Thread: Away Support

Away Support

been to dublin and monaghan to watch sligo on the road and the vocal support in both matches was brilliant.
    Antone at the mons match today will have to agree that the level of support helped the team and lifted spirits,which was intimidating forthe home side.
    Why cant the showgrounds be exposed to the same volume of noise.
    Also well done to the lads who brought the drum,it added to the atmosphere and got the crowd going.

I'd say around 200 Rovers supporters at the game compared to around 30-40 Monaghan if even that. It was a good atmosphere at the game coming from two different sections. The drum got quite in the second half

Quote Originally Posted by 1 9 2 8
    I'd say around 200 Rovers supporters at the game compared to around 30-40 Monaghan if even that. It was a good atmosphere at the game coming from two different sections. The drum got quite in the second half
    The drum only got quite because the signing took over.Great to hear both sections signing together........
    Did you see paul brown and his girlfriend,she was the blonde bombshell?

I don't understand why Rovers supporters are so divided when it comes to vocal support. Today we had the 'drum' supporters down one end of the stand and the shedheads down the other. The shedheads sang throughout the game whereas the 'drum' supporters only sang in spits and starts. I thought it funny when the shedheads sang 'you only sing when you're drunk' which I took as a swipe at the 'drum' support. Probably wrong as usual
    'Don't dream - to dream is to be disappointed'

Smile atmosphere

Unbelievable atmosphere! hopefully thers wilbe a bus goin to kilkenny and we can get the same down there. that was brown at the match with his girlfriend. michael toolin seemed to be hosting them. anyone know about Mc T????

Formerly: wild rover
    you taking the ****?

Quote Originally Posted by Rogue Trader
    Ya It was Tim McCann from Glentoran we have jus signed !
    yup it was him alright. former leicester player. was supposed to go to ballymena but rovers have nipped in. glentoran player for 4 years.

http://www.glentoran.net/squad1-2.htm
    Last edited by garykelly; 04/07/2005 at 10:12 AM. Reason: more info

Formerly: wild rover
    he is a class act....quite a coup...faz can take him i think though

Quote Originally Posted by Petmuller
    I don't understand why Rovers supporters are so divided when it comes to vocal support. Today we had the 'drum' supporters down one end of the stand and the shedheads down the other. The shedheads sang throughout the game whereas the 'drum' supporters only sang in spits and starts. I thought it funny when the shedheads sang 'you only sing when you're drunk' which I took as a swipe at the 'drum' support. Probably wrong as usual
    Don't think it was a side swipe as none of us were drinking.

Where were you pet muller, its all well and good to comment on these things but why don'y you back us up.

Also, an open message to the shed heads, why don;t ye lads want anything to do with the people with the drum? Why do ye guys stop when the drum is played?
    Who put the ball in the Derry net.......Theres only one Gerry Carr.

FAI CUP 1994

I am neither a Shed head or a Drum bum, but I thought ye complimented each other yesterday. The atmosphere was fantastic. With the two groups going together or at times alone, the sound was brillient from the stand.
    Keep it up lads.
    I have scattered my dreams underneath your feet, tread carefully, cos it's my dreams you walk on.

Quote Originally Posted by Redzer
    or a Drum bum
    I like the nickname you've given them

Quote Originally Posted by garykelly
    yup it was him alright. former leicester player. was supposed to go to ballymena but rovers have nipped in. glentoran player for 4 years.

http://www.glentoran.net/squad1-2.htm
    Could this mean Low is on the way out?
    I have scattered my dreams underneath your feet, tread carefully, cos it's my dreams you walk on.

well he has signed for us full time

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/foot...sh/4648497.stm

in a glentoran forum they seem to regard him as a winger. so that explains that.
    Last edited by gustavo; 04/07/2005 at 12:29 PM.

Could this mean Low is on the way out?
    AFAIK the club were looking to secure low beyond this season. so i dont think low is going anywhere. great player. best left back in the league. bar none.

Tim McCann

Well we have him now, so hopefully we can get Browne fairly soon. Another top striker would help us a lot, .

I am neither a Shed head or a Drum bum, but I thought ye complimented each other yesterday. The atmosphere was fantastic. With the two groups going together or at times alone, the sound was brillient from the stand.
    Keep it up lads.
    Like the name

Quote Originally Posted by jstuff

Where were you pet muller, its all well and good to comment on these things but why don'y you back us up.
    I was obviously at the game.
    I didn't sit in the stand so I was down along the sideline. I don't think I made any negative comments other than the fact our supporters were divided and this I don't fully understand. The singing and chanting was fantastic and I know what I'm talking about as one had to be outside of the stand to get the full effect and believe me it was loud ... very loud at times.
    Well done lads keep it up.
    Bring on de town!
    'Don't dream - to dream is to be disappointed'

Quote Originally Posted by jstuff
    Also, an open message to the shed heads, why don;t ye lads want anything to do with the people with the drum? Why do ye guys stop when the drum is played?
    As Petmuller said the shedheads sang throughout the game but I think when the drum started banging it drowned out the singing.

Why did the guys with the Drum not join in when the shed lads when they where singing.

Also what’s all this us and ye shít we're all on the same side?

Fair play to every one who got behind the team I hope it will continue in the Showgrounds

Smile support at century park

i was at the game and i sat beside the drummer boys i thought they did a fantastic job not alone did they make noise but they also took on the resposibility of carrying the drum around all day. fair play to you gary and co.also from reading some of the posts on this board you would think that we were in competition with each other. this petty slagging has to stop lets all get togeather we are after all supporting the one team. only for the drummer boys and a few others a lot of the support was drifting down to the railing surrounding the pitch. it was them who coaxed most of the support up into the stand. i appreciate that there was another bunch of supporters on the far side of the stand but as i said it would have being even better if everybody was concentrated in the one area. this is what has to be done at the home matches. i spoke to CARLOS after the game and he said that the noise and the drum beats lifted the team no end. he acting as a spokesman for the rst of the players said please give the same support in the showgrounds. he told me that he is beginning to settle in sligo but found it very difficult for a while. so lads i implore all of yee to get togeather for sat night unfortunately i will miss the game but i am looking forward to two results nr 1 is rovers winning and nr 2 is to hear about the great support and level of noise

Quote Originally Posted by Rogue Trader
    but they should me no ye and them thing just us !
    , and in English that means?