Listen to the man!![]()
Maybe i'm the only one not to have gone to the concerts but why so much praise of U2 recently? Old albums were great but latest offerings were terrible.
Are U2 any different from the Rolling Stones travelling on endless golden hits concert route?
Listen to the man!![]()
God
Have to admit than Atomic Bomb wasn't brilliant but All That You Can't Leave Behind was their best album so far I reckon. I've been a fan since 1985 and was very impressed with it.Originally Posted by pete
Plus the Stones have been living off albums they released about 30 years ago, half the stuff U2 played at their concerts was released in the last 5.
UCD sha-la-la
Just a question of taste - some of us have good taste and like their modern albums, other's are stuck in the 80's....![]()
I thought the recent singles good to listen on the radio but I was unable to listen to album straight through.Originally Posted by Macy
I won't even mention the "poverty" stuff to confuse the debate.
Am i one of the only ones that thinks they're really overrated - even their older stuff isn't that good - tbh i find them really annoying and thats before bono goes on about world peace, etc
Saw the popmart show though - that was amazing!!
DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS
I didn't go either.....Originally Posted by pete
But its been U2 all over the radio aswell, getting bored listening to them over and over and over and over and over again, thats before bono starts mouthing off aswell...
To quote Bono "Fcuk the begrudgers"![]()
MOT
Nice to find a few like-minded souls.![]()
In 28 years they've yet to make a record that I felt compelled to buy. (and I felt compelled to buy some stinkers in my time ... P.H.U.Q. by the Wildhearts comes to mind -Jesus Phuqqing Christ what a s hit phuqqing record -one good song and the rest sounds like the phuqqing Quireboys or Dogs D'Amour)
I don't think U2 are a bad band by any means but my reaction to virtually everything they releasse tends to be "So What?"
I just find it very bland, music-by-the-numbers and lyrically very banal.
There's a lot more bands doing way more interesting things and really pushing the envelope.
" I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"
Ah come on now lionel, surely you can't deny one or without or without you arent great songs. Dont think atomic bomb was that good, all that you cant leave behind was a very good however. In fairness to still be as popular after so long, they're doing something rightOriginally Posted by Lionel Ritchie
Originally Posted by Cosmo
Every band in the world, ever, is overrated by someone!
When push comes to shove, it's just people making music.
I really enjoy the music of U2 and went to the gig to be entertained.
I was!
I didn't go there to be a friend of Bono or to agree with anything he said, just to hear the music.
In terms of what U2 have produced and continue to produce, over such a long period of time, they're up there with the greatest.
As a nation, we love to knock people who are successful.
I see nothing more than this in the comments of those who try to belittle U2 and their music.
Where are they and how long are they "pushing the envelope"?Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie
New bands come out with these radical ideas and think, 'hey man, we're so different.' In truth, the ideas run out after the first album.
It's a simple fact that U2 are still selling albums and still selling out tours all over the world. Few other bands could do it.
U2 certainly don't need to do it.
They could all have a nice quiet life somewhere but they just keep on turning out great stuff.
I love the new album!
I love pretty much all their albums.
It's a matter of personal preference.
Ah here, I don't knock people when they're successful - fair play to anyone thats a success (and thats including ronan!!). Fair play to U2 for being so successful for so long, but imo theyve only had a few decent songs but overall they're s**t!!
Edit: Can I also add, I mightnt like their music that much but they do put on a great show![]()
Last edited by Cosmo; 29/06/2005 at 1:03 PM.
DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS
bit too sweeping a statement there, no?Originally Posted by Peadar
you could argue that u2 made three records similar to their first one, two records similar to their fourth, and three more riffing off their seventh! i'll let you figure that out![]()
for the last two it seems they're trying to make albums that somehow sound like all the others mashed together..
i like u2, used love them, boy/zooropa are me favorites and they are incredible live. even when they played that batman song. but i'd love to see them tear down their styles/sounds. they seem capable, edge is certainly creative enough sonically. but bono rhymes sky with high too much and larry's primitive style needs a shake-down.
I've never knocked them for being success.
I think theres a big distinction between their stadium concert entertainment & their albums. I'm sure there are few better stadium bands but IMO their recent albums are over-rated.
Some of us have great taste and get bored by everything they've ever released...!Originally Posted by Macy
God
A Shels fan being bored by something!!Originally Posted by EnDai
Surely anyone who can tolerate their style can tolerate anything?![]()
Most things, with the two exceptions being U2 and the senses of humour down south!![]()
Hehe.![]()
God
Exactly what i thought after Friday nights concertOriginally Posted by pete
Originally Posted by Peadar
Says your man who left Cark completely...