Thread: U2 Yawn

I like that last paragraph in your post. Walking the commercial path is a very easy thing to do.

The yawn on U2 can be expected, after all they're Irish. No matter where in the world, people will somewhat be enthousiast when a local makes it big. You see it in sport, you see it in music, in film, ...

And let's stay fair and square, they did write a huge number of classics and can bring a very entertaining show even with only those epics. I must say: respect for them for playing also some less known songs in their setlist. During the tour they played songs like An Cat Dubh that maybe are well known amongst U2 fans but not amongst the mainstream audience. To play such a song and leave out recent hits such Sweetest Thing or Stuck In A Moment, that's quite nice and respectable. It would be much easier for them to play only classics, but they don't.

Lyrically mediocre ? Thought so at first as well, though when going through some less known work, I must say I was very pleasantly surprised sometimes by their lyrics. Of course the most simple songs make the charts and radio, but they do have their share of in-depth lyrics for sure.

But don't take from this that I'm suddenly a U2 fan. Sympathisant, not fan.
    Visit my favourite teams :

www.kvo.be - www.shelbournefc.ie - www.rosenborg.info

144 Posts
    Must agree with Lionel, I have never been compelled to buy any U2 albums. My cd collection is quite substantial but I just don't like U2.
    I mean fair play to them and all that but its just not my cup of tea.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Quote Originally Posted by Conor74
    I think he's Welsh!
    Born in Essex to Welsh parents, I believe.

Quote Originally Posted by Elroy
    Ah come on now lionel, surely you can't deny one or without or without you arent great songs. Dont think atomic bomb was that good, all that you cant leave behind was a very good however. In fairness to still be as popular after so long, they're doing something right
    One's an okay song (not a patch on Metallicas One mind )...I don't get all that excited about it but yeah it's a nice wee song. Never liked with or with you though ...arrangement, melody, lyrics the lot -all seem to rub me up the wrong way a bit.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    In terms of what U2 have produced and continue to produce, over such a long period of time, they're up there with the greatest.
    As a nation, we love to knock people who are successful.
    I see nothing more than this in the comments of those who try to belittle U2 and their music.
    Peadar will you dry your eyes. Therein is the rub of what gets to those -particularly us Irish -who beg to differ when it comes to U2. We're begrudgers and we're unpatriotic because we don't love everyone elses pet feckin band.

Read my original post again. There's no absolutisms in it. I claim nothing as fact -just that they've always left me a bit cold and indifferent.
    Last edited by Lionel Ritchie; 30/06/2005 at 9:58 AM.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

I'm proud to say my favourite U2 song or rendition thereof is The Joshua Trios reneck tilt at 'The Fly'

Much better melody and arrangment

Shoo Fly don't bother me
    I don't want your company

Fly in the Buttermilk
    Shoo Fly Shoo
    Fly in the Buttermilk
    Shoo Fly Shoo
    Fly in the Buttermilk
    Shoo Fly Shoo
    Skip-to-m'loo my darlin'

Yeehaw!

Joshua Trio Responsorial Psalm: "Yea -and the lord sent the Joshua Trio to take the music of U2 and make it good -Response"

"That's not what we read in Melody Maker"

" I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Where are they and how long are they "pushing the envelope"?
    New bands come out with these radical ideas and think, 'hey man, we're so different.' In truth, the ideas run out after the first album.
    It's a simple fact that U2 are still selling albums and still selling out tours all over the world. Few other bands could do it.
    U2 certainly don't need to do it.
    They could all have a nice quiet life somewhere but they just keep on turning out great stuff.
    I love the new album!
    I love pretty much all their albums.
    It's a matter of personal preference.
    Well I'd rather listen to something new for just one album than listen to them tools turningout the same commercial tripe each album (mind you I am glad to say I never wasted any money on them), but musically they are wasted. So what if they sell CD's the world is obviously full of people who either brainwashed or don't know the value of the money they earn e.g the Crazy Frog sold lots and its as exciting as City of Blinding Chites. Yeah it is a matter of personal preference but Im not one to knock because they were raised around the corner. When I hear a band I want to be impressed at there blistering MUSICAL ability; this has never happened with U2, chirpy tunes yes but geniuses NEVER.Bono- No, not a wonderful voice hes ok but leave down the guitar, Adam- Bass does whats needed but is the whipping boy for criticism, however, hes no Entwhistle or Jones, The Edge- Way overrated Larry- Ordinary

In comparison with the Stones mentioned earlier they are only going a fraction that the Stones are, while unlike the Edge the Stones have possibly the greatest riff writer of all time in Richards, not to mention the frontman that is the enigmatic Jagger.

Quote Originally Posted by Flea
    So what if they sell CD's the world is obviously full of people who either brainwashed or don't know the value of the money they earn e.g the Crazy Frog sold lots and its as exciting as City of Blinding Chites.
    The difference is you wouldnt get 250,000 people in one weekend in croke park dancing to the crazy frog. (maybe you would in Tallaght though?)

They are hardly ****e in fairness. Its all about personal preferences. End of story really.

Live and let live.

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Countyman
    The difference is you wouldnt get 250,000 people in one weekend in croke park dancing to the crazy frog. (maybe you would in Tallaght though?)

They are hardly ****e in fairness. Its all about personal preferences. End of story really.

Live and let live.
    Or sell out Hampden, City of Manchester Stadium, Camp Nou, Twickenham

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979
    Or sell out Hampden, City of Manchester Stadium, Camp Nou, Twickenham
    As I said before they are damn good at brainwashing and hype

concert u2 in paris

I don't speak very well... i'm french so i'm sorry!!
    But I like U2 very much and the concert is this saturday..no place...
    a little Think about personn who have no place...like me!!
    I have a serious difficulty to speak!!!
    So I just think about personn like me..
    I'm so... !!!
    give me a place if you have it!!! please!!

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie
    I'm proud to say my favourite U2 song or rendition thereof is The Joshua Trios reneck tilt at 'The Fly'

Much better melody and arrangment

Shoo Fly don't bother me
    I don't want your company

Fly in the Buttermilk
    Shoo Fly Shoo
    Fly in the Buttermilk
    Shoo Fly Shoo
    Fly in the Buttermilk
    Shoo Fly Shoo
    Skip-to-m'loo my darlin'

Yeehaw!

Joshua Trio Responsorial Psalm: "Yea -and the lord sent the Joshua Trio to take the music of U2 and make it good -Response"

"That's not what we read in Melody Maker"

I've never heard that version, but it sounds mighty . Your post made me laugh out loud Lionel. Classic stuff.

Quote Originally Posted by Flea
    In comparison with the Stones mentioned earlier they are only going a fraction that the Stones are, while unlike the Edge the Stones have possibly the greatest riff writer of all time in Richards, not to mention the frontman that is the enigmatic Jagger.
    Best riffs are definitely Tony Iommi's. Brilliant !

On-topic: I will speak in French directed to our French visitor... Sarah, il y a toujours des gens qui vendent tickets pour le concert just a coté du stade. J'ai acheté mon ticket pour le concert en Dublin le meme maniere. Bonne chance et amusez-vous en concert !
    Visit my favourite teams :

www.kvo.be - www.shelbournefc.ie - www.rosenborg.info

Quote Originally Posted by Conor74
    Lot of truth in that.

I like a lot of what U2 brought out in their day. I still reckon their cover of Cole Porter's 'Night and Day' is a classic, one of the best covers ever.

And to be honest, I would have to say that - overbearing arsehole or not - Bono is an outstanding lead vocalist with a powerful voice.

And Adam is...well, a bassist.

I have heard complaints about Larry Mullen, but frankly he seems fine to me.

My difficulty is with the Edge. It's just the same chopping style guitar play rehashed again and again. And that's not begrudgery - I think he's Welsh! But imho he must be the least capable guitarist to have made €100million out of the music business ever. Good luck to him, the formula works so why should he change. I just tired of it.

As for pushing the envelope, I agree with that too. On the other hand, I wouldn't necessarily like music that consisted of otter mating sounds played backwards through a computer, but I do have an admiration for bands that steer away from commercial success, and that's one thing U2 could never be accused of doing...
    #The Edge is a very effective if simple piano player