Thread: Limerick 0 Dundalk 1

Quote Originally Posted by Maynard
    BTW one bad result doesn't ruin a season.
    Your right. The important thing is not the fact that we lost but how we react to that loss. So here's hoping we stuff Galway.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

bo*&llox

Quote Originally Posted by Maynard
    BTW one bad result doesn't ruin a season.
    Agree 100%, but we havent played well at all and you should know that when your 9 ran rings around us. I was accused by a certain TV pundit after the Dublin city game that i was being too harsh (in asking them to play well) and the supporters were expecting too much (in asking them to play well) and quotes of "there not bad team if there playing bad and winning".....lets get one thing straight...our team has never played well this season FACT! Also Joesoap, get a life the lads idea is first class and as an EL supporter id expect that if i were in any other EL town/city i would go to an EL game in that town/city. You are right though about shutting up about it, cos the big issues that concern us arent little spats before or after games, the big problems in Limerick FCs case as they have been now for the last 4 months are a certain center half a right wing and a forward so lets sort that out shall we? Can we get a poll up about what are the reasons in our amazing slump in form which will result in a major drop in support as it all ready has done?

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile
    The real issue when I thought about the game was teh complete lack of urgency from the manager when we were obviously struggling. No substitutions - no tactical change - nothing. Not even a roar or a bollicking for the players during the game. That's worrying. Is there any manager in the eL that you can think of that could have watched that as impassionately as NOC? Every one of them would have been screaming blue murder. Thats whats worrying me.
    I totally agree with you on this point. It seemed like an eternity before Rossi eventually came on and an 88min substitution is one you make when you're leading in order to disrupt the flow of the game. It's not the first time that NOC has appeared slow in changing things and while we hopefully can put this disaster behind us with a win on Friday night (as we did after the loss to Sligo) it isn't reassuring at all that our manager doesn't react earlier in a game when things aren't working. Another point you raised is the total lack of verbal communication on the field. It's incomprehensible that an eL team don't talk to each other constantly on the field. You'd hear more talking from a bunch of kids having a kick-around on the beach on Sunday afternoon. However as NOC doesn't seem to be too vocal on the touchline, maybe we can't completely blame the players. Dare I say that at least Dermot Keely makes himself heard!
    If you don't like John 3:7...
    There's always Limerick 37!

Quote Originally Posted by Kerry Blue
    However as NOC doesn't seem to be too vocal on the touchline, maybe we can't completely blame the players.
    I do blame the players for their own lack of communication. It does not require a verbal manager to make sure you tell a guy he has time or 'man on'. Some players are quiet by nature - fair enough - but we manage to get 9 of them every week. I know I go on about him a lot - but i was at Douglas Hall's recent FAI Cup game against Moyle Park and Sweeney ran the show. He encouraged, berated and directed his team mates constantly. We have all played on teams with guys like this and they are great to play with. The guy who shouts but doesn't do it himself is no good to anyone - but we need someone (more than one) to take responsibility on the pitch.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Quote Originally Posted by gael353
    Agree 100%, but we havent played well at all ...our team has never played well this season FACT!
    That's completely over the top. Before the Sligo game we were the form team in the division. Since then we played well against Sligo by all accounts and unfortunately lost, beat Dublin City and had a stinker against Dundalk. Lets get some perspective. We are not world beaters but we are more than holding our own in this division. Yes, we are short players in key positions but NOC and Drew themselves would probably accept that.

We were robbed against Cobh at home - played really well and gave away a soft goal. According to Sligo fans we were very unlucky up in Sligo. we should have beaten them there - hit the post twice. Unlucky in both cup games.

There is an argument that can't be resolved if the view taken is that we should be 'doing better' - which is impossible to measure. We are in contention at this stage of the season. The slump in form you talk about is a defeat to the run away leaders (a narrow one) and a really bad performance with a last minute goal to Dundalk. Prior to that we were unbeaten in 6 games - winning 5 of them.

Lets not press the panic button yet.

You hit the nail on the head with regard to Sweeny. He is exactly what we need. We want a Leader in the middle who will work hard but have a go at players if they are not performing as well. He would be a good captain !!

Anyone from the Club reading this (I am sure there are ) please sign him !!

JohnD
    "How Can you lie there and think of England when you don't even know who's in the team"-- B.Bragg

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile
    I do blame the players for their own lack of communication. responsibility on the pitch.
    Wolfie and Barrett seem to do a lot of talking and encouraging on the Pitch to be fair.

Quote Originally Posted by JohnD

JohnD
    I think he has to knock Rovers out o fthe cup to complete their misery first.

Quote Originally Posted by JohnD
    You hit the nail on the head with regard to Sweeny. He is exactly what we need. We want a Leader in the middle who will work hard but have a go at players if they are not performing as well. He would be a good captain !!

JohnD
    john ring douglas hall get his no ask him dose he want to play and listen to his ans

I Take it Willie that he does not want to join us so ?

Maybe if we all rang him and asked him nicely. Either way It's obvious that there is a complete lack of leadership on the field and we need to adress that post haste

All the best

JohnD
    "How Can you lie there and think of England when you don't even know who's in the team"-- B.Bragg

Also Joesoap, get a life the lads idea is first class and as an EL supporter id expect that if i were in any other EL town/city i would go to an EL game in that town/city. You are right though about shutting up about it,
    I never knocked anyones ideas here. I presume its the Galway500 initiave you're on about, and I certainly didn't knock that....I just pointed out what Danny might have been thinking, thats all. I personally think its a great idea.

id really like to know what matches half of ye are watching this season
    cos i cant remember any match where finny played better then wolfe,,,
    Especially the other night if it wasnt for a beatiful timed wolfe tackel in the
    2nd half we would have been behind earlier finny is by far one of the most
    over rated players in the limerick team , ..

Cool u again

your some clown daydreamer. why didnt you reply to the responces of all the fans to your previous waffle post about wolfe being beter then finni! Oh do you go to the away games? i take it not cos thats where passanger number 5 is at his best Remember the key thing about being a center half is to mark your man and header, neither of which Wolfe can do. So are you his brother or his girlfriend?

Your wrong again there Gael. Wolfe is a decent centrehalf. I wouldn't go as far as saying he is better than Finny, but this season Finny has been below par.

Wolfe is excellent at reading the game. He is not the tallest centre half around so he has to compensate for that. And he does. He cuts out problems mostly before they happen and (despite the previous post mentioning one) he rarely has to make last ditch tackles - unless he is covering for someone else.

The focus on the back five is wrong IMO. They are not letting in a lot of goals when the first chocie are played i.e. Mooney, O'Mahoney, Wolfe, Finny and McGauley. That unit works (most of the time). That has been the unit since around the start of April when we have let in 11 goals in 12 games and 4 clean sheets. The two against Sligo and 2 against Kilkenny are unusual in that run.

The real issue is central midfield. If that gets fixed I think we can look forward to a good run-in. Barrett and Carthy don't complement each other in there and if that doesn't work it puts a lot pressure on the defence. When you take that into consideration the back five seem every more impressive.

some sort of a clown ha will you stop finny is an average defender and thats
    giving him a bit he cost us 2 goals in the 1st away game to cobh and ever since then he has just continued to play below par, at least he's consistent at
    that,if Brian Buckley we would see just how poor he is ....

There's that B word again.

Finny has done it for us season after season. the only reason he might be considered below par this year is because he has performed to such high standards previously. Even with teh two goals he 'cost' us in Cobh they don't compare any way with the amount of great defending. I'm sure Paul McGrath once gave away a couple of golas too.

B*****y is grand staying in his nice safe junior world playing against Mickey Mouse strikers and looking like Beckenbauer of Fairgreen.

looks like somebody has a gripe with buckley!!!! chucka's a class act,maybe if he was actually approached by limerick he might just say yes

mmm.

Ok lads after seeing yet another shocker last night well to be honest most limerick fans at the game seemed to have their money on galway so well done to them for winning. First up LFC, WOLFE is not good IMO and clown! what are u on lads im not trying to say im a better supprter or anything but ive seen them in every game this season home and away and wolfe and Finni do not work well together. McGauley si being played out of position and is too slow so slow in fact he looks like an asmatic ant taking home some heavy shopping! Wolfe can make the first or innitial clearence/challenge well but then he falls asleep and last night on many an occasion he overcommits in the other half leaving OUR MAN OF THE MATCH AGAIN, Finni to pick up the pieces. The back 5 is not solid. Yes our main prob is our midfield or the lack ot it and our style of play ie long ball doesnt exactly mean pretty football or watchable for that matter. Sweeney may stillbe comming talking to him for ages last night and in Gort and well i cant say as he asked me not to and hes reading this. Hi Bren! oh 4tothefloor hes looking for you by the way for saying hes "yesterdays man" so i told him if he signed id point you out to him lol oh if you want to see the ful picture by the way, i always look at the opposition pages to see what they think of the game etc as you can see there quite chuffed with the team the way they "hammered" us or "bossed" us. And maybe lims till i die will tell ye but galway arnt anything great. AT the moment we are no better then we were when we last played in the Jacks and we finished last then.
    Last edited by gael353; 09/07/2005 at 5:23 PM. Reason: just am

this is to lfc in exile, regarding the buckley debate,he is everybit as good if not better than whats up in limerick and they should be looking to sign local talent because they wont attract f*ck all else outside cork rejects and other unknowns just happy to say they played LOI.
    If not to start then to at least have as an option.i think there is a few junior players in limerick at the moment that could do a better job than the players that are up there,especially in midfield where they look short of bodies.There is quite a few midfielders in limerick that would hold their own at that level.

oh 4tothefloor hes looking for you by the way for saying hes "yesterdays man" so i told him if he signed id point you out to him lol
    For the last time, I said he was yesterdays man in the sense that he is a former player who has moved on and people should get over it. I wasn't referring to his ability on the pitch. I'm one of the people that would love to see him sign, but i'm not going to keep going on about it. So you can point me out to him all you like! I was actually in JohnD's car when Brendan was talking to him after the game in Galway so he's already seen me

Personally, I think the more we ask for a certain player to be signed, i.e. Sweeney, Buckley etc, the less chance it is likely to happen....