Ya bad result for yee but good for us.If we beat kildare tommorrow yee have to come to terryland next week and it would be in our hands to make up some ground.How did yee loose,Dundalk are terrible![]()
No comment
Ya bad result for yee but good for us.If we beat kildare tommorrow yee have to come to terryland next week and it would be in our hands to make up some ground.How did yee loose,Dundalk are terrible![]()
www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.
Europe's Big Club.
"Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am
i have. we were brutal. and as for dope face(McGauley) he just loves getting sent off. on a positve note though our keeper was excellent. he will keep mooney out.
Last edited by Blue Shadow; 01/07/2005 at 10:45 PM.
That was plain brutal, teribble or any other word you care to think of for crap.
Only player to come out of that match with any credit was the keeper.
They all looked like they were wrecked & not interested.
Did they have a massive training session before the match or something ??
As for McGauley well what kind of a t1t is he??
I don't know where that performance came from but it doesn't auger very well for the future. Hopefully it was a one off.
To sum it up in one sentence
I wasted my evening to go & see that sh1teMassively dissapointed !!
That'll do nicelyOriginally Posted by gael353
Worst performance all year,and just before we hopfully sign a few new players,the players hoping to keep their places on the team didn,t do themselves justice.Sullivan in goals did very well,although slow coming off his line in the first half,take molan out of the back 4 and we were solid enough,midfield was our worst area never seemed to help the forwards and seemed very tired,donnellon tried hard but not many chances created,forwards ran all night but as i already said they were on their own.You always have bad days in the office,lets hope this was one.Whatever about bringing in purcell we badly need to bring in strength in the middle,its unfair on derek mac to play out of position week after week,knowing that he is a proven goalscorer.![]()
Fail to prepare,prepare to fail--R.keane.
Originally Posted by Ringo
ya it will![]()
kildare and dundalk are coming into the mix now though
Well i travelled down yesterday, hopeing we might just get a draw, Dont really know how it took so long to score, that keeper aint bad now , i was wacthing him in the warm up and he didnt look great but he proved himself anyway, your man that got send off is a dirty **** thats for sure, ah well lads hard luck anyway thanks for the three points .
Well done lads, ye did us proudOriginally Posted by Dave drummerboy
The less said about this game the better. I don't see the point in repeating the same things game after game that all of us can clearly see are giving us problems. If there is anything good to come out of what was the worst 'performance' I have ever seen from a senior football team, it's that maybe the management will realise that players need to be signed in the key positions that we have been harping on about since day one. I doubt it though. Hope i'm wrong.
BTW, thought Kevin O'Sullivan was superb, but again not very good under crosses\high balls. Hopefully he'll improve there, 'cos he looks a better bet than Mooney.
On another bum note, I seriously doubt that performance will convince 500 fans to travel to Galway......
Ye'll be lucky if yee have 50 and with us winning tonight and bang on form it aint a good time to be travelling up to TerrylandOriginally Posted by 4tothefloor
www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.
Europe's Big Club.
"Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am
The thing is that once we keep playing these players who are weakening our team this pulls our better players down to their level. Look at Robbie, hes up there doing the work of two men cos that clown cant run or do anything for that matter. We've only played well once this season away to Kildare and thats it.We were hammered in Monaghan but won in the last min, we huffed and puffed against athlone untill their defence colapased and they gave us 3 goals in the last twenty, be beat a poor Kilkenny side two nil in one of the biggest bores untill Friday night. We were beaten at home by sligo cos we are defective in the afore mentioned areas (for the last 3 months) had a lucky win away to 9 man Dublin as they ran all over our 8 players and three passangers and then Friday night. Ok booing might be harsh but that was the worst performence by any limerick team in over ten years. Att are dropping cos the football if u wanna call it that is so so poor. So why are we up in 4th or whatever it is the answer is the league is **** poor and every fan knows it. But i love cork right i love the girls and so on but Wolfe, Cant Pass and Nolan have to be the least talented players ever to come from that county. How can we possibly chalange with them on board? Oh yea O'Sullivan put in the best keepers performance other then O'Hara of Sligo the other night so he must be dropped for the return of the jester!
I hope you're right because this kind of result has been coming for a while. We've been beating teams, but not at all convincingly. Ironically enough, we put in our best performance when we were beaten at home to Sligo, as it was a big game and an oppertunity to go top of the table. But there was no spark against lowly Dundalk. We were flat and completely devoid of ideas.Originally Posted by Vinny
I think it's unfair on Derek McCarthy, Bryan Donnellan and Tom McGauley being played out of position. Three of our better players being sacrificed in their proper positions to cater for our three passengers. Tom McGauley, probably our best defender in the air, is being played left back. He's now been sent off twice in that position and is clearly not suited to playing out wide. His positioning isn't right and he dives into tackles as a result. Derek should be up front while Bryan Donnellan is being played on the wrong flank. If these things were put right, we'd have a much better and more balanced side, and that's without even signing a player. You add Eoin Keating in the centre of midfield and another decent signing and we'd be looking good.
I think it was the worst performance in a few seasons - even worse than last season! Nothing worked. Basic errors like marking at set pieces, control and passing. From Molan's mistakes in the first 2 minutes a complete sense of apathy and lack of ability seemed to sweep through the team. We made a very average Dundalk team look brilliant.
Sullivan made two fantastic saves and almost deserved a clean sheet for them. He does seem glued to his line though. Mooney should get his place back. He is as good a keeper and contributes more in terms of organisation at the back. Finny and Wolfe did okay in open play but at set pieces the marking was awful. This is something that Finny should be organising.
Midfield is a big problem at this stage. Carthy had a terrible game IMO. I know he is out of position, but that doesn't explain not being able to control the ball and find a blue shirt with passes. He was caught in possession too often because he needed too manytouches to control. He is a fine player most days and I think this was an aberration in fairness. He shouldn't have stayed on as long as he did.
It was obvious as well on Friday night that the crowd really don't give a chance to certain players. While others get away with murder. NOC gets accused of showing favouritism and yet the fans do it as much. For example, nobody was swearing at Carthy, and Robbie was awful (for a change) but nothing said. Nolan was given no credit for good play early in the game. Granted second half he was anonymous and rightly subbed. But its almost as if fans are waiting for certain players to mess up, and then overlook bad play by others. The calls for CP to 'jump' with the centre half were typical. If he won the headers the ball would only have run onto the keeper. He did the right thing by putting some pressure on teh centre half so that the clearance would be rushed and maybe taken by the midfield who should have pushing up behind the play. Also, if the centre half misses or makes a mistake he can take advantage. But some fans took his 'not jumping' as a sign of disinterest. I am not saying he was brilliant or anything near it - he, like many of teh others, was ineffective but only he got the stick.
The other thing that struck me was the silence of the team. Apart from McGauley and Mooney, nobody on that team talks. Molan nodded it out for a corner at one stage with nobody behind him, because he got no call. Players rush clearances or get caught in possession for want of a basic call. Its junior type stuff. You'd think we were the Library Inter Firm team. This applies to NOC as well (and Ryan). If nothing else out of sheer frustration any manger would have been bollicking his player sout of it that night. NOC was stoney. That has to change.
NOC's sub policy is baffling. If that performance didn't warrant changes what would? At least Rossi got half an hour - and O'Mahoney's substitution came in the 88th minute. Why wasn't he on for Molan who was having a very poor game. I did not hear who else was on the bench but I presume Ryan was there. Ahearne. Either of these could have been given a run. And why make a change at 88 minutes? A substition is not a sign of weakness.
I still think we will be thereabouts at the end of the season, though Friday was worrying. Not for the performance but for the reaction (or lack thereof) from the bench and from certain players. If we want to do it we can - but this is a critical stage now.
"It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair
I have always said that we are in a false position all year. If we continue not to pick our strongest 11 players then we will slide down the table.
LFC - Ask NOC why Stevie was dropped, I know why and it's got nothing to do with football either.We have lost enough players from his Management Style already. Molan is one of NOC's Pets, of which there are a few,can do no worng alongside CP, Jamie etc.
What is it do you lose all sense when you move to Langerland or what? All 3 of the Cork lads (Wolfe,Nolan and CP) are poor IMO. When we played Carthy up front with Robbie we were scoring goals and both worked hard. CP will not work and slows down just as he is about to get the ball why ?? Even Freud would have his work cut out there I think. Nolan is prob a good Striker, I dont know as I have never seen him there. To Reiterate a point made earlier We are playing too many people out of position and there is NO Leadership from the sidelines either. I have seen this happen before when we were bottom of the league a few yrs back in the Jacks...Plus cha change C'est La meme chose etc!!
We have a huge gaping hole in the middle of the park also. Rossi should at least be given a try in the next game (Could do no worse). What about our New Zealand international, I bet he can control the ball, unlike Donnellan![]()
Team that would beat Galway:
O'Sullivan
Stevie
Finnie
Wolfe (Cant think of anyone - since we left Timmy Lynch go)
McGauly (suspended prob)
Rossi
Barrett
Keatso
Young
Carthy
Robbie
Totally Pi****ed off at the mo
JohnD
BTW Welcome back 3 Ex Limerick Players in a few weeks when we play the Kerry Lads (Sugrue,Lynch,Conway). Pity we dont have James now !!
"How Can you lie there and think of England when you don't even know who's in the team"-- B.Bragg
i heard calls to the samaritans went up by 100% after fridays game, as one guy said to me the other night why dont you go to snooker halls start smoking and develop a decent hobbie for depressing yourself! i think the slovakian lad Rasto Kupec is available to play now. But in all honesty we're gonna get hammered by galway cos we dont know how to defend set pieces. This is galways main strength and the fact we play with only one midfielder means there two experienced mid fielders will have a field day. Stevie will be back with molem switched to left back for that fool 'sweat' McGauley. But some players who everyone bar one or two (one in management) we said at the start of the season we shouldnt sign should be flogged off now there shockingly bad.
JohnD - I agree with every single word you said (apart from me having no sense). I would play Carthy up front with Robbie as well. Keating is badly needed. I also agree (in fact i think I said we had no leadership on the bench as well as on the pitch). I know why Stevie was dropped - although quite a lot of fans were looking for him to be dropped anyway. I'd also like to see Young given a proper chance. I'd pick the same team as yourself except I'd have Mooney in goal if fit.Originally Posted by JohnD
The only thing we seem to disagree on is whether CP should have jumped on Friday.[I know a few want him to jump permanently
]. The point I was trying to make was just that some players do not seem to be getting a fair crack from the management - though ironically this is also true of the fans.
The real issue when I thought about the game was teh complete lack of urgency from the manager when we were obviously struggling. No substitutions - no tactical change - nothing. Not even a roar or a bollicking for the players during the game. That's worrying. Is there any manager in the eL that you can think of that could have watched that as impassionately as NOC? Every one of them would have been screaming blue murder. Thats whats worrying me.
"It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair
Agree with you re Lack of Passion etc. Real bad vibes around town for the past few days. We are certainly going to lose a lot of the more fickle fans if we continue to play that way.
Never meant to say you had no sense, always rekconed you were very sensible young chap!!. Our 3 players from the Second city, however, havent got a ounce of sense (in footballing terms)between them.
JohnD
"How Can you lie there and think of England when you don't even know who's in the team"-- B.Bragg
Long time since anyone called me young!Originally Posted by JohnD
Thank you - you've made a depressed blue very happy.
Sweat is a legend. It's nuts to play him out of position. I'd have him back at the drop of a hat, but that's highly unlikely, not least because we have about 5 possible centre-halves. BTW one bad result doesn't ruin a season.