did anyone read what robert cullen wrote in the weekender this week...about the lack of atmosphere and the fans who started moaning when it was 1-1...i think he is right in this case
Unfortunately I can't get to go to much home games this season with my job (But I get to away onesOriginally Posted by Seán Connor from the match day program
) So I don't get to cheer on The Bit O' Red as much as I'd like. It was good to see Connor mention the lads in the program.
But lets face it the MC won't be opening the shed for a long time. I was talking to one of the lads who Connor mentioned in the program yesterday he was telling me how he'd like more SR supporters up their singing with them so for all the people who voted in this poll
http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=25077
Get up there and sing your hearts out for the lads. The team needs more fans to get behind them. It's not an exclusive club you know
Misfits
did anyone read what robert cullen wrote in the weekender this week...about the lack of atmosphere and the fans who started moaning when it was 1-1...i think he is right in this case
What more to Rovers supporters want? We are top of the league, we are playing some great football yet not a sound it's very dishearten for the players. SRFC supporters are always making excuses "we have no shed" If you're going to sing for your team then you will it doesn’t matter where you watch the games from. I want the shed back too but I can't see it happening for some time so make the most of what we have. Other excuses are "the bad langue from the shedheads" if their is enough people singing and making noise the comments of a few people won't be heard. So make some noise and show some passion for the Bit O' Red
I also agree with Cullens comments (link) Seán is also in the weekender asking for more noise from us
After reading Robert Cullen's article in the weekender and pondering over the many contributions here on this very forum regarding the lack of atmosphere in the showgrounds it leaves me with the following observation.
Prior to the McStay era and most especially the '93/'94 season my recollection of games in the showgrounds lacked atmosphere. This famous showgrounds roar we hear about from time to time is purely a myth. From what I remember back then was much the same as is is now. The big cheer whan a goal was scored and the hand clap when an attempt on goal was made. I often heard it said that the supporters in the old main stand would clap if a rovers player hit the corner flag with a shot.
The dawn of the floodlight era brought a whole new atmosphere to the showgrounds. The novalty of the lights brought out more 'supporters' and the fact that Rovers season kick started with the big switch on was a huge bonus for the club. The atmosphere at those matches back then was electric. I remember supporters saying that our players were akin to battery hens, they could only perform when the light went on.
The best atmosphere was at the big games when the showgrounds was packed to the rafters. With the pitch illuminated and the dark winter sky over head we'd sing like the morning lark. I'd imagine the modern game having switched to summer football is suffering because of this. Everyone will tell you that there's no comparison between daylight games and floodlite matches and you know what I think they are right. There's a lot to be said for summer football but the saturday winter/spring nights were better.
Sadly, like all good things in life, the novalty of the lights wore off. The years rolled on and we settled back to what we as Rovers supporters accepted as the norm. Rovers struggled both on and off the pitch and nobody but the diehard supporter cared. We had the belief that if only we could pull together a winning team then the good times would come rolling back. Now we have the winning team but alas the dream of huge crowds have not materialised.
Back in the '93/'94 season the introduction of floodlite soccer was the catalylst. I can't imagine what it will take in 2005.
'Don't dream - to dream is to be disappointed'
the ground is way to quiet.people say we can't sing in the new stand but why can't we?i think we need to get a group together to start it off and the rest of the crowd will join in.i don't know what it is in the showgrounds but it takes one person to start it off.i noticed that anytime i let a shout of c'mon rovers it suddenly led to a lot of people shouting it.maybe it would be the same with the singing.its very disheartining at the moment.when carlos scored i was so excited.it was on the tip of my tongue to break into a chant of carlos carols but i didn't think anybody would have joined in!!pity cos imagine how much it would help the lads confidence if all the fans were singing his name.
i agree with all the posts here there is very little atmosphere at the matches. i sit in the new stand and sometimes i cant believe what im hearing . people in front of me talking about everything but the match people behind me doing the same. when im at a game my heart starts thumping because i am passionate about rovers and i do give them encouragement but there are so many clowns there who shout abuse at the players that i feel like busting them but i know i would only get myself into trouble. the comment about the lights is a valid one but should be able to overcome. people are like sheep if you get one or two leaders who can get the chant going then you have a chance of making some noise, but at the end of the day the shed is the best place to start. get the drum over there start belting it and the crowd will soon follow. the players need noise and a place to focus on when they score remember eddie annand when the wire in front of the goals was nearly puled down everytime he scored a goal. i read a few years ago from a comment made by him in a program when he played for dundee i think he said that the atmosphere in the showgrounds was the best he ever experienced. we have got to make noise in a small enclosed area this is best and projects out. i have no doubt that if the shed had being opened from the start of the season that there would now be a greatet rapoire between the players and supporters. its not to late. i was recently asked by no name mentioned (dedicated worker for rovers)why the crowds were somewhat dissapointing. my answer was partly times have changed over 10 yrs but also the club dont do enough to project sligo rovers to the public also i mentioned that the shed should be opened. this has got to be our goal. i spent all my life in the shed supporting rovers and i am supporting them 35 yrs . if the shed is opened i will be back. i still have ahead of hair so dont be looking for a bald man. there are some more like me but it is to yee young fellows that the future lies with regard to making noise .so i implore with yee group togeather and do it now dont hesitate because if you move now you can elevate this team to greater things. make the players play for the jersey and for the bit o red
Yes, why cant we(all Rovers fans on foot.ie) just pick a place here and now and decide to go there for the next match. We have been let down by the board so many times about the shed, we all know that they are filling us with a load of bull**** about why it's not open etc. So all us Rovers fans on here, and christ there are a lot of us, pick the best place to go to for the next match and create an atmosphere there. Dont give too fe**s what people say or if they start moaning about the noise, it's a football match there is supposed to be noise, and I'm sure Gary could bring the drum too, I mean, what was the point of the trust buying it if it's not going to be used
. Our next home game is on the 9th of July against Athlone so we have plenty of time to decide where to go. COME ON LADS, GET TOGETHER AND MAKE SOME NOISE!!!!
very easy to say this in fairness. The drum was bought indeed but was never my intention to be personally responsible for it. A lad said he and his friends would use it, but unfortunately he left the area so that was a pity. So i decided to give it a lash myself. blue stand - got abuse. new stand - didnt work out at all. tried to make noise but nobody at all would go with it. more comments were directed over towards us then. people just look at you like ur doing something stupid. I'd appreciate if someone and their friends could take on the drum. i'd get a gang then to go to wherever the drum is and support it. otherwise everyone should meet in the one spot not just 4 or 5 of us with a drum, given no support. i've also alot on match days. eg. flags, player of the month award given to mcnamara, writing a report for the trust site (match reports have suffered lately). and taking player of month votes then on occassion. it's all well coming on here and saying whats the point in having the drum. People come on here saying this and that but come matchday's everyone does their own thing. Unless supporters unite, there wont be much noise in the showgrounds.Originally Posted by sligoman
Originally Posted by sligoman
there is a part of the shed open...why not there....or behind the goal we are shooting too...ill do it if robert cullen joins us![]()
we are getting the same kind of grief down in athlone
people actually giving out because we make too much noise
did you ever hear anything as ridiculous at a football match
keep on singing.............we will only have a handfull of us up at sligo
but we will be making as much noise as possible
Peter Griffin, Family Guy "I'm not drunk, I'm just exhausted from being up all night drinkin'"
Heine Fernandez is a tactical genius!!!!!! HB
I wasn't criticising you Gary, I was just saying if everyone on here met up and the drum was there too then we might be able to get an atmosphere going.Originally Posted by garykelly
yeah i know ur not. was just saying that everyone should get together once and for all. and make noise together. not rival each other. people have fallen out of the habit of singing at the showgrounds. that's why they criticise and others just wont support the drum. we're all supporting the same team, so let's club together to benefit that team. i've no prob's getting together with a gang and try and generate an atmosphere. so who out there is willing to sign/shout etc ?
I agree with most of the comments made,I myself was never one for singing with a voice like mine its understandable.But recently I notice my young fella starting the chanting and it is great to see but in all good faith I could never allow him to near those assH**es.THe 2 D Brothers and their fellow muppets and To me them Ass**les r what r ruining the Atmosphere out their who in their right mind would want to be associated with them clowns.Supporters they wouldn't know the meaning of the WOrd
You shouldn't really mention names Shiba.Originally Posted by Shiba
You say they are ruining the atmosphere? Well at present their is feck all of an atmosphere out there, the little bit of one out there is coming from them and I am glad to see that someone is trying. Fair enough they use bad language which isn't very appropriate among little kids in the ground but without the "muppets" the atmosphere would be non-existent.
My reading of this is that you may have a personel grudge against some of these guys. You seem to hang on to the same theme all the time.Originally Posted by Shiba
If thats the case take your complaints somewhere else. There is a list of rules in the programme, so, if you are so offended by the comments, why dont you complain through the proper channels?
There is always the option to watch the game away from this group. I watch the game in the upper part of the new stand, and I can hear only a faint noise at times from them.
I have scattered my dreams underneath your feet, tread carefully, cos it's my dreams you walk on.
This is another excuse SR supporters make you don’t need a great singing voice to say "The Rovers" and clap your hands three time or say "Red Army"Originally Posted by Shiba
As sligoman said the atmosphere would be non-existent without the few who are trying to make some noise unless you consider complete silence as an atmosphereOriginally Posted by Shiba
I don't see Seán Connor praising all the quite supporters do you?Originally Posted by Shiba
Just to clear a few things up.I don't have a personell grudge against these lads.Alright maybe wrong to name these lads but thats life.As for needing to sing to support the team maybe it can help and that I think that is what Connors is calling for but I don't think the type support he is looking for is when a players makes a mistake is the verbal abuse his players have to put up with.As for bringing my complaint further it was by another supporter of the club at the Longford Town game and afew others complained as well.Don't get me wrong I would not like to see these lads barred as they turn up at every game and thats want the club needs people coming through the turnstiles on a regular basis.But is there any need for the verbal abuse towards our players,the visiting players and visiting supporters.There can be a bit of banter and slagging but there is no room for the verbal abuse these fella dish out every game and its drags the name of the club down with it.
Redzer Just a quick note on one comment you made.I have been sitting in the same seat since the stand has been opened and have no intention of moving for anyone let alone these lads(I wont get Nasty). question for ye all.As supporters of the club "Do ye think that the players have to put up with the verbal abuse?" and "What do you think it is doing for the reputation of the club?"
The same point has been made all season about the lack of atmosphere. The simple fact is that the main stand has never been famous for its atmosphere and that the chants always originated in the shed. All season if you make a sound in the new stand you get stared and looked on as some kind of freak. Fair play to the lads in the back of the stand cause if anything there creating an atmosphere not destroying it. But there will never be the same shed atmosphere in the new stand because there will always be those middle aged farts that look on it as an inconvienc. Its not a new annomaly, its always been there. I dont understand where all these excuses of 'think of the childern' have come from, i remember watching the games in the shed as a kid and the language never bothered me a bit, lets face it your kids are probably speeking the exact same 'filth' at school.I know an old fella who went to alot of the old games but came back for the Limerick game, he did not come back afterwards and he said it was because of the lack of atmosphere in the showgrounds, if anything this defening silence is driving away fans amd not attracting them. The only 2 options that are left are wait until the shed is open again or move to an area where you can sing without the frowns, either jinks avenue or the bit of the shed thats still open.