helps the players and gets behind them.
    “Maybe we have got to get the Shed End open as quickly as possible to get those sort of guys in there and make that sort of noise.
    “I think people in The Showgrounds can see that the team is trying to play football and at times we are going to try to keep the ball. I would ask fans not to get disillusioned with that and not to maybe expect us to push it forward early at every opportunity because that is not the way we train during the week
    .”

Quote Originally Posted by Vinny
    Hedderman is better than Kapuno Low

good to see the art of comedy is alive and well in galway

you are joking when you say that Hedderman is the best left back in the league arent u, no way could u think that he is better then Low

Hedderman is better than Kapuno Low, but low is probably the second best leftback, better than any left back we have, even better than the great Michael Quirke
    Theres really no comparison between Kupuno and Hedderman, Kupuno all the way.

Hedderman is better than Kapuno Low
    He he! your avin a laugh m8.

and flannery is $hite,
    , bad move Vinny, red til dead is Flannery's no.1 fan

38 Posts
    Low is a much better player, all things considered, than Hedderman. Hedderman also harbours a very pronounced nasty streak. I don't mind intimidating, sh*t-kicking defenders, but he crosses the line sometimes with gratuitous and needlessly violent transgressions.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

he is pure $hite
    And you would know $hite players when you see them, wouldn't you? You ceryainly have your share of them.
    Flannery is the most improved player in the whole of the Eircom League this season. I dont know what Sean is saying to him, but, he is unrecognizable from the form of his previous seasons. Superb player now. It proves what a differance a good manager can do with a player.
    Hedderman V Low; no comparison. although I liked Hedderman, Low is by far the better player.
    I have scattered my dreams underneath your feet, tread carefully, cos it's my dreams you walk on.

Of course ..

Flannery is much improved ... he didn't play one game last season.
    A miraculous recovery, especially considering he had allegedly retired from
    the game last year.