Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 567

Thread: Games Weekend 21st to 24th May

96 Posts
    There was mention I think of there been limitations to Greene as a striker earlier in this thread, though he is a nice player I felt the same when he was with us and unless ye sign in the window we might have a squeak and the same for Pat's.

105 Posts
    Bolger brilliant again. Still think he's the best in the league in that role and has been for a good 8 or 9 years. Would have loved to have him back.

386 Posts
    Bolger and Buckley have been absolutely superb for us this season. Great win. Shams were certainly there to be beaten tonight with so many missing but we still had to do it. Cagey enough game and thankfully Romeo took the chance when it came his way.

172 Posts
    Hoare, Finn & Watts missing has a bigger effect than previously thought, and Sligo deserve to be top based on tonight's performance. Burke has a negative influence on the way Rovers play imo, so hopefully Towell coming in will have a restorative effect on the team. I'm still hopefull that Rovers will ultimately win the league, but I don't see us doing much in Europe this season, if I'm honest.

270 Posts
    Still think that Rovers are nailed on for the title. I have my doubts about progress in Europe myself. It will be interesting how all our teams get on. Who is in the Uefa conference ?

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jack B View Post
    A great day for football.
    Agreed.

96 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    Sligo deserve to be top based on tonight's performance.
    Very magnanimous of you there Placid, that's a first surely?

105 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dalymountrower View Post
    Agreed.
    Certainly a big one for Bohs to get a bit of breathing room from the bottom half.

Well done to Sligo - they were more than worthy of the three points and deserve to be top. We need the break badly.

Quote Originally Posted by Calcio Jack View Post
    We had a number of near misses - deflection in first half from Gannon shot , Burke shot near the end and some other half chances - Mannus aside from the goal also had little to do - was always going to be a tight match and fair play to Sligo they took their chance- anyway now in full on crisis mode but still only one point off the top - considering the length of our injury list
    Our results have covered up that we've been full of nearlies all season. I'd like to see what our actual hit rate is for shots on target because a lot of games we seem to be bashing shots wide from distance so it looks like we're making loads of chances, but we're not making good chances.

116 Posts
    Rovers should be walking the league and possibly will but they have a clown of a manager

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DCWA View Post
    Rovers should be walking the league and possibly will but they have a clown of a manager
    Oh jaysus not this debate again!

222 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jack B View Post
    Absolutely stunned we didn't get a free out for Derry's goal there. Jaros goes to punch it and has his armed grabbed/pulled downwards, seemed a foul regardless without even factoring in that keepers normally get the rub of the green in such cases.
    Hard to disagree with that. If we were looking to balance it out, Mountney's corner for the first goal was taken from outside the quadrant.

We're having awful difficulty in keeping clean sheets, so to concede two and still come away with a point, we'll take it.

Very entertaining game of football, lots of open play and good finishes for the last two goals.
    Have you ever won the treble?

Mad that Drogheda have scored six more goals than anyone else in the league. OK, they put 7 past Waterford's 19s, but still and all, I don't think anyone saw that coming.
    That's with Dinny getting barely any minutes as well and to be fair to him the times he has played he has looked good think he has 1 or 2 goals. We've recruited seriously well and there were many question marks over the Deegan and O Reilly signings after their season with Shels. Just goes to show how varying environments have an impact on players performances. Not many in the league have been better than those two this season.

101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Our results have covered up that we've been full of nearlies all season. I'd like to see what our actual hit rate is for shots on target because a lot of games we seem to be bashing shots wide from distance so it looks like we're making loads of chances, but we're not making good chances.
    Disagree- Burke sums us up , near miss last night , hit post against Duns; or Greene and Scales sitters also on Friday or Gaffney free header last minute away to Sligo to win it...IMO our finishing has being awful this year

Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 567