Thread: FAI Cup 2021

Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    Pat's name appears to be on the cup.
    If they can get their defenders back for the further rounds they'd be a good cup bet, for my money.
    Two centre halves were on yellow card suspensions and the third is following return to play protocols after concussion so all should be grand for next round. Plus we have a star in the making in the 16 year old Abankwah who was flawless last night, while Griffin returned after a long injury, so Mountney is now the only long-term absentee in defence.

2,346 Posts
    It's Harps cup to lose now.

3,219 Posts
    Didn't ye jinx the league the same way?

447 Posts
    Last night was my second game back. I got to one game last year after the initial lockdown, also against Pats coincidentally and we were battered in that game. Last night reminded me why I enjoy live football so much, even when the football itself isn't at its best. We were the better team in the ninety though really neither team tested the opposition keeper much.
    Scoring with effectively the last kick of the game into the Shed was a brilliant moment and Coffey is quickly becoming a fan favourite.
    Extra time we were barely hanging on as fatigue set in and our penalties were very poor, but there's no shame in our lads going out like that to a title contender. Gives us some hope for next year.
    Cian Coleman was excellent at centre back and showed some real leadership consoling Coffey for his missed penalty. He met him half way between the box and halfway line to lift his spirits. Cian Murphy looks like he could maybe be a Premier Division player, or at the least a very good First Division one, and the rest can all hold their heads high. Though Dylan McGlade is the most frustrating footballer alive. Always had to take an extra touch when he has a shot on or a pass, and more often than not ends up in a worse position as a result.
    Hopefully next season with decent crowds back we can have an enjoyable season. Id love to get back to an away game at some point. My last one was the six nil loss in Tallaght.

874 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    Extra time we were barely hanging on as fatigue set in and our penalties were very poor,
    They were embarrassing but dont tell sullane!

346 Posts
    Maynooth beat Cobh!

271 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joey B View Post
    Maynooth beat Cobh!
    Is Killduff the manager or just a coach.

Maynooth beat Cobh!
    Embarrassing. 😬

346 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by D24Saint View Post
    Is Killduff the manager or just a coach.
    He’s player/coach I think…

874 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sullanefc View Post
    Embarrassing. 
    Cobh, like Cork now have no distractions now so they can concentrate on who is tops in Co. Cork, should be an interesting mini league within a league. And its not embarrassing Its football!! get it right...

3,219 Posts
    All set up for the big college derby in the quarter finals!

271 Posts
    Is a date set for the draw ? Hopefully next time it will be given more respect than a sideshow on 2fm. I thought the last effort was shameful by the FAI & RTÉ.

3,219 Posts
    I normally ask you that question, I think?

Yeah, I have no idea how the FAI continually make such an amateur hames of something so simple as the presentation of a Cup draw.

229 Posts
    Catholic Universoty v Catholic Seminary who would the Pope of Rome be shouting for?

184 Posts
    Maynooth beat Cobh!
    Maynooth have made great strides in the last 10 years. They hired a full time football development officer about 10 years ago and starting offering football scholarships. Soon after they also set up the merger with the town club. It's paid massive dividends.

874 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dalymountrower View Post
    Catholic Universoty v Catholic Seminary who would the Pope of Rome be shouting for?
    St Francis fc.

184 Posts
    Even game here in Killester. Both sides with a couple of chances so far but no breakthrough. Keepers made decent saves for both sides.

184 Posts
    Very competitive game in Killester. 0-0 at half time. It's a bit helter skelter at times but that's cup football I suppose. Couple of very strong challenges on both sides too. Both sides have 1 or 2 yellows.

363 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sullanefc View Post
    Embarrassing. ��
    How dare you, there was a bit in the DFC online programme last Fri (available to anyone I think to view https://www.dundalkfc.com/wp-content..._Digital-1.pdf), we still have the record in LOI of 6 defeats to NL sides in FAI Cup, one was actually Cobh in 1983, the other remarkable one was Ashtown Villa in 1992, both of these as defending league champions too (1982 + 1991).

Glad it didn't change to 7 !
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

21. Thanks From:

184 Posts
    Wexford starting to turn the screw now. Dominating the 2nd half. No 16 up front for Wex a dangerous player.

Page 10 of 35 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast